Scripps College
420 reviews
  1. Claremont, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Scripps College Home

Reviews

420 reviews
  • Excellent
    128
  • Very Good
    169
  • Average
    91
  • Poor
    14
  • Terrible
    6
Certain major programs are not clearly defined on the school website, so make sure to check with multiple sets of advisors to get a clear picture of what classes are actually required,especially for programs like 3-2 engineering
  • Sophomore
  • 18 days ago
Many of the professors I've taken are extraordinary. Some here definitely need work, but in my experience I love a lot of the faculty and staff here. The work load is definitely a lot, that's undeniable. But the experience of each case class I've taken has been rewarding.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I feel as though if I do get a job right after Scripps, it'll be thanks to a connection I've made during my time here.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I've lucked out on housing so far. Knock on wood.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Pretty much a social setting to get addicted to drugs though.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Whether or not sports is a large part of campus depends wholly upon your involvement.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Adjusting to school is hard.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Academics are hard. Scripps has a humanities focus but you can get resources for any major by looking to the consortium as a whole. Science classes are all through the Keck Science Department, a joint thing between CMC, scripps and pitzer. Because of the consortium you can take classes anywhere and you are not limited.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Parties are easy to find, but mostly occur at the other 4Cs.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Parties are easy to find, but mostly occur at the other 4Cs. Many, if not most, are school sponsored meaning anyone at the 5Cs can go and they are non exclusive. The other schools even pay for alcohol for students. You will definitely hear about the upcoming parties through on campus fliers, and facebook. Generally, there is at least one big party every weekend.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
You are expected to be very accommodating to everyone, and everybody introduces themselves by name, gender pronoun (she/he/they/etc) and whether their access needs are met (for disabilities).
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Scripps has very strict drinking restrictions compared to the other 5Cs. If you are caught with alcohol in your dorm and are under 21, there can be serious consequences. Many people choose to drink at the other 4Cs as rules change depending on which campus you are on.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The career center is pretty helpful, I hear that you get out of it what you put into it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Scripps itself has limited departments, but thankfully we can enroll in any class in the 5C community. This opens up a ton of options and endless varieties of classes. Classes stay fairly small, but in bigger intro level classes (General Chemistry, etc) there can be around 50 students enrolled at once. Professors, for the most part, are friendly and willing to work with you.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Crime is relatively low in Claremont but some of the surrounding cities (Montclair, Pomona, Upland) can get sketchy at night. On campus walking alone at night I feel fairly safe. Scripps utilizes the blue light system, and you can always call campus security who will escort you back to your dorm on a golf cart. They are very good about sending emails if there are threats in the surrounding area. Sexual assault is taken very seriously here.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
It's a toss-up when it comes to housing. Some dorms are modern and spacious, while others are old-style and cramped. If you're a freshman, you get assigned to a dorm randomly (usually a triple, sometimes a double) because of the housing crunch. I was lucky and got a great room my first year. Once you are not a freshman and can participate in the housing draw, it's up to luck what number you pull and what options are left. The best dorm is widely considered to be GJW because it's modern but still has the traditional Scripps charm many of the older dorms have. For the other dorms, you basically have to choose between beauty (old dorms) or amenities like air conditioning (new dorms). Socially, the dorms have no culture; people rarely leave their doors open to socialize. Scripps is currently building a brand new dorm ready to open in Fall 2016, which will alleviate the housing crunch.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Unless you yourself are an athlete, nobody really cares about athletics here. School spirit is not that important, but there is a friendly rivalry between the two 5C sports teams (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Pomona-Pitzer). Scripps has a field house for regular student use which is nice, and CMC is getting a brand new athletics building.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Scripps definitely is a unique place to be that some love and others hate. The very liberal atmosphere can feel intimidating and will take getting used to. I feel that many of the people who make up Scripps are very similar in their ideas, ways, and beliefs, and will reject anyone who disagrees. With the other 4C's around, Scripps' weaknesses more or less balance out. The 5C community as a whole is really great.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The alumni network is amazing--Scripps alums always want to help out other Scripps alums! Our career center is amazing, but it can still be hard to find internships and jobs because there is so much competition these days.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I love the classes as Scripps! Small, discussion-based classes with engaged professors in general.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 21
Back to Scripps College Home