Northwestern University
1,237 reviews
  1. Evanston, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Northwestern University Home

Reviews

1,237 reviews
  • Excellent
    146
  • Very Good
    500
  • Average
    487
  • Poor
    72
  • Terrible
    20
Northwestern offers a rare opportunity for an amazing academic experience without losing out on the incredibly important aspect of a four year university. It is- using a term my friends and I made up- a relaxed Ivy; while the rigor and academic institutions match the Ivy league standard, Northwestern has a more inviting atmosphere, a less rigid environment of competition. It is the perfect place for a person who wants to learn about themselves and the world in the most healthy way possible.
  • Junior
  • 1 day ago
Parties normally happy Wednesday-Saturday. There are parties other days as well, but they are most common on the days listed. Very fun parties and fairly easy to get into,
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Mostly dominated by geek life but there are also other options.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
EXCELLENT academics. Professors are very interested in their classes and students.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Drugs are pretty prevalent but no one will force you to drink if you do not want to.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Professors are generally good. Watch out for chem though.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
I live in elder and it is pretty nice.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Their parties are very fun.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Students usually go to the football games.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
Northwestern is an excellent school where you will meet plenty people who are like you, and others who are not. So far I am having a great time and would not want to spend my time at any other university.
  • College Freshman
  • 10 days ago
I'm not in Greek life so I can't really say much about it
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
It's fine, I'm in club figure skating, don't go to games much
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Northwestern is stressful but gives me a great education
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The class curriculum is very diverse, the class sizes are typically appropriate for the subject matter, and accessibility to graduate courses as an undergrad is a plus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Northwestern has one of the premiere theatre programs in the country, and being located outside of Chicago, which is outstanding for recruiting local talent, is a plus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I typically feel safe on campus per the blue light buttons, campus security, and general safety of the neighborhood; however, the university is not as progressive as I thought in terms of sexual assault consideration and procedure.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The housing process is not adequately explained, especially when it is a first time application. It's my second year and I am still unsure of how it works.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I haven't had a lot of exposure to Greek life at NU.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
One of the major deterrents for student support in sports is the off campus stadium. Ease of traveling is limited because these facilities are not within walking distance; however, the school does well to incentivize attending sport games with free gifts and spirit nights, and typically provides shuttle systems for those whom are committed.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The school is definitely measured up to academic standards and has stellar staff and curriculum; however, the environment is highly competitive not so much within the school itself but in terms of the expected extra-curricular contributions .
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 62
Back to Northwestern University Home