Loyola University Chicago
2,485 reviews
  1. Chicago, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Loyola University Chicago Home

Reviews

2,485 reviews
  • Excellent
    373
  • Very Good
    898
  • Average
    981
  • Poor
    174
  • Terrible
    59
Loyola is a very unique school to attend. The campus is beautiful, and the academics really challenge each student to complete their best work and push themselves. One draw back would have to the area in which the campus resides in. It can be rather daunting to walk back to your dorm after working in the library all night. However, there are security guards present most nights.
  • Senior
  • 2 days ago
Overall, Loyola is a great school. It's small enough that you get a quality education, and can get to know the professors and take advantage of the student life, but large enough that it doesn't feel suffocating. Plus they've got great options for study abroad!
  • Freshman
  • 4 days ago
Loyola is a great school. It is a small school but still has that "big school" feel. I fell in love with the campus when I visited. Not too small but not too big. Also, the class sizes are particularly small, which mean you develop meaningful relationships with your professors.
  • Freshman
  • 5 days ago
I like the campus itself. It's truly beautiful; it faces the lake and it is just a god-sent to wake up to every morning. The cool thing about Loyola is that there's always something to do. Whether it's events in your residence hall, events on campus, or just studying for your major, I feel like it is pretty hard to be bored on this campus. I'm giving it three stars because I personally find it to be challenging here, but only because my major (which is Nursing!) is pretty difficult! It is definitely more oriented around academics and less around the party scene. If you want to go to a place where you will actually get stuff done and not just drink your problems away at the bar, then here's the place. Other than that, the campus gives off a fun vibe, but people here know how to buckle down and do well.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
When I came to visit the campus I fell in love with everything. I love how big the campus is. The people are very friendly too. After the tour I went to the dining hall and ate. The food is great and they had a variety to choose from. It's like you don't even have to leave campus for anything. I definitely want to go to Loyola!
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
My experience has not been traditional. I unfortunately had to leave in 2011. I have recently returned to complete my degree. The campus is beautiful and the classes superb. It is very expensive, however.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
So far, I've had a decent experience at Loyola University Chicago. Although the university is widely known to greatly prepare their pre-med students, I genuiney feel as if the professors could do a much better job in regards to teaching the rigorous material. It's a very expensive university, so I would've expected a little more especially since we'd like to think that we're "paying" for the best education we could receive.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I loved the environment at Loyola, specifically the campus and the city feel. The staff is also very welcoming and willing to help students.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
The dorm itself is lovely. My roommates and I have our own bathroom and lots of room on the floor and for all of our stuff. However, housing here is TERRIBLY expensive and my roommates and I are already looking into apartments for next year.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
There are only a few fraternities and sororities on campus and neither appear to play a big role in the outcome of the social atmosphere. Since we are located in Chicago, there are no true "houses". Simply brownstones around the corner of campus. And, as I've mentioned before, there isn't much partying going on here so Greek life isn't that big of a deal.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The school spirit here in terms of athletics is seriously lacking. At LUC, people are more motivated by the spirit of their heart rather than the score from a football team. I think this is a cool feature because there are a million schools you can go to and find that "school spirit". I think LUC as an institution just needs to accept that it will never play with the big boys.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The best part about my school is the location. Living in Chicago has been such an amazing experience and I couldn't ask for a better city to explore or to learn from. It always has so much to offer. The college itself has been a good experience thus far. My professors seem very intelligent, motivated, and kind, yet the night life here is almost non-existent. It could be simply I don't know where to go yet, but for the past four weekends, the campus on a Friday night has been near silent. That being said, people here don't necessarily need alcohol to occupy them like they would at other schools because there is such an amazing city in our backyards! As time goes on, I feel like I will begin to feel at home more and find that stuff to do on a Friday night. But for now, I'm simply enjoying what I have at hand and thinking positive.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I like my professors and even have a very liberal one. This is new to me and fell quite good about it. I feel the professors are the top in their field and very willing to share the knowledge.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Now after this question on this survey, I will think about safety more. I feel fortunate that I feel normally safe. I do see campus police polling the area quite often and perhaps the overall attitude of the student is that we feel safe.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
As a freshman and sophomore at Loyola University, you really do not have much choice of living on campus, you have to. I turned in a choice for where my ideal housing would be but it was received past the deadline. Why? I am unsure as I applied a month in advance. However, I am satisfied with living in this dorm with a couple roommates. Move in was easy and they have this down to a science for the start of the school year. Cost? It is included in the $63000.00 tutition.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I really do not participate in the Greek life activities. However, it is pretty big on the campus as far I can tell. Greek students are perceived the same as non-Greeks and I have never really looked at it before this question on this survey for college funding. I suppose I could say the Greek's and the non-Greeks all pay the same abundant tuition.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Student involvement highly recommended and participated in. The year is so new to rate team performance, however, fan support is high. School spirit is top rated and a lot of fun. Everyone enjoys the pep.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
************************LOYOLA**********************************

My overall experience so far is that it is completely new to all of us freshman there. Overall, I find the students to be friendly, outgoing and we all have the same objective. To graduate and live as overly productive members of society. It's a nice place to live and learn.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
My first impressions of the school are good so far.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I don't know too much about the career center, I haven't gone for help about jobs
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 125
Back to Loyola University Chicago Home