University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2,107 reviews
  1. Chapel Hill, NC
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Home

Reviews

2,107 reviews
  • Excellent
    427
  • Very Good
    905
  • Average
    664
  • Poor
    77
  • Terrible
    34
UNC Chapel Hill is a diverse university that allows you to reach your full potential. My experience has been great. I've met lots of great people, done fun and meaningful things, and I've been focused on academics as well. It is definitely a challenge, but it is well worth it to get a degree from here.
  • Freshman
  • 3 days ago
A great school with a lot of opportunities for people of all backgrounds and with all types of interests. The academics are challenging, yet rewarding. About half of the professors I have had have left me satisfied while there still have been some major gaps with the other half. A diverse group of people makes finding your group of friends very easy, and the student life is great.
  • Junior
  • 17 days ago
UNC Chapel Hill is everything I've ever desired in a university. There are countless resources provided to ensure success, numerous extra-curricular options, and a sense of community that makes it home. The professors and faculty are helpful, engaging, and respectful. I love the town of Chapel Hill itself, and the fostered social tradition that a college town as tight knit as this one perpetuates.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
I was born a Carolina fan and going to Chapel Hill was a dream of mine! The school is amazing! The pride, the academics, the facilities, the professors, the students, and the athletics. The only part that i would change is the food. It is not bad but it could be better. Everyone seems to have their own way of living here which is awesome. Students can be themselves and get involved. If there is not a club already then you can easily make one. Go Heels!
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
UNC is a great school for students who want a quality education but to have the opportunities and resources of a large university! It can be hard to find your way at first because there are so many students but that's true at a lot of schools. UNC cares a lot about its students succeeding and has really great resources like The Learning Center, which is something some schools don't have.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
This has been great so far, I'm loving it. I recommend this to anyone of any age and region!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
UNC offers a variety of courses, allowing you the opportunity to find something that sparks your interest.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
UNC does a great job within Career Services. They provide resume assistance, alumni networking opportunities, and internship databases, just to name a few of their services.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
UNC provides several educational majors, minors, and other programs, many of which are top level.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
When there are criminal happenings on or near campus, students are supposed to be informed of such events through the "Alert Carolina" system. This system, however, often times alerts students in a very untimely manner on the criminal acts that do occur.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
In terms of freshmen dorms, there are certainly trade-offs when deciding on living in newer versus older buildings. Although the newer dorms (Horton, Craige North, Koury, Hardin) are nicer, the older ones provide a more social first-year experience.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
There is a lot of school spirit. Basketball is a major varsity sport here.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
UNC challenges you to take advantage of all the opportunities available, both inside and outside of the classroom. It has such a collaborative and motivating community of faculty, staff, and students.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
Though I have yet to take advantage of career services, the door has always been very open. There is a huge network of help in finding a job or internship, including those specific to departments and more general career services. A degree from Carolina is very valuable.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I've had some amazing professors and some not so amazing professors. But overall, professors are of the highest caliber and make strides in their fields. They are passionate and fast-paced.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
As a man, I personally have not had many experiences feeling unsafe on campus. Crime is moderate; there will occasionally be reports of burglary or robbery on or near campus. The emergency poles set up around campus make me feel safer. The UNC Alert system could be more timely in notifying students of possible threats.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Living on campus is best for the social atmosphere and the convenience of being so close to class. It usually works out that living off campus is cheaper, so the housing department is constantly changing and offering new things to keep students on campus, especially for juniors/seniors. I enjoyed my time in residence halls immensely for the ease of making friends, the sense of community, and the convenience. RAs and community directors care deeply about residents and offer a lot of activities and programs.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
With Greek life on college campuses often found in the news for misconduct, it is nice to see that Carolina Greek life rises above that. There is still a sense of intolerance among some fraternities that does not align with the larger atmosphere of Carolina, but since Greek life has a smaller effect on our campus than at other schools it is not that noticeable.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
School spirit is unlike any other. Our basketball team is of course the biggest sport attraction and really unites students under a commonality. There are many different levels from IM, Rec, Club, and Varsity sports for students of all skill levels to be a part of something.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The sense of inclusivity and belonging at Carolina makes it what it is. The amount of opportunities make it so that there is a place for everyone. The academics are rigorous, but it is comforting to know that everyone there is as motivated and hard-working as you. Students are the best of the best without being elitist; the student body is diverse, approachable, and determined.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 106
Back to University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Home