University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
3,999 reviews
  1. Champaign, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Home

Reviews

3,999 reviews
  • Excellent
    683
  • Very Good
    1572
  • Average
    1394
  • Poor
    222
  • Terrible
    92
This is a fantastic university with a lot of opportunity for experiences. It has great academics as well as great social life and school sprit and research opportunities.
  • Junior
  • 2 hours ago
This is an outstanding university in all aspects. People attend from all over the world to finish with a degree from this institution. Campus resources are endless. The atmosphere is academic but also fun. Stidents and staff are very welcoming, intelligent, and inclusive people.
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
I am currently a junior at the University, majoring in Architecture. I absolutely love going to school there. The price is a bit expensive for a state school but worth it.
  • Junior
  • 17 days ago
I was glad to get out of campus housing, but it is a good system, for supervision, proximity to classes and facilities, and food options.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
As a non-Greek I have to say that the Greek life seems very appealing. I think it is a great way to have a full calendar, get to know more people, and drink a lot of booze. I never really see them having a huge impact on the community which would be nice since they are philanthropic organizations.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
I'm an only child and a first generation student. That being said I didn't have much guidance when it came to picking a college or attending a university for that matter. U of I is a great school IF you utilize your resources and figure out this "college thing" early on, or better yet, before you get there. My main complaint is that I feel like the advisors tend to go with any possible major or career path that you bring up when planning out your academic schedule, without helping you make sure that it is actually a good fit for you . I'm about to be a senior, and I'm just now starting to feel like I'm beginning to understand how to explore the many opportunities (scholarships, study abroad, and clubs) that UIUC has to offer. To be honest I'm considering staying another semester just so that I can enjoy the campus, and not be all scatter-brained and all over the place with my major and courses. But for those of you who know what you want to do with your life, and have all the familial guidance to do so, UIUC is a great school especially if you're super social, alcohol-loving, and white.
  • College Senior
  • 2 months ago
The UIUC diploma carries a lot of weight and is a well recognized and respected school.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Some professors are really great and care a lot about their classes and their students, while others are clearly uninterested and resentful of their role. My experience has been that the more major specific the class the better the professor will be, whereas gen ed classes tend to have uninterested and resentful instructors.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Strong security force on campus, but crime is still not uncommon, especially on the outskirts of the campus border.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Had a great experience in Allen Hall freshman year. Very social and fun. Small rooms, but not that is to be expected.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The school is huge, and sports are a big part of the experience for some people, but not for me. I am more interested in the music scene, which is also strong here.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Great school if you put in the effort. Since it is so large it is easy to get lost in the crowd or to find something to excel at, but it's up to you. The opportunities are there.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
A University of Illinois degree is highly valued to most employers
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Illinois is a great school, and it is definitely at the top of the academic standards.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I think the University is safer than some other four year universities in Illinois
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
It's a whole community of people that are friends and do things together. Huge part of our school.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The quality of teaching is just great. The professors are all experts in their fields. The courses are fascinating and enlightening. However, the workload is horrendous, and stress is a major problem.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Students at our school are highly sought after by the largest companies in the industry. This school is very well known and respected, and a degree from here is very valuable.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The school does a great job at providing resources for students that are victims of sexual assault or other forms of harassment. However, these crimes still happen too often on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
On-campus housing is overpriced. My dorm is on the opposite end of campus from where my classes are, so that is a bit inconvenient.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 199
Back to University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Home