Pepperdine University
1,117 reviews
  1. Malibu, CA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Pepperdine University Home

Reviews

1,117 reviews
  • Excellent
    224
  • Very Good
    410
  • Average
    381
  • Poor
    71
  • Terrible
    31
I have yet to get a job on campus but the career center here takes the time to make sure your resume is top notch before you submit it to any job! They're very friendly people and will email you whenever you need help.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
The courses you take your first 2 years are a mix of GE's but also ones that you would need for your major. The division heads actually make your first year schedule for you so you don't have to stress about it until the next semester! The professors here are so down to earth and really just want to get to know you as a person. Class sizes here are 12:1 which is amazing because you get the one-on-one attention if you need it at times.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
Our health center here on campus is in the Rho parking lot but the ladies are very sweet there. There's AC in there so the wait to get called next isn't bad.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
If you want space, get the double but it's an extra grand more - $5,000. Triples are less but you get an ocean view and an extra roommate is always a cool idea! Each suite has 4 rooms - 2 triples and 2 doubles. One bathroom with 2 showers, 2 sinks, and 2 toilets and a living room as well. Housekeeping comes twice a week so it's really clean here.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
We have 8 sororities but only 2 fraternities. They do volunteer a lot though and rush was fun!
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
The school spirit here is indescribable. Everyone is proud to be a wave and the games are so exciting!
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
I honesty fell in love with the campus! It has such an amazing view of the ocean and you get the best of both worlds when it comes to nature and to the city life - Los Angeles and Santa Monica are not that far from campus. I do recommend that if you do plan to come, consider getting a car since a car is the only way you can get around during the weekends. Teachers are amazing, they take the time to get to know you and make sure you understand the material as well.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 days ago
So far it has been great! All of the professors seem very passionate and educated, but some are overly strict. Sometimes the rules make me feel like I'm back in high school again.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
It's fantastic. A very high percentage of students exit Pepperdine with a job lined up or acceptance into graduate school. The alumni network is very successful and most stay tied to Pepperdine because of its small size and christian affiliation.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I feel very safe! Most crimes that happen at Pepperdine are crimes of opportunity (someone gets their laptop stolen because they leave it out in the open). DPS (department of public safety) is always patrolling campus and they even have apps dedicated to making sure students get home safe. The roads outside of Pepperdine are the only part of Pepperdine that has the potential to be dangerous.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
The dorms are great! Mine was far more spacious than I thought it was going to be plus my closet is pretty big. It only takes me five minutes to walk to class from my room, which is awesome. The rules are strict compared to most college campuses, but I think it makes the dorms much quieter and safer for all.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
There is no Greek housing as far as I know and only about 20% of students at Pepperdine participate in Greek life. With that said, I've heard that the sororities and fraternities are well put together and focused on community service.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
We don't have a football team, but the other sports are highly favored. The athletes are highly praised and sometimes get special treatment.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
The school's mission and commitment to education is great! However the rules, especially regarding absences and the use of technology in class, can be a little excessive.
  • College Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I feel very safe on campus, and I feel that I have numerous people supporting me if for any reason I become concerned.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Pepperdine is full of opportunities for experience, connections, and network. There are so many activities to get involved in and groups to be a part of. There are opportunities to volunteer and serve and grow as a part of the community. Professors are highly knowledgable and passionate in their fields, and will bring in outside sources (people) who are successful graduates to simply help students find some inspiration and motivation and achieve their goals.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Although Pepperdine's housing amenities are beautiful, and you have the opportunity to live on the beach, the space is very small, and the cost is far over-priced. Living quarters are crowded, and you are paying thousand of dollars for a few months of school. I think costs should be lowered, and living areas not so compact.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Greek life has never been very attractive or appealing to me. I feel this school has so much to offer, and activities to outside of greek life, that I have never really been motivated to join a fraternity.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Although Pepperdine is not known for its athletic, the teams work extremely hard day in and day out to compete with the best, and the awards the acknowledgements they have received prove the school's dedication to excellence.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Pepperdine University is committed to purpose, service, and leadership. Every member of Pepperdine's staff goes above and beyond his or her entitled position to ensure the success of every student. I have been blessed with help educationally and financially whenever needed. The school is extremely understanding of each students' specific needs. I have been able to build very close one-on-one relationships with my professors and deans, contributing to my success as a student.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
  • 1 of 56
Back to Pepperdine University Home