Salem State University
975 reviews
  1. Salem, MA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Salem State University Home

Reviews

975 reviews
  • Excellent
    78
  • Very Good
    294
  • Average
    470
  • Poor
    87
  • Terrible
    46
I like going to my school. It's fairly diverse and there's tons of things to do on campus, but I'm having trouble getting involved and therefore meeting new people. Otherwise I do pretty well in the classes, but I just want the full college experience. It would be better if I dormed, but commuting is the better option. If I could do it over, I think I would still chose my school
  • College Sophomore
  • 17 days ago
I love salem. I like the atmosphere and the people. The professors are nice and they do listen when you need them. I got into salem on a condition. I applied for the nursing program but got into the biology program instead. I do feel like they viewed my application as just another application and impersonal. The classes are small and I do like that. It means more one on one time with the professor if needed. The school is really diverse. I have friends from the other side of the world and there are different varieties of people.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
since I'm a freshman, I have not really experienced the job and internship prospects yet. But I have been told the school has several opportunities for stuff like that.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
The campus is really a safe place. The school has its own police and it is everywhere so there is a sense of safety. They have buttons to press incase of feelings of uneasiness. overall, it is a safe place. except the area around rainbow terrace. it is not a place to be walking around late. Other than that, the school is good.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
I like living on campus. I have never been away from home and I can safely say that I met some nice people so being away from my home is not that bad. The only negative to living at the campus is the shower and bathroom situation. some people was their hair and they leave It in the shower so there are random piles of hair. It can get gross. Being on campus lets me hang out with different people so socializing gets easier.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
I am not really a sports person but the sports division is pretty good. some of my friends are already participating in some sports.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
school has been okay. I see a lot of different people and it is very welcoming for the most part. The professors are nice and approachable. I do look forward to the upcoming college experience from there.
  • College Freshman
  • 20 days ago
There's not much to do.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
They care about the students success.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
not super diverse but still better than other schools.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The school cant control it.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
It's overall been a great experience.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
I think we have some great opportunities to get connected to our prospective fields.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The school actively tries to provide quality health services and I've utilized on campus health service many times. It's easy and convenient.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
I had an awful time my first year trying to get out of a horrible roommate situation that was borderline abusive. The freshman dorms are old but they're not bad. Registering for on campus housing is a nightmare as if you can't access the internet/online housing you miss your one minute time slot.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
It's not big. Many people who aren't interested kinda just ignore them.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
We don't have a football team but hockey and rugby are REALLY big on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Any school has it's problems but I still love my school.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Some of my professors have been extremely helpful and care about their students, while some just seem to go about their day and just want to get the class over with. I can't say which there is more of, but I've experienced both. All of my nursing professors seem to really love what they do and they are very helpful in getting students to achieve their goals. However, some of my general education professors just seemed like they wanted to get out of there as soon as they could. It really effects how you learn when the professor doesn't seem to care. If the professor doesn't care, why should you? The class sizes are small at SSU, which is awesome. It helps to learn better in a smaller class because you can always see and hear the professor. There are multiple courses offered at SSU, which is great as well. I'm in the honors program, which I enjoy because it gives me more of a challenge.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The value of a degree at SSU depends on the major, I think. I'm in SSU's nursing school, which has an awesome reputation, and I know that the value of my degree will be pretty good. I can't speak for other majors, because I don't know much about them, but I can say that SSU is pretty easy to get into for other majors. Therefore, I don't see how the value of certain degrees there can be that high. The alumni network for nursing is huge. I have never been to the career center, nor have I tried to get a job through SSU yet, so I can't speak for that aspect.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 49
Back to Salem State University Home