University of San Diego
1,689 reviews
  1. San Diego, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of San Diego Home

Reviews

1,689 reviews
  • Excellent
    335
  • Very Good
    597
  • Average
    579
  • Poor
    130
  • Terrible
    48
USD is what you make of it. There is everything from frat bros to athletes to musicians to performers. Whatever you decide to do is highly encouraged, and there is surely a group of people here for you.
  • Sophomore
  • 6 days ago
It is a very beautiful and fantastic college. It has so much to offer both with the diversity of the students and the academic factors of the school. I do not think that things should be changing there all that much.
  • Niche User
  • 14 days ago
USD is a great school for those looking for a personalized liberal arts education. The classes and professors make for a rigorous, yet rewarding academic experience. Social life at USD has a niche for nearly everyone. There are a bunch of ways to get involved on campus, including, but not limited to a close-knit Greek system. While the campus itself is dry, the off-campus party scene is localized on Mission Beach (hello, day parties!), with a variety of delicious late-night munchie options, not to mention the sun, surf, and sand just 10 minutes away from the gorgeous Spanish Renaissance-styled campus that sits atop a hill overlooking the city of San Diego.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
As a freshman this year, my experience so far has been great! The professors are incredibly helpful and most have found the balance between challenging students while providing opportunities to succeed in class. The location is in a prime city with access to the beach, city life, and lots of culture. Students come from all over, offering diversity and the chance to meet new people from other states and countries.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Whoever that was from Texas writing about the environment at USD, I feel you. You should get in touch with me. Leave your info. at the advising office in Olin first floor. :))
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
To be honest, this was my dream school at first. Going into this, I didn't think that athletics would really matter to me at all during school, but all of my friends who go to big football schools post so much about how much fun they have tailgating and getting hyped for games. The lack of school spirit here is really sad because I feel like students here have very little to relate to each other. In addition, the Greek life here isn't great. I am in a sorority currently and none of the girls really talk to each other. I feel like my sorority experience would be better if there was a house because we would all know each other better, I feel like. I have made numerous efforts to get together with my sorority sisters and they rarely ever reply. I am transferring next fall to either UCLA or University of Michigan Ann Arbor. The academics here are great but I feel like the social life is very lacking.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
University of San Diego provides an inclusive community experience. The professors stress office hours and highly encourage students to take advantage of them. There is also free tutoring in any subject provided, and assistance from the writing lab. The campus is incredibly beautiful and everyone is friendly and kind, walking by students people say hello to each other regardless of if they know each other. Most people are inclusive but there are still clicks. The food is really good for dorm food and there is enough variety to keep things interesting. Public safety keeps watch around the campus 24/7 which gives it a very safe feeling. There is not much of a party scene on campus but if that is what you are looking for you will find opportunities off campus.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Very beautiful campus! Everyone is very nice and has manners. It is under construction at the moment.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
this is a great school i really like itret retre tt the schol cannit be the same as the others becasue it is very differnt and the same a can
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The campus is very secure, and there are lots of measures in place to maintain student safety. Police services are readily available at any given time, and there are emergency numbers that every student has programmed into their phone because its an absolute requirement. For example, there are police on campus that can be called at any time to escort someone across campus at night, etc. My dorm is in Maher Hall and at night they have a security guard that stays in the lobby by the entrance, so that puts the students at ease a bit. And whenever someone walks into Maher at night, the guard will ask to see their ID just to make sure they're really students. The issue of sexual assault still isn't taken as seriously as it needs to be on any given campus, but I think USD students take the issue more seriously than many other campuses'.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Living on campus is fun and enjoyable overall. The campus is very easy to navigate, and it doesn't take long to walk to classes. For example, Maher is a freshman dorm hall that is located right in the center of campus, and this location is probably the most convenient. Most dorm halls are gender-integrated, although Camino Hall is all boys and Founders is all girls. There are little cafes near every dorm hall, which makes it easy to grab food or coffee whenever. Every dorm has sufficient laundry machines and dryers, so it's not too hard to get laundry done. There are also vending machines and communal study/ living spaces in every dorm hall that are used for various social events and just chilling out. The dorms are very social and everyone basically knows each other, but it's not rowdy so it's easy to get sleep and study time. There are doubles, triples, and quad options for dorms, but single options are also available. And it's relatively easy to get a single dorm if a student wishes to do so; the housing faculty is very accommodating and helpful. Some students even have their therapy dogs or cats with them!
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
There are only social fraternities and sororities on campus, meaning that they do things together as a group but there is no actual housing for the groups. So Greek life doesn't have a huge impact on campus, but it's great to join if you're looking to make really good friends that do various things -from community volunteering to partying- together. Joining Greek life can also be helpful for networking in general, whether it be for a job or an interest. There aren't a lot of Greek parties; most of the parties at USD are sports-related. So not being part of Greek life doesn't affect people negatively at all. Either way, it's very easy to make friends and network through the professors.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Sports life (attending varsity games, tailgating, etc.) is definitely not the biggest part of life on campus, but nonetheless there is still a large base of fan support. Student athletes are treated well and are always taken care of when injured; winning never overshadows the importance of the athlete's health & well-being. Because of the close-knit community, USD's campus has a lot of school spirit. A lot of students are from out of state, and most make sure to represent their college when they go back to their home state. Students here are generally very proud of their school, and they're proud to be a part of any aspect of the Torero community.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
USD truly gives its students an amazing overall experience. The student body is diverse, but every student shares the passion to succeed and grow as individuals, which creates an overall positive vibe that can be felt throughout campus. There's a myriad of clubs and intramural sports, all of which foster the more close-knit community that USD is known for. Although pretty challenging, the classes/curriculum is manageable and truly prepares the student for their job plans after graduation. And there are many support systems across campus for any person struggling, whether it be in academics or emotions. The class sizes are usually smaller, so students receive much more attention and one-on-one interaction with their professors. And the professors are all so passionate about what they teach. It definitely makes a difference to have teachers that genuinely care about their students and want to see them succeed. Also, the study abroad program is one of the best out of many other universities; most students do study abroad -in whatever country they choose- before graduating. But overall, I think USD's best qualities are its welcoming community, its ability to push its students to their be their best selves, and its simple message of positivity & hope.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I believe getting a degree from USD is very helpful in getting a job after graduation except in popular majors such as communication.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I love the school as a whole, however, it is hard for me as an individual to be away from home. The classes and professors are amazing, but the students attitude could change to be less in titled.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I have never felt unsafe on campus. The surrounding area is not in the best socio-economic state but I still feel safe in the neighborhood.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Housing is very nice, however, you might end up living with 3 other people in one room. But overall it is great!
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Greek life is not very important at USD. If you are in Greek life or not you are treated the same.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Our school spirit is lacking and it is no secret. We support each other but no one wants to go to sports games.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 85
Back to University of San Diego Home