University of Wisconsin
2,712 reviews
  1. Madison, WI
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of Wisconsin Home

Reviews

2,712 reviews
  • Excellent
    658
  • Very Good
    1048
  • Average
    826
  • Poor
    122
  • Terrible
    58
There is a lot of school spirit and the facilities are excellent! However, when I was a part of one of the teams, I felt I wasn't receiving enough individual attention, that I was being overlooked for other athletes, and also that there were many cliques within the team.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The teachers are incredibly smart, but with big class sizes, it is easy to get lost and stay lost. Also, freshman year there was a lot of pressure to drink, and I did not do as well in my classes as a result, because I felt that is what "required" to party in order to be a Badger.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I don't have much experience with this myself yet, however, I have heard that UW-Madison has a very degree value. This school is ranked in the top ten of the nation, so it's understandable that graduating from here is seen as impressive and appealing to future employers.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I feel like the quality of courses could be better in some cases, however, I understand it gets difficult when you're in a lecture with 200-300 other people. I like how with bigger lectures there are discussions as well (this is when the class is broken down to about 20-30 students with one TA). This time is extremely helpful because it's the best time to ask questions and make sure you're on track with all the material discussed in lecture. I also find it super convenient that every TA has office hours, so if you can't make it to your TA's hours, there's bound to be someone else available to help you when you have time.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I feel like there is somewhat more crime/safety issues on our campus versus a smaller private school but it's not something the school can stop from happening. UW-Madison takes safety very seriously and provides a great amount of security and promotes their numerous safety services options all around campus. Whenever something concerning the safety of our student body occurs, everyone is notified of the crime in our e-mails so we're all aware of our surroundings and what to do if we need help. I honestly feel safe when I'm on campus. Even though crime is inevitable, there are many pre-cautions that have been shared with us to make us less likely to be involved in threatening situations.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Living on campus is super convenient for going to class and studying and not having to worry about commuting. I lived in the dorms my freshman year and they were about what I expected space/privacy-wise, however, I never expected to make so many friends! The social atmosphere is the best thing about living in the dorms! I don't know what I'd do if I didn't meet the people who I consider my best friends now! The dorms make it very easy to study in groups, have people to go to events with, and overall just to find people that share your same interests and are going through the same experiences you are.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The the University of Wisconsin-Madison we have amazing athletics with an incredible fan base! We have 3 large athletic facilities spread out around campus that have a great variety of equipment and space. Our school does offer many intramural and club sports that get a lot of participation which is super exciting! Our varsity teams are exceptional and at every game you can find screaming fans and hear awesome cheers no matter what the score! At UW-Madison I believe our school sprit is top-notch, it's literally impossible to walk outside without seeing someone in Badger apparel
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I love my school because of the great sense of community. It seems like everyone at UW-Madison has the same goals, we all want to get great grades to achieve our dream careers while still being able to enjoy ourselves on the weekends! Whether you attend a football game or a music concert, one can feel the the love and pride we have for our school. I'm so glad I chose to attend UW-Madison because there's no where else I'd rather be! This school has it all, great academics, research opportunities, almost a thousand student organizations, incredible sports, food, entertainment, and the list goes on and on! When you're not studying in one of the HUNDREDS of libraries, there are endless exciting opportunities waiting for you all around campus!
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
it good me playing sports
  • College Student
  • 2 months ago
it a really great school
  • College Student
  • 2 months ago
Not involved in the Greek life.
  • College Student
  • 2 months ago
I love being a part of something that is bigger than myself. There is a real sense of community here.
  • College Student
  • 2 months ago
UW is known for our Badger Pride and being a student there I can agree that going to Badger games are a huge part of getting the full UW experience.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I am so pleased with my choice to go to the University of Wisconsin. It has by far exceeded my expectations in numerous ways, and I would choose going here a thousand times over again. I absolutely love my classes. The UW offers so many different varied opportunities and subjects to learn. Having this wide array to chose from, I been able to learn about things I would have never thought had been possible to study, like African Migration Patterns concurrent with the Slave Trade or Articulation Phonics. Almost every one of my professors has offered to help me in my learning or meet with me on an individual basis. Though lectures and the campus itself can feel massive, it quickly shrinks with the professor's, TA's, and student organization's help. I have found two wonderful student organizations with whom I activity participate, but I could have chosen a dozen more if I had the time. In conclusion of these factors, the UW offers an amazing experience because of all the different options it does offer and helps to shape you into a fully-fledged human being.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I also do not know much about the Greek live. I take mostly online classes and do not go to campus because money is tight.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I don't play sports I don't notice the sports department much.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I really love it but disappointed credits were not easily counted for since I took many online classes from different schools.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I have had some amazing professors and some terrible ones!
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
It seems like everything is great!
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I would not feel comfortable walking around in campus by myself at night.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 136
Back to University of Wisconsin Home