Pacific Northwest College of Art
65 reviews
  1. Portland, OR
  2. 4 Year
Back to Pacific Northwest College of Art Home

Reviews

65 reviews
  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    23
  • Average
    20
  • Poor
    5
  • Terrible
    5
I just completed my first year at Pacific Northwest College of Art, so I don't know very much about the alumni network. But I do know that the school is very vocal when it comes to job and internship prospects. They have many workshops at the school that teach you how to put your name out there in the art world, and how to get a really great job from that. I've even learned how to become my own entrepreneur through those workshops, and I'm so grateful that my school has them. There's a dedicated classroom in the school that announces internships, job applications, and has an attendant that works around the clock to help you. The school emails you whenever there's an alumni coming back to discuss jobs, or a lecture from an employer, or a lecture for your own enjoyment. I've been to many throughout my school year, and all of them have been helpful!
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Pacific Northwest College of Art has a great variety of classes. Depending on your major, you have a lot of classes to choose from and it's likely that you will have to take all of the classes that are provided for your major throughout your 4 years. The classes are very interesting too, and the professors know so much about their topics. They truly love what they teach, and that inspires me to learn so much more. All my classes that I've taken have been small. It's a small school, so there's only about 10 kids per class. I like the small classes because the students can really engage with each other better, and help one another out. The style of the classes is usually Socratic,where the students and the professors engages with one another and ask many questions and learn from one another. Most of my studio classes are mainly individual taught, and the professors help each student find their own unique style. It was very different from how I was taught in high school, but these teaching styles have really helped me succeed. I didn't do well in high school for the lack of teacher engagement, but now I feel so privledged to have professors that truly want to see you succeed.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The safety at my school is very important. PNCA rests in the heart of the city, so there are a lot of precautions when it comes to safety. There's security at the entrance of the school, and if it gets late at night the security will escort you back your place when needed. I definitely carry pepper spray with me everywhere when I go to school. The dorms are 5 blocks away from the school and it's situated on a park, so walking on the park at night alone is not the best idea. There's a lot of unpredictable homeless people around the area, so it's necessary to have help on speed dial. But the school takes safety as top priority.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The housing at Pacific Northwest College of Art is okay. The price is way too much though. It's understandable with the value of the environment and how much you get amenity-wise, but it's difficult to live there without having a job on the side to cover the extra cost. And being an art student, it's really difficult to keep that dorm paint free. I remember spilling ink a few times on the floor and having to pay for the damage. I love the amenities in the dorm, they have a working washer and dryer, bathtub, kitchen, and a large closet. Plus it's only 5 blocks from the school! I know I'll be spending my four years in the dorm because of the convenience. If I were to move out, the most affordable living would be at least 45 minutes out of the way. The process of getting a dorm was rather difficult because they had just updated their new website, so it was definitely difficult at first. Especially with the financial aid. But everything worked out fine! I love the dorms, I just wish they were a little bit more affordable for me.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The parties are all for someone 21+, which I am not.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Some programs are more lenient and easier to handle than others.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Portland is overwhelmingly white, but the school is a little more diverse.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Most students seem to be 21+ so while alcohol is abundant it's legally obtained.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
We have several security guards on campus that work to keep the campus safe. We also have a psychiatrist and various staff members to go to for help.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 months ago
The school and staff often advertise various internships and residencies for the students along with various side jobs for the students in their fields. Over all the professors do what they can to help students succeed.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 months ago
All the professors are very excited about their topics and are willing to do anything they can to help their students succeed.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 months ago
The housing at PNCA is really great and spacious. We had our own kitchen and bathrooms and our own washers and dryers in each dorm room. Many dorm rooms were more like shared apartments. The only complaint I had was that the prices for the dorms are exceedingly high and impossible for one student to pay for. I shared a studio apartment with another roommate and still paid around $1,300 a month. I had to pull an extra loan to pay for it.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 months ago
I feel that my school is unique because it allows it's students to explore and find themselves. I love how many classes I have been allowed to take and how much I have learned since attending. The only downside that I have encountered is that some times there isn't enough equipment available for our projects and it is difficult to find scholarships.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 months ago
We have security guards and staff that are there for anything you need!
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
way too expensive and not enough housing for students. Only enough housing for freshmen really. also one of the most expensive student housing in the country.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
The admissions office is awesome and very helpful!
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
There are security guards always on duty.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
There's always uncertainty for an art student, but there are quite a few galleries and studios around the school itself so it feels less dreary.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
I really enjoy how my art skills are challenged and how my perspective is broadened! I also love how diverse the classes are.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
The apartments are spectacular, but it's very expensive. The wifi is also very poor which is unfortunate since we're paying so much to live in mandatory housing options.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
  • 1 of 4
Back to Pacific Northwest College of Art Home