University of Georgia
4,672 reviews
  1. Athens, GA
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of Georgia Home

Reviews

4,672 reviews
  • Excellent
    1207
  • Very Good
    1913
  • Average
    1312
  • Poor
    155
  • Terrible
    52
I went to the UGA campus as part of a summer veterinary program. Athens itself is a beautiful town, and the campus is no exception. I went on tours of both their former veterinary college as well as the new one. The former was very large and still had many of its facilities being used by professionals. The newer facility was amazing beyond compare. The machinery they were using to treat animals was better than some of the ones in human hospitals! The admissions team and alumni were also extremely friendly and easy to work with. I would definitely recommend UGA to anyone interested in the veterinary field or just medicine in general.
  • Niche User
  • 16 days ago
UGA gets 4 stars because, back in the early 2000s, that school gave me the classic college experience: gorgeous campus, a ton of students of all types (ranging from the stereotypical greeks, nerds, the achingly shy, geeks, huge jocks, literary aces, hippies with a philosophic bent, etc), hilariously drunken parties, art shows put on by grad students ... all of this happening in a small southern city.
  • Alum
  • 16 days ago
From the professors I've had so far, I feel that they will help me out as much as possible, but the classes will be quite difficult.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
UGA is quite a prestigious place to be at, and so I feel that a career with a UGA degree will come quickly.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Usually there's not a problem. At night, it can be a little dangerous, but other than the occasional drunk, it's fine.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
No matter where you live, each housing place will have its own perks, and there are no dorms which are terrible.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The athletics are a big part of UGA. Everyone is invested in them, and all our teams perform quite well.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
So far, it has only been a week, but I've already learned how helpful everyone is at UGA. The staff and students are all willing to help.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I've never felt personally threatened on campus, but there have been police reports of violence from time to time. The local newspaper reported that incidence of rape on campus increases by 75% during football season.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
The school holds many career fairs each semester, but they are mostly attended by fast food restaurants and temp agencies. Skip these unless you see one that caters to your specific field. Career center is helpful if you don't have much experience job hunting. The school has an online job board, but word of mouth is the best way to find work.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
I don't know much about greek life at UGA, except that there are loads of frats and sororities. They mostly travel in their own circles and don't mingle much socially outside of them. There are many events put on for those in Greek Life.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
Support for the UGA football team is very, very strong. It's overwhelming, in fact. So, if you're not a big SEC fan, you might find that you're quite annoyed during football season. During fall, the entire town is basically obsessed with the Bulldawgs and traffic grinds to a halt as roads are closed and tailgaters abound.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
UGA has many good points and many bad ones, depending on what you're after. The chemistry department is deplorable, from the Dean on down, so take chem elsewhere if you can. Getting through any of the administrative tasks is a nightmare! That said, there are many intelligent instructors who are honestly invested in their students' success. In the Ecology sphere, it's a tight-knit group, but very welcoming. Professors are also running their own research and NGOs in addition to their courses.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
There is a variety of courses offered at UGA. Some of the professors are really helpful, others... not so much. It all depends on who you get.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
There are some REALLY good housing areas and some REALLY bad housing areas. It just depends on which one you get.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Student involvement is huge at this school along with school pride. The facilities are pretty nice.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I honestly do not care about the Greek Life. I know that there are many sororities and fraternities to choose from.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Campus safety and security is honestly fine. I don't feel unsafe. Just be careful at night if you plan on wandering around/taking a walk. There are some places where the streetlights don't work.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
UGA is a pretty decent school. It has various programs and different areas of studies. There are many tools offered at UGA that will help you succeed.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
As long as you dedicate yourself to your schoolwork and the resources available to you the career should easily follow.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 232
Back to University of Georgia Home