University of New Mexico
3,156 reviews
  1. Albuquerque, NM
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of New Mexico Home

Reviews

3,156 reviews
  • Excellent
    330
  • Very Good
    1136
  • Average
    1382
  • Poor
    218
  • Terrible
    90
My experience so far at UNM has been nothing but positive. I've felt very welcomed and cared for as a new student and as a person. The professors actually care if you succeed, and do everything they can to make that possible. The campus is beautiful and well maintained and there's a real sense of pride everywhere you go.
  • Freshman
  • 1 day ago
The University of New Mexico embraces a diverse student population, but I think its emphasis on sports teams ultimately hinders student's success with growing tuition rates and declining financial aid and scholarships.
  • Sophomore
  • 18 days ago
This college has alot to offer to help the students and a big benefit is that it is affordable. When it comes down a sporting event like football and basketball the whole community comes. Making it a big event to all.
  • Freshman
  • 30 days ago
UNM is a great school to attend. It is great in community involvement and has many resources. I would like to see diversity in the type of events and maybe concerts with known artists.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
At the University of New Mexico advisers, teachers, all faculty, and students all care about your individual success. You let them know what your career goals are and they make a schedule to fit your needs. The campus is beautiful and well kept. The area is great with many different businesses. There are many different places to eat on campus as well, and no shortage of coffee places. There are also tons of cubs and groups that you can join. If you love sports but didn't or don't want to be on the college team, you can join the club and play as you please. We have many men's and women's clinics that offer a variety of services. No matter what you identify as, or the background you came form of the things you like and enjoy there is a place for you at The University of New Mexico.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I am currently a freshman at the University of new Mexico. So far my experience has been wonderful. The campus is very nice and my professors are always willing to help me achieve academic success. I would change the way they operate their student page because it goes down every other day. They have many groups and inter-mural sports you can join. The students have a lot of school spirit that brings the small Albuquerque community together for game day. They have a wonderful program for the undergraduates, where they can work in teaching and get paid while still working to get their own degree. At UNM everyone's a Lobo.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
These past 8 weeks in UNM have been amazing. I've only been a resident of the United States for four years and the idea of going to college and having to write "college essays" and "college emails" really scared me, but all of my teacher have been supportive and understanding, they all appreciate my effort and admire my progress. UNM has accepted me with its arms open, wherever I go for help I get it immediately. A college for everyone
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
UNM is a great school overall. The one thing I, and every other UNM student, would want to see change is the parking situation. The parking enforcement is ridiculous.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I often receive emergency text messages from UNM's emergency services. These messages discuss a recent sexual assault, bomb threat, or other emergency scenario. I would absolutely NEVER walk around campus alone, at night. During the day is fine, though.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
There are a lot of different programs you can be a part of in order to further your goals. I'm an Honors English student, double majoring in Anthropology, and have taken advantage of many of my professors time, my adviser's hours, and the English Department's resources. While there are some issues (many lower-division courses are dreary, parking is awful), there are a lot of good things about this school. Books are also relatively reasonable (the most expensive one I've had was $80, in comparison to the local community college's $150+ books). Tuition is also one of the cheapest I've ever seen.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I like UNM, as while I have had some "eh" teachers in the lower-division courses, the professors teaching the upper-division coursework are experts and passionate about their fields.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I love UNM! It's given me opportunities that I would not receive else where. The school has helped me financially so there would be no way for me to leave my studies. Here, I am making my dreams a reality!
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
Greek Life is one of the many ways at UNM that tries to get its students to interact more with events. I find it to be pretty cool.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
There are many things that go on with sports and all students are encouraged to participate, playing or attending.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
They say that college is a time when you are on your own, but with all of the whose interest is to help us students, I don't feel alone because there is always someone that I can talk to.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Its not live enough and there are too many restrictions.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I feel protected by the patrol i see on campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Not as great as an engineer out of A&M but still has some power.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The ones that are good are good and the ones that are bad are bad.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
As a returning sophomore crammed into a double occupancy dorm i am upset.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 158
Back to University of New Mexico Home