University of Alaska Anchorage
1,332 reviews
  1. Anchorage, AK
  2. 4 Year
Back to University of Alaska Anchorage Home

Reviews

1,332 reviews
  • Excellent
    109
  • Very Good
    404
  • Average
    635
  • Poor
    123
  • Terrible
    61
Looking at the University of Alaska Anchorage has given me a great view to how well colleges in my local area can be. While they don't have a specific program I want to commit myself to, their are plenty of other fields they offer. From past experience with friends and family, the professors are easy to work with and the school itself gives great opportunities to their students.
  • Senior
  • 2 days ago
The university is largely spread out. Professors are generous and very helpful. The overall quality of UAA is oustanding.
  • Freshman
  • 3 days ago
We pay for a lot of fees that a large portion of students don't use, for instance, the seawolf shuttle. But on a good note. You can walk from one end of campus to the other in 20 minutes through skywalks AND not freeze. Usually decently clean with exception of the restrooms that stay fairly dirty.
  • Freshman
  • 3 days ago
I personally do not think there's anything particularly horrible about this school. There are however few things I would personally improve as far as far as layout, student involvement, and just faculty in general. Most professors seem like this is just a job to them, their classes are so-so, and generally they seem like they would rather be somewhere else. That being said, this university does have a few standout professors who engage their students and enjoy their work.

The local area is not too great, this is largely a commuter campus, so the 'traditional college experience' is rarely felt here and parking/getting to class is a bit of a circus. Overall the campus itself is nice with relatively new buildings and plenty of renovations in the older buildings on campus.
  • Senior
  • 4 days ago
I'm a senior at University of Alaska Anchorage. I transferred here from a private college in Minnesota. I've been very disappointed in almost every area with UAA. I had to file 16 petitions for them to take my transfer credits. I'm still graduating late because I had to retake two classes. So if you're thinking about transferring I highly recommend not coming to this school. Unless you're okay with restarting.
  • Senior
  • 6 days ago
I've enjoyed a lot about Anchorage so far. It's a little on the cold side especially during the winter, but Anchorage in general is a fun city with lots of opportunities for college students. UAA is a good school.
  • Sophomore
  • 9 days ago
What I liked about Niche is that the questions that were asked were really easy to answer and understand.
  • Freshman
  • 11 days ago
I believe a school dedicated to student advancement UAA, lacks in sincerity. It offers many great programs and opportunities for students, all which are student lead, however, penalizes its alumni over everything. I also found it discouraging how much some teachers remain absent from class and cancel on their students who are paying for it. All in all, its a good college the area is beautiful, I believe that is because it is located in Alaska the most beautiful state in the USA but it can use some real boosting up as far as caring for its students.
  • Sophomore
  • 25 days ago
The university takes student life very seriously, I feel like everyone on campus is like family because everyone wants to be involved with the events, lectures, sports and clubs. They've got connections with so many different interest for every degree. Every professor I've had have been passionate about their subject, they are always there to help their students understand the content and with projects. They are so understanding and that is very important because life in Alaska can get pretty rough especially with a lack of sunlight and such. I enjoy being a student here and I am proud to be a Seawolf.
  • Sophomore
  • 29 days ago
The people here are great. There are some inexperienced teachers, but I'm lower level so that's expected.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The UAA campus is in the middle of the city. There is a mental health clinic on either side of campus, as well as a juvenile detention center, so it varies from day to day. There are moose and black bear that wander onto campus often. Generally, though it is pretty safe.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The professors in my program are generally okay. There are a few that needs improving. There is a nice variety of classes.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The program I am in allows alumni to interact with newcomers very easily, as well as the upperclassmen.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
You have a choice between living in apartments or dormitories. The dorms are mainly quads, with private rooms. It's better than anywhere else.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I am not apart of a fraternity, however, the clubs at UAA are beneficial for all students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I don't really pay attention to athletics here. I'm too focused on my degree.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
UAA is unique because it is a non-traditional school. It encourages students to do their absolute best in their studies.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I've never attended a career center fair, but I've heard that they're pretty helpful.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I've had great professors, and not-so-great ones. There don't seem to be very many professors who truly enjoy what they do (maybe it's due to the budget cuts). The class sizes are medium to large.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I feel relatively safe at my school. I would never walk around the lake area by myself, though.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 67
Back to University of Alaska Anchorage Home