Northwestern University
1,229 reviews
  1. Evanston, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Northwestern University Home

Reviews

1,229 reviews
  • Excellent
    148
  • Very Good
    502
  • Average
    487
  • Poor
    72
  • Terrible
    20
Northwestern University's Evanston campus was a beautiful place to live for four years. The surrounding community is pleasant but as usual it doesn't always view college kids warmly (and sometimes that's very deserved). It's not the most exciting place but the campus is connected to Chicago by the el train, which I couldn't have lived without. The lake view was priceless to have. As for academics, Northwestern has many stellar professors and offers a very well-rounded, challenging education, as well as numerous career services and opportunities for experiences and networking. It is, of course, up to the student to make use of these resources. Some dorms are much better than others, but none of the ones I lived in were terrible.
  • Alum
  • 1 month ago
I went to Northwestern about two years ago and I thought it was a nice school. They have a beach literally on campus and it is so nice. There are a lot of bugs because of this though. The student to teacher ratio is okay, but I prefer more intimate settings. The food was really. They have a lot of activities on campus and you will always have a social life. The dorms are cute and overall I had a nice experience.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT HERE I CAN'T EXPRESS MY LOVE FOR THIS SCHOOL! it's beautiful, the people are so nice and inspiring and we all support each other. food is really decent and it's a very social, work hard play hard school.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Best school ever. People are incredibly nice and helpful. Teachers are great. There is always something happening on campus and numerous clubs to join.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Northwestern offers a rare opportunity for an amazing academic experience without losing out on the incredibly important aspect of a four year university. It is- using a term my friends and I made up- a relaxed Ivy; while the rigor and academic institutions match the Ivy league standard, Northwestern has a more inviting atmosphere, a less rigid environment of competition. It is the perfect place for a person who wants to learn about themselves and the world in the most healthy way possible.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
Parties normally happy Wednesday-Saturday. There are parties other days as well, but they are most common on the days listed. Very fun parties and fairly easy to get into,
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Mostly dominated by geek life but there are also other options.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
EXCELLENT academics. Professors are very interested in their classes and students.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Drugs are pretty prevalent but no one will force you to drink if you do not want to.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Professors are generally good. Watch out for chem though.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I live in elder and it is pretty nice.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Their parties are very fun.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Students usually go to the football games.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Northwestern is an excellent school where you will meet plenty people who are like you, and others who are not. So far I am having a great time and would not want to spend my time at any other university.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I'm not in Greek life so I can't really say much about it
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
It's fine, I'm in club figure skating, don't go to games much
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Northwestern is stressful but gives me a great education
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Northwestern has one of the premiere theatre programs in the country, and being located outside of Chicago, which is outstanding for recruiting local talent, is a plus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
The class curriculum is very diverse, the class sizes are typically appropriate for the subject matter, and accessibility to graduate courses as an undergrad is a plus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
I typically feel safe on campus per the blue light buttons, campus security, and general safety of the neighborhood; however, the university is not as progressive as I thought in terms of sexual assault consideration and procedure.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 62
Back to Northwestern University Home