Mercer University
1,350 reviews
  1. Macon, GA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Mercer University Home

Reviews

1,350 reviews
  • Excellent
    225
  • Very Good
    479
  • Average
    520
  • Poor
    78
  • Terrible
    48
If you are a liberal minded student, there will be days where you will be frustrated with the campus environment. If you are a person of color, don't expect the school to address it. There are organizations that are for minorities, which is great. The campus safety is pretty iffy. MerPo has a record of racially profiling students at night and asking them for their bear card. They also don't do well with escorting students, sometimes they arrive like 20 mins late. However, the professors in the College of Liberal Arts are pretty amazing and really care about activism. More clubs are appearing that advocate and take action over social issues, like feminism and democracy.
  • Sophomore
  • 4 days ago
While visiting, I found that Mercer was an overall well rounded school. I recommend that hardworking students apply.
  • Niche User
  • 20 days ago
My classes have been interactive and interesting (although certainly not easy). All of my professors have been very willing to help if needed. I love how this school is focused on giving back to the community of Macon (lovingly referred to as the "armpit" of Georgia). I've been told that downtown has improved vastly over the past few years. Campus food options are good. I've never felt unsafe while on campus. One problem with campus is the amount of roaches that like to scurry about at night... gross.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
I am currently a freshman at Mercer and so far I am enjoying myself. All my classes are going pretty good and all my professors are great with making sure we understand the material and if we need any help to meet with them during their office hours. Mercer has a great campus that isn't to big to get lost on. Everyone is very friendly and the facilities are nice. I got the privilege to stay in the new dorms and they have been a nice home away from home. The only critique I would have is that the cafeteria isn't the best. There are other restaurants on campus that you can choose from, but I think they need to change some of their options in the cafeteria. Overall a very nice campus with opportunities after school.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
The academics at Mercer University are challenging, and individualized. It is very easy to find your passion here and get involved. Mercer is a school focused on service and research that changes the world, thus it is a very active school. Professors are caring and understanding, and class sizes are usually quite small and inviting. Mercer is an excellent university!
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
This is a nice college with beautiful campus and diversified student population.Each department has awesome,knowledgeable and intelligent PhD professor who makes courses easy and interesting to individual student.The college is highly secured with campus police every where.Apart from these qualities,the housing and food are fantastic with all you can eat.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I enjoy my time at Mercer University. I am currently in my third year at Mercer and have enjoyed the friends and relationships I have formed here. I only wish that there were more things to do outside of campus other than go downtown to a club or something.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
There is always something going on to help you get a job or internship. Just go to the Student Center any day of the week and there will be a company there recruiting Mercerians.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I love my professors here. They know everyone by name and take a great interest in your life. Class sizes are generally small so this makes it work.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Here, I feel super safe and secure. The locked gates and Mercer Police patroling campus at night, as well as during the day, make me feel comfortable here.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I live in Legacy Hall, which is a brand new dorm. It has great amenities and is well worth the extra money.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Greek Life here is not the stereotypical blonde beauties with daddy's money. It is a diverse group of all different races, ethnicites, economic and religious backgrounds. They are supportive and everyone has friends outside of greek life. Frats and sororities here work together and do not discriminate or are even competitive against one another. It is very relaxed, warm, open, and inviting to all members of the Mercer community.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Our school spirit and facilities are great. Athletes are supported at all events, not just football. We are up and coming with Divison 1 sports so we are getting there with the quality.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Mercer is the place that everyone should want to be. It is a comMUnity where everyone is super friendly and uplifiting to their fellow classmates. Service orientated is the main focus here and encourages how people learn.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Teachers are great and energetic. Everyone is kind and easy to get along with. So far, the classes are not super strict and the professors are extremely understanding of certain circumstances such as athletes and going to games and missing certain class dates. The only downfall is that at night you have wear tennis shoes because there are gigantic water bugs everywhere but they come out at night.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love my professors. They know what they are teaching and do a great job. I love that the class sizes are under fifty so that we are able to know fellow students as well as know the professors.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Mercer is a fantastic school. Many businesses and companies have been known to chose Mercer graduates over graduates from other schools because of our reputation.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Mercer is a safe campus. Mercer Police is located on the edge of campus to keep an eye on some unsafe areas nearby. They have just added several new gates so only students and faculty can drive on campus. Mercer police monitor the campus all day and night.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Mercer has just built two new housing facilities that are great! Laundry is now free to those living in the dorms. Many of the older dorms have been repainted and refurnished so they are better now.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I have several friends who are in sororities and fraternities. They hold events in the community and on campus. They are recognized by other students on campus and other organizations. Each fraternity and sorority has a house where eight to ten students can live, but they also have a common area in the house for parties and hangout events.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 68
Back to Mercer University Home