Northern Arizona University
4,574 reviews
  1. Flagstaff, AZ
  2. 4 Year
Back to Northern Arizona University Home

Reviews

4,574 reviews
  • Excellent
    695
  • Very Good
    1807
  • Average
    1726
  • Poor
    241
  • Terrible
    105
Northern Arizona University is located where the air is clean, the sky is beautiful, numerous pine trees rustling and mountains in every direction. The whole city is very interactive with the college so we share a lot of information and events. The professors are very friendly and humble, and students are as well. Many people here are adventurers love exploring. As a small community, NAU communicates with students well, guide them with information. However, some major facilities here are very old and have not been updated, and sometime this cause on-campus-transportation problems and class delays. Class cancellation or delays make both professors and students be in uncomfortable situations. The campus food service doesn't provide vegetarian options and not considered fresh. However, housing is one of the biggest problems students and local residents face because the average housing is expensive due to its beautiful weather and scenery. The campus and the whole town is very safe.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 days ago
I have been attending NAU for the passed year and a half in their nursing BSN program. My classes are mostly online which is convenient, and the instructors have been really great. We have had many assignments that involve the community and group work which gives us a more hands-on experience than primarily writing discussions and papers. What I would like to see is more in-person classes. It is sometimes difficult to understand what an assignment requires, and it is sometimes hard to get a clear answer from the instructor. Overall, NAU has provided great education and resources.
  • Junior
  • 6 days ago
It's a beautiful campus with a huge variety of people, classes, and opportunities. Most classes are small and very individual-minded, and every teacher that I've had thus far has been agreeable and easy to work with. I especially love the area, with all of the trees and mountains and plenty of fun things in downtown Flagstaff! I'm an Art Education major with my Associates already under my belt, so I actually have it pretty easy in comparison to most freshmen. But the courses are very work and discussion based, so I still keep busy! It would be nice to be able to have more of an outlet for financial aid in terms of grants and scholarships, since class and students fees are really pesky.
  • Freshman
  • 8 days ago
Northern Arizona University has plenty of positives and negatives. The things I enjoy about this university is the location, some of the professors, and the organizations on campus. It is located in Flagstaff, AZ and the surrounding scenery is beautiful. I have thoroughly enjoyed some of my professors, but have been disappointed by others. There are several great student organizations on campus and I love being apart of Associated Students for Women's Issues at NAU. That being said the faculty are not the best. Student's concerns are not a top priority and there is little to no housing available. NAU claims to be a diversity friendly campus but often do not live up to that promise. Overall, NAU needs a lot of work and needs to stop accepting so many students so that they can take care of the ones they already do have.
  • Sophomore
  • 9 days ago
I love living in Calderon, and i enjoy working hard for my degree. The program is challenging and stimulating.
  • Freshman
  • 10 days ago
I love the atmosphere up at NAU and would not change that for the world. I would like to see more diversity and more financial help with rent and meal plans. I would also like to see parking available everywhere instead of just one parking lot. My overall experience has been great though.
  • Freshman
  • 13 days ago
If you're on the tour and you ask a passing NAU student what they think of this school, don't be surprised when they break down crying.
The professors have no repercussions for not teaching the material that is on the exam.
President cheng has no repercussions for approving unnecessary construction, increasing tuition, decreasing services, and removing resources.
97% Acceptance means you won't get your classes.
Freshmen are the majority of campus.
Only 52% will graduate.

Flagstaff landlord will overcharge you and evict if you protest unlivable conditions.

There will never be a snow day.

You toured in summer but the semester is mostly winter conditions.

I hate NAU, the Walmert-esk "value" that they advertise. It's truly representative of a company that sells a 4 year product, that'll require 5 years of commitment, and start failing after 2 years.

Value your time & money. Start at community college & then go to a better university than NAU.
Seniors are 78% of the 48% who dropout
  • Senior
  • 15 days ago
Northern Arizona has decent programs that are affordable. I have had some good professors who I have learned a lot from and a lot of bad professors who I learned nothing from. Flagstaff is a nice college town. In the winter, they run hot water under the sidewalks so that there is not snow on them and no one has to shovel. It is a hippy town with nice people and good places to hike. There are a lot of extra curricular activities available in town. I am currently learning three different forms of martial arts through the school.
  • Junior
  • 17 days ago
Northern Arizona University is high quality. There's diversity and adventures around every corner . Because the school is in the mountains, the environment is very conducive for trainers, hikers, and the like. NAU also holds high academic standard and is always willing to give out scholarships for academic achievement. The campus has a unique system to notify PD when feeling unsafe.
My favorite parts about attending NAU would be the learning environment and community. The university is unique in the way it tailors to your learning needs. It has a disability resource center readily available to help all students who enter. Aside from that, the city life is absolutely spectacular.Most students like to go downtown during the weekends and de-stress. It's a great place to make memories. If anyone is thinking about coming to NAU, schedule a campus visit and come see what this great town and university has to offer!
  • Sophomore
  • 21 days ago
Northern Arizona University is a gorgeous campus. I love the fact that the town is centered around the campus. Moving here, I feel like such a part of the community. There are so many opportunities to get involved on and off campus. There are hundreds of clubs with a wide variety of interests. There are many great religious institutions, and I joined one myself, it gives me the feeling of always being close to God. NAU offers a vast amount of jobs and internships to help you fund you higher education and begin building a professional resume . Being surrounded by a perfect blend of nature and city attracts all tastes. The air is so clean and crisp. The university encourages students to partake in a healthy lifestyle mentally, physically, and emotionally. There are so many support groups and resources available to students. Overall Northern Arizona University becomes not just your college, but your home away from home.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I love the campus environment, it is fantastic! There are always people walking around and just hanging out or studying. The culture is very diverse and friendly. The school is very focused on academics, but knows how to have a good time. It is colder here, so pack warm!
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
As a transfer, NAU is a place that I feel is succeeding my expectations of what a public university should be. There are so many opportunities for personal and career growth here, and the faculty are all wonderful and open resources for students no matter what.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
I'm in sophomore year and so far I'm having a great experience attending NAU. The location's great and they make sure you get the classes you need and stay on the 4yr plan!
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
You absolutely need to keep on top of deadlines in the class, and outside of class. Meaning housing applications, scholarships, and bills. There were a lot of people that helped me get it all under control and get my sophomore year a free ride scholarship. I am very very happy with the teachers I was taught under from my core classes to my classes for my major as an engineer.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I had a good experience overall. I loved the school of music and the different music programs, as well as clubs.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
I recently went on a campus tour and was really impressed with everything we saw. The campus was beautiful, clean and quiet. The classroom size is small and the students and staff we interacted with were very knowledgeable and passionate about the school and all it had to offer. This was a very informative trip for me as this is a school at the top of my list for picks in the fall.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
Northern Arizona University is a good school. It has plenty of clubs and activities to do around campus. Professors are willing to help you if you have problems understanding the material and tons of tutoring opportunities available.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
NAU is great! It has a great atmosphere and kind and helpful professors who want to see students succeed.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
So far navigating through the website has been easy. I just hope that some of these scholarships are legit and I am not wasting my time. I really need help with college tuition and this would just not be useful and utterly disappointing if I can obtain the assistance needed.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Staff seems great and friendly. The online course work is amazing and challenging. I would definitely recommend their Personalized Learning if you can not live on campus and cannot afford actual classes.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 229
Back to Northern Arizona University Home