Oakwood University
1,266 reviews
  1. Huntsville, AL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Oakwood University Home

Reviews

1,266 reviews
  • Excellent
    129
  • Very Good
    367
  • Average
    595
  • Poor
    112
  • Terrible
    63
Niche is a very helpful tool in finding scholarships. My brother just got the NSHSS. I am using this website as a result of his success and hope to reach mine through this website as well.
  • Niche User
  • 11 days ago
It's an experience like no other. Your teachers actually know you and cares about you as an individual. The spiritual atmosphere is amazing.
  • Junior
  • 12 days ago
Oakwood University is a great environment to find God and receive an education. The dorms are nice, the food is decent and the atmosphere is a delight. The teachers are respectful and God-fearing and they really have you best interest at heart. If I could change anything, I would help some of the departments organize their lives because some majors can be a hassle if not advised correctly.
  • Junior
  • 16 days ago
this school is perfect if you want to be successful in life. The location of this school is perfect. It is in Huntsville, AL. About an hour from Nashville, TN and about three hours from Atlanta, GA. So the option is available if you would like to travel. This a welcoming christian atmosphere. It has various forms of worship throughout the week. If your wanting to study biology, theology, or vocals this is the place to go. There are quite the long lasting friends here. Friendships here last truly a lifetime.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
As an HBCU, Oakwood University provides a unique opportunity for African American students to get both a great education and faster job placement once one graduates. The professors here have good connections within the business and medical fields, so as long as you keep your nose in the books and conference with the professors to discuss grades and other class-related criteria, you're pretty much set.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Oakwood University is a Historically Black College/University. Ever since I began attending I immediately felt at home. Oakwood University is a safe and loving environment and I've learned a lot since I've furthered my education. I am a Christian and the spiritual atmosphere at Oakwood University is absolutely life changing. I am grateful for the opportunity to be a student at Oakwood University and I would strongly recommend it to anyone else looking to grow academically, mentally, emotionally, and physically.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The track is a place where you can go if you feel like you need to run to clear your head. The gym is place hwere both guys and girls can benefit.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love this school and I am happy about the education I have. The environment is amazing, the spiritual aspect is wonderful, and I feel like this is a home away from home.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I feel like I can accomplish anything here! I love this school. They push you to be better in every aspect of your life.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Everyone here is like a family. If I go to a party at a college down the street and there are other Oakwoodites there, I know that if anything goes wrong, they will make sure I get back on campus safely. Everyone here watches out for each other.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The Freshman dormitories, Carter Hall and Holland Hall are the 2 best residence halls on campus! One reason, they are newer and have more perks than the upperclassmen dorms do. Carter hall (freshman girls) has a kitchen where students can cook, air conditioning in every room, the option of a suite or a regular double room, and an updated security system.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I'm in the nursing program and they already told us we will be job shadowing and have interviewes after we graduate lined up for us
  • College Student
  • 3 months ago
There are many courses offered. The professors are very easy to work with. The class sizes are normal and slightly smaller. Just depends on the class.
  • College Student
  • 3 months ago
I'm not to sure I never looked into it
  • College Student
  • 3 months ago
I have heard great things about our team
  • College Student
  • 3 months ago
I love my school. I feel so welcomed and I feel like I could go to anyone and ask for help. I love that !
  • College Student
  • 3 months ago
I like living on campus. I am near my friends and we aren't too far from campus activities and classes. I don't like the curfew and some of the rules but overall I like the campus housing.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I do not know much about it. Due to the fact that our school is Adventist Greek life isn't big.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The athletics are very fun. Any sport that you want to play they offer at some point during the school year. I really enjoy the sports and the facilities.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Oakwood University produces many great young people. I really enjoy the atmosphere of the school and the professors and students are very unique. I appreciate the friendships that I have made and the help that I have received from the professors and advisors. I wouldn't choose another school because Oakwood is where I need to be. The Adventist atmosphere is good for me and will not only help me thrive academically but also spiritually.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 64
Back to Oakwood University Home