South Dakota State University
1,119 reviews
  1. Brookings, SD
  2. 4 Year
Back to South Dakota State University Home

Reviews

1,119 reviews
  • Excellent
    108
  • Very Good
    401
  • Average
    482
  • Poor
    98
  • Terrible
    30
I really like South Dakota State University. It is a very safe college that give you a great education to get you ready for your future. While attending SDSU, I continue to learn more about my attended major and the teachers are people you can really relate to and are able to help with any problems. The only problem with SDSU I would say is the dorms and the food. The older dorms that people can actually afford are very run down and could be updated. Also the food could be changed as well. I wish they offered more healthy and nutritious food that is more homemade and good for you.
  • Sophomore
  • 5 days ago
I like that there are a lot of opportunities here. You can find everything from agriculture to theater to nursing to anything science. There are so many wonderful teachers and students to help you along, encourage you, and have fun with you. The nursing program is incredible at SDSU. We have dozens of knowledgeable nurses ready to take care of the world. Our agriculture department is on top of everything. We even have a dairy plant. I study to be an English teacher and I can guarantee I am getting exactly the education needed for me to succeed! Besides education, we have a fully stocked wellness center that is available most times throughout each week. SDSU is also home to Chick fil A, Panda Express, and several other food places that do not disappoint! The campus is clean and beautiful -- especially during the fall season!
  • Freshman
  • 10 days ago
So far I have only visited the campus but plan to attend there in the fall for Nursing. Looks like such a great environment!
  • Niche User
  • 17 days ago
South Dakota State University offers a variety of majors in many different fields, and with a great campus and many opportunities in and out of the classroom, one is set up to be successful throughout life.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
At South Dakota State University, there are so many opportunities to get an internship for your career field and so many possible job options. Some classes do require you to take an internship job but that's beneficial anyways! They try to provide you with as many job options as they can so that you can get hands on experience and learn about what your actual job will be like in the future. Plus the internships will help your resume stand out more. The more experience you have, the better. I believe SDSU is one of the best colleges to help you do that.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I have no bad experiences to talk about with any of my professors. All of the professors want you to succeed and they will do whatever they can to help you get there. They will never leave you in doubt that they do not want the best for you. They try their best to get to know their student individually. If you are in a bigger class, they will still try their best to learn your name and get to know more about you. All of the courses here that are offered are all super beneficial in building your career. They do not make you take classes that you do not need to take to further your education in the career field that you have choosen. I really enjoy all of my classes and it is definitely not like high school. In high school, you're just kind of sitting there if you're in a class that you don't think is beneficial to you. In college, you are always engaged and interested in the things you are learning because it interests you and you know that you need to learn everything that is being taught in order to be successful.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Here on campus we have so many support systems. There is counseling, and many other programs to help you if you need help at all. They have improved things around campus to help us feel more safe and just incase something bad did happen on campus. They now have light poles all around campus that have emergency buttons on them so that if you do feel like you're being followed or that you are in danger, the police are notified and they will be there in a matter of minutes. I personally do not have much concern about safety on campus because I feel like it takes a very messed up person to do something terrible like rape to someone else. If someone does sexually assault someone, they are faced with very high consequences.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I live in a suite and I love it so much. I have a total of 4 roommates and we all have enough room to move around and feel comfortable. The rooms are very nice and clean, the bathrooms are great, and I could even begin to explain how nice our hall managers are. They make the rules very clear but also know how to be fun. Everyone is very social and I have made countless friends already in my dorm. I believe that the cost of living in a suite here is very reasonable for how nice the dorms are. I wouldn't want to be in any other hall but I've also heard great things about all of the other halls.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I honestly have no experience with Greek life because it just didn't seem like something for me but I have heard a lot of great things about it! They are very involved in the community and they try to make fun things happen for us at college. They are not stuck up or anything! They are all super nice!
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I myself am not involved in college sports but I am involved with intramural sports and it is so much fun! Its a great way to be involved in a friendly competition sport and get to know people. I am involved in the intramural volleyball and its just really fun to put together your own team and play against new teams. Also, the school spirit here is amazing. We were given our own cowbells to ring and the energy at footballs games is amazing! There is nothing like going to your first college football game. You really feel like you're part of something big! We also have a fantastic wellness center here at South Dakota State University. There is equipment for all types of work outs and they also provide classes you can take like yoga, kickboxing, and so much more.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I have found that this school is so inviting and they make everyone feel at home here. All of the people are so friendly and all of the professors are easy to talk to and are always willing to help you as much as they can. The school spirit here is never ending and amazing because it gets you pumped up for everything they have to offer here at South Dakota State University. They have many clubs you can join and there is literally something for everyone. They love having anyone and everyone get involved. There are so many reasons why South Dakota State University is a great school that it would take me pages and pages to write it all down. I have really enjoyed my time here so far and I completely believe that I will continue to enjoy it more and more.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
SDSU wants to see their students succeed, therefore, they want to help their students find internships and jobs to help them get started with their career. As students, we constantly are receiving emails about openings or when they will be holding help sessions to help update or resumes and cover letters.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The professors on campus are always willing to meet in person and better explain a certain subject if you don't know what is going on. I also like getting to know my professors 1 on 1 especially in the major specific classes where there aren't as many students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
SDSU continues to provide its students with a safe environment at all times.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I like living on campus because of the social aspect, otherwise, I'm not a very big fan of it due to the fact that we are in such tight living quarters and once one person gets sick, everyone gets sick.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Greek life at South Dakota State University is fairly popular, I just haven't found it for me. I think that Greek Students do great things both on campus and our community, therefore, I am not going to think differently of my friends who are Greek.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Athletics are a vital part of South Dakota State University culture. Whether it be attending Football and Basketball games with some of the best fan bases in the country in attendance at home and during tournament time, or playing intramural sports with your friends, athletics is what brings us all together to cheer on the teams we love. Now, with our facilities continuing to expand, such as our wellness center and Football Stadium, we have athletes and fans that are more excited than ever before.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
They make a really good effort in having plenty of jobs available for the students here. It really is great.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
So far, I love the campus and the experience that I've had. I couldn't imagine being at a different school.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I haven't been here for a long time so I really can't say much.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 56
Back to South Dakota State University Home