LeTourneau University
581 reviews
  1. Longview, TX
  2. 4 Year
Back to LeTourneau University Home

Reviews

581 reviews
  • Excellent
    121
  • Very Good
    195
  • Average
    191
  • Poor
    49
  • Terrible
    25
LETU longview campus is located in a not very great part of town. Rarely does any sort of crime spill over onto campus. So, for being located in a not very nice part of town, the campus is pretty safe. Always better to walk in groups though, especially close to the edges of campus, but that is common sense.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Your floor becomes your family at LETU. I live in Davis so for me the whole dorm is family but in most of the other dorms it is more by floor. The people in your dorm can be some of the best friendships you will ever make. After an emergency surgery, my dorm pulled together to help me with everything from moving my bed, to making sure I got food, to walking me places if I didn't feel great. The dorm you live in can really make your experience. I have been lucky to bond closely with one of the other floors (T3). This bonding with other floors can be a really amazing experience especially if you can't actually live on that floor. (T3 is an all guys floor and I'm a girl) Overall, dorm experience is amazing at LETU, but do make sure you get involved in floor activities, it is the best way to bond with everyone.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The Greek life at LETU is practically nonexistent. There are three houses in the space behind the dinning hall where basically no one except Greeks go. They are not like your normal Greeks at other schools as all of these are Christian focused. For the most part there is really no distiction between the non-Greeks and the Greeks on campus. The only people who really care are those who are part of one of the three Greeks.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
LeTourneau University is a division three school. It's primary focus is academics with engineering and aviation as its two main focuses both of which are time intensive degrees. The student life coordinators at LETU try very hard to drum up fan support and student involvement in the varsity sports, unfortunately there isn't a lot of interest from the majority of the student population. The club Rugby team and intramurals on the other hand are well loved. One thing to say about LETU is they keep nice facilities for sports and the non-athletes who are just looking to work out to blow off steam and relax.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
LeTourneau University will challenge you in every way--academics, social, and spiritual. If you are not someone up for being pushed to your limit (and sometimes beyond) then this school will be a bad match, but if you want to learn, be pushed, create friends who are deep and really care about you, then this is the place. I almost didn't choose LETU, but going into my third year, I could not be happier with my choice of this school.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
On campus is safe. The area is very rough,
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
The education is great, high job placement.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
The dorms are pretty fun here. People are very including. However the rules are very strict. Especially when it comes to guys and girls. The opposite gender can visit only during certain evening hours Thursday-Sunday. Otherwise mixed groups must hang out in public areas of the campus. The rules are usually strictly enforced and a lot of the staff pry more than I feel is necessary. Several of the dorms are new and nice, these would be South, Thomas, Davis (the honor dorm), and Gilbert. Tyler hall is older but in many people's opinions more fun. Penn is also older.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
There is no official Greek Life here. There are two wanna-be frats and one wanna-be sorority. However none of these are recognized by nationwide fraternities and sororities. The school doesn't allow the legitimate ones to exist on campus.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
This school more focused on academics than sports. The school and it's athletes do put out an effort to get people involved however it can be a struggle as much of the student body is simply uninterested in athletics
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 2 months ago
The courses are tough, and the professors drive students hard. They care enough to help and offer their expertise though.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The students at LETU work to love and accept one another. We may not always approve of someone's lifestyle or choices, but we choose to love them any way just as God loves us.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I've not seen too much drug or alcohol issues on or around campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
This stuff doesn't happen at this school! Bars/Clubs around the campus are scary and dangerous because of the campus' location. As far as parties and nightlife I know there are house parties off campus but don't know much more than that. Transportation, you definitely need a car here or a friend with a car because that's basically how you get around anywhere off campus. On campus the buildings are close enough to walk everywhere.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I am more focused on are the prof's good at teaching their courses and are they willing to help students if they are struggling. I have found this to be true... Registration process is decent but not as simple as it could be. the workload here can be overwhelming sometime and it constantly seems like you are always studying but that depends on your major too. Popular study areas in my opinion could be improved. Besides the small library there are not many other quiet areas to study...
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The most segregation that will happen on this campus is for certain religious views, but it is minimal. Gays and other LGBT members keep quiet about their relationship preferences, if they even attend school here??? Other than that there is no racial, economic, political issues.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
There are occasional instances where students have partaken in drugs/alcohol but never on campus! That kind of stuff doesn't happen on campus and the campus is relatively clean and safe
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I love our professors here! They are always willing to help you as long as you put the work in! Class sizes are excellent too!
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Safety on campus has increased. However, South Longview surrounds the campus and this is the not so good part of town. Off campus is not safe to go walking around town in especially at night! In my opinion it would be nice to see a gate guard who must check IDs to get on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The quality of career center services is fairly low. They do not really help you find the best path get you into a job. I feel like you more so have to do a lot of research yourself and try to piece something together in order to get your foot in the door as far as jobs go.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 30
Back to LeTourneau University Home