SUNY Canton
260 reviews
  1. Canton, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to SUNY Canton Home

Reviews

260 reviews
  • Excellent
    33
  • Very Good
    93
  • Average
    97
  • Poor
    22
  • Terrible
    15
My first year in Canton was not so exciting, there is nothing to do because there is not much to do. also this school is too small.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
My schedule was very simple and fell into an easy pattern. As a commuter, I didn't want to take any 8am classes nor any late classes. Because of the many available hours, I was able to get the perfect time slots for every class I needed. Transferring credits was a complete breeze since everybody worked together and communicated well. My credits were transferred very quickly.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I get distracted pretty easily so taking notes has always been a challenge. The ability to access archived classes and replay them is a blessing for me. Despite being many miles away from my professors, I always felt acknowledged and welcomed. While I never interacted with any other peers, I still felt fulfilled by my online class as I came to learn and did exactly that.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
My school is one of the only schools around my area with nursing as a major and so most if not all of the nurses in our local hospitals graduated from here. Our career center provided many opportunities for me as a future nurse and I'm very confident I'll be able to get a job with my degree within a few short months of graduating.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
My courses thus far have been relatively simple and engaging however my professors seemed to vary. I had two professors who got the point across and kept the entire class focused. Yet, two of my other professors seemed to be a little absent minded. They didn't answer questions, didn't respond to emails, didn't give syllabi, and just didn't seem to care whether we learned anything or not. Despite them, I still feel passionately for my school and the courses here. I noticed a Comic Book Literature class which sounds really interesting. The variety of courses is huge.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
My school is great for it's location. Since we have a limited number of hospitals around us, we have limited clinical locations and intern locations. Personally, I have to drive an hour away to the closest clinical location and wish it was shorter. I also don't see many, if any, recruiting employers. However, our career center is extremely helpful. Despite being very new to my field, they've made me understand everything I need to know to jump-start my career after college.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I love the hands on approach of the nursing program at SUNY Canton. I had no prior experience but within days I already felt I was up-to-speed with the students around me who were previously skilled in our field. I appreciate the patience the educators have in addition to the understanding nature of all the staff who were previously in my shoes.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Amazing people, engaging classes, sociable teachers. I've only attended SUNY Canton for one semester and I haven't had a single problem worth mentioning. My advisors went above and beyond to make sure I was always on the right path even when I thought I needed something different. Every single peer I've come across has been helpful and kind. My classes both challenge me and intrigue me. Oh, and the food was great until they closed Taco Bell.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
There are many programs pertaining to that exact major, for those in the major and for those who may want to just join. It allows you to really enjoy what you're doing and expand your knowledge.
  • College Student
  • 5 months ago
The fact that Canton is a school where you earn a degree in technology makes the courses a lot more hands on learning. It allows you to understand and feel the major that you intend to make a career with.
  • College Student
  • 5 months ago
Helps make time management a lot simpler than expected.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
I find the online courses to be a bit easier for students because it is more responsible than in-class classes.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
At my old school, the career services were fantastic and guided me in the right direction.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
With the degree I am pursuing, I am looking to become an athletic director to teach the youth of America that sports can translate into real life occurrences.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
Experience is, from what I heard fun and and a positive experience for all students.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
Heard a lot of positive things from the programs at SUNY Brockport.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
I am enrolled in the school but have not experienced the atmosphere yet.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 8 months ago
My major is Criminal Investigation, and what I enjoy most is that some classes are hands on. In my opinion, a student best learns hands on then sitting in class lectures. You get to actually get a taste of what your career would be like after college. There are many internship opportunities for students in this major, and the career services at the school will help you find one.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
My overall experince at SUNY Canton has been okay so far. The classes are great and most of the professor's I've had have been great. What makes my school unique is the great criminal justice programs that can not be found anywhere else. The school has very beautiful landscape, even though it becomes very hot in the summer and very cold in the winter; it is a beautiful sight to see.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
My schedule has been very good and I have had no problems.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 13
Back to SUNY Canton Home