Swarthmore College
381 reviews
  1. Swarthmore, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Swarthmore College Home

Reviews

381 reviews
  • Excellent
    69
  • Very Good
    122
  • Average
    133
  • Poor
    24
  • Terrible
    21
Swathmore has a great campus. Really vibrant and mature incorporated. The dorms are beautiful and student life seems awesome. Only thing I would change isn't the diversity and food which were the only areas it lacked in.
  • Niche User
  • 16 days ago
Swarthmore feels like home to me. I didn't expect to find a college where I am so happy and comfortable with. Even though classes are very difficult and the workload is stressful, I have never felt competition between my classmates and everyone is very collaborative. Professors are incredibly helpful and most are very engaging and passionate about what they do.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
I am not afraid or worried about getting a job or attending an internship. Swarthmore has an incredible alumni network for students to use and shadow other alumni.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
Public Safety (PubSafe) is always roaming around campus and are extremely friendly, nice to talk to, and comforting to know there are people around to help if anything happens. They are there 24/7 on campus and I feel safe.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
Some dorms are great and have good space. Others are quite cramped but all in all, its a lot better than most college dorms that I've visited.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
For anyone who is looking for a college with a great Greek life, SWARTHMORE IS NOT FOR YOU. Greek life here is a joke.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
Sports are a huge focus at Swarthmore. Aside from Varsity athletes, most students are not deeply involved or interested in varsity sports.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
Swarthmore is an intense and rigorous school academically, yet incredibly rewarding. You are pushed to your limits in class but you reap the benefits of becoming experts in your field. Socially, the people I've met at Swarthmore have been the most unique, caring, and hardworking people I've ever met in my life. There are a lot of review saying that the Swat social scene is "Swatkard" and weird but I found people to be just insanely unique and very quirky, in a good way. Don't be afraid to step outside your comfort zone and get to really really, know people. You'll be surprised at how awesome the students are here.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
It's what I came for. Has not disappointed.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
Can be difficult for conservatives, otherwise pretty accepting.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
It's improving. The new counselor is great.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
Greek life is not a big part of Swarthmore, but they throw most of the parties that students can go to on weekends.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
Students have been very successful post-graduation.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
The academic experience is the best part of swarthmore.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
Swarthmore has made safety a top priority since the start of its title IX investigation a few years ago. As an RA on campus, I have seen this effort on behalf of the administrators first-hand. It is too soon to tell if the policy changes have worked yet, but the administrators seem to care deeply about confronting the issue.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
Campus housing is very good in my experience. Some dorms are not great (Dana, Hallowell, PPR) and some are far away (ML, Strath Haven) but are not much farther than dorms at other schools. The newest dorms are fantastic (APDK, Danawell) and most of the old dorms are nice as well (Wharton, Mertz). Willets is also nice for people who like the more lively environment (I don't)
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
It's not a big part of campus life, and I have only been to two or three sports events in my time here. The exercise facilities are quite nice for regular students, but the main gym is really old.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
I have grown so much as a person at this school, in part because the campus climate is so wonderful and partly because there are plenty of opportunities to get involved on campus.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
You can get a good college experience.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
So many underage students drink and/or try marijuana. It's very present.
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 19
Back to Swarthmore College Home