Loyola University Maryland
918 reviews
  1. Baltimore, MD
  2. 4 Year
Back to Loyola University Maryland Home

Reviews

918 reviews
  • Excellent
    157
  • Very Good
    315
  • Average
    314
  • Poor
    83
  • Terrible
    49
If you're preppy, from New Jersey, and like to destroy your body with drugs and alcohol, this is the school for you! But sarcasm set aside, the academics are pretty good I guess.
  • Freshman
  • 6 days ago
While I have no doubt enjoyed my 4 years at Loyola University Maryland, it has been much different than I originally expected when I was a prospective student. The campus is gorgeous, the staff is spectacular, and a majority of the teachers are amazing, but the rigor of the academics is severely underestimated. The school accepts a large number of applicants every year for the incoming freshman class; however, it is obvious that most students do not understand how difficult the classes actually are here at Loyola, especially the science courses.
Loyola's campus has barely any diversity; however, the school itself is surrounded by a lot of diversity. CCSJ (the Center for Community Service & Justice) links students with many different and amazing service opportunities. Loyola is predominantly a bar school, but you can find parties on campus. The only benefit of going to Boulder or Iggy's is to see the staff. The staff is amazing, but the food is terrible.
  • Senior
  • 10 days ago
Loyola University Maryland is an overall good university to attend for your undergraduate degree. The programs are strong and the professors are very helpful when it comes to ensuring their students adequately understand the material. Overall my experience was worth the cost of tuition and has provided me with the necessary tools to succeed after graduation.
  • Freshman
  • 23 days ago
Loyola is a great university with a lot of opportunities for students. What I really like about loyola is that professors care for their students. Is a Jesuit university but they still accept and respect all king of religions.
  • Niche User
  • 24 days ago
Being based in Baltimore, you get the best of both worlds. Living in the city gives you great opportunities along with lots of things to do. Loyola's placement within the city is ideal and the campus itself is so secluded from the rest of Baltimore that you can feel like you're in your own world. The academics are challenging, yet always rewarding. The professors at Loyola are very intelligent and a valuable part of the education here. As a D1 sports school, there is always games to attend to things to do. Loyola is rated as a school with some of the best housing on possible. Almost everyone lives on campus for the entirety of their time at Loyola, which is different than other schools. Although a bar school, there is a lot to do on campus and there is always fun things to do. Overall, Loyola is a great school with great opportunities and constant rewards.
  • Sophomore
  • 29 days ago
Flanney is the only nice dorm, everything else is crap. Loyola tours will only show you flan because they know this is true. Most kids are terrible people which is a shame because there are some nice kids here. Overall this school is not what it pretended to be when I visited and im seriously considering transferring out after this year is done. Kids are not nice at all, academics are just okay but not worth price. Overall, I'm really disappointed, i thought I would love it here. Also, to any prospective students, take these reviews seriously. I didn't last year and now I'm in same position : (
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
It sucks and distracts people from work. Everything at this school sucks tbh.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
No fun unless you want to go to bars every night of the week. I suppose you could also go to Hopkins frat parties, but they suck and they roofie Loyola girls. Pick and choose my friends.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Loyola praises their academics. However, these academics are absolute garbage. I have had classes where you could probably not submit one thing all semester, and still get an A. They claim their grading to be hard, but I guess that it is applicable to the fact that the majority of kids here are just not intelligent. All they do is go out and smoke weed and don't do their work. They simply hang around Starbucks drinking their chai lattes with coconut milk because they made up the fact that they were lactose intolerant. Overall, just don't go here because the academics are garbage and you should probably just save money and go to community college TBH.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
A sea of whiteness. Overall, this school probably has 3 asian kids, 4 black kids, maybe one hispanic (if you're lucky) kid, and probably 6 Indian kids. Everyone else, is white, catholic, and from New Jersey.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Loyola completely is not a good school if you actually care about school. All kids do is snort cocaine, shotgun beer, smoke weed (and get caught!), and go out. Yes this may be fun, but there really is no balance. Thanks -Eric
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Athletics here completely revolve around the LAX team. This would be okay, however the LAX players are some of the most atrocious human beings you will ever meet in your life. All they do is hang around and make fun of people, sit in the dining hall and eat everything they can find, and then, on top of this, they don't do work, and probably cheat their way to staying on the LAX team. I believe that this school should abolish LAX because of the atrocities at hand, however it makes Loyola so much money, that they would refuse to do so. I hope one day, they'll consider getting rid of the team because they suck (even though they did make it into the final four this summer :( ).
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The most important thing I could share about this school is that it is a real investment in education. The small class sizes, Jesuit values, and attentive staff will give you an education that other colleges lack. The environment at Loyola is excellent and if you are looking for a college with values than look no further than Loyola. The majority of students at Loyola seem to be natural leaders yet pressure of competitiveness found at other top ranking schools isn't there. Students are not put against each other or broken by being over worked, instead we are encouraged to enjoy learning, enjoy our social lives and ask our selves meaningfull questions that will allow us to grow as individuals. The only thing I would change is more school spirit, but with that being said you'll find that the Greyhounds are loyal to their athletics and dominate on most fields, courts, tracks and pools. Go Greyhounds!
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
This school is a great school, but it is also small. If you don't like going out into the city for fun, probably not a great place.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
People mainly go to the bars
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Party scene is huge. It's a giant bar school.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Some of the teachers are amazing, others are absolutely awful. Registration process is terrible and incredibly stressful. Workload is completely dependent upon your major.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
It could have much more diversity.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Overall, my classroom experience has been absolutely enriching and excellent. I love the fact that I can walk up to a professor around campus and just talk about different topics. This approachability to my professors has allowed me to grow and to develop my ideas.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I believe that one of Loyola's strengths is the large number of resources for students in all the fields. I'm certain that if I use my resources I will accomplish anything I set my mind to.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 46
Back to Loyola University Maryland Home