Lenoir-Rhyne University
349 reviews
  1. Hickory, NC
  2. 4 Year
Back to Lenoir-Rhyne University Home

Reviews

349 reviews
  • Excellent
    70
  • Very Good
    126
  • Average
    126
  • Poor
    20
  • Terrible
    7
If I could do it all over again I would have honestly not chose this school as my number one. The landscape of this school is very beautiful and well kept but the organization of the school itself is a mess. The website of this college is very confusing because it will sometime revert you back to the old one. Another thing is the cost to go to this school. This university is one of the most expensive in the state of North Carolina and will eventually lose enrollment because of the high cost.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Football and basketball tend to be the biggest sports among school spirit. Our football team has been very good over the years as well as basketball. However, some sports have a lot of drama involved among team players or fans.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
campus housing is okay but the freshman rooms are way more spacious that upper class dorms.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
The greek life is okay at LR. I just wish we had more African American based sorrorities and fraternities.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I love my school. It is very small and personable. All of the professors are expert and care about each individual. I consider LR as my home away from home.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
I have never been scared or felt unsafe on campus. However, every semester some random man pulls up and flashes the young and unsuspecting college students.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
Several career fairs occur throughout the year. Some of the career fairs are for jobs specifically at the school and some of the job fairs are held for other companies throughout the community.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
Everyone seems relaxed when in their dorms.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
Greek life plans different activities throughout the year for the students. Some of the activities may include throwing a pie at your teacher to raise breast cancer awareness or selling pinwheels to raise awareness of abuse victims.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
There is much school spirit at LR. Free shirts and other bonuses (like a semester of free tuition) are given out to the students at some of the athletic events.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
LR has something to do all of the time. All but one of the teachers go above and beyond what is required of them. I would go to LR again despite the large amount of debt that is accumulating quickly.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
I had a very easy admissions experience with LRU. The staff was helpful and I was given a decision within a few weeks
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 3 months ago
There are good parties just about every weekend. The best parties are typically thrown by the Soccer Team, Lacrosse Team, Pi Kappa Phi and Omega Psi Phi (at local clubs).
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The party scene at LR typically revolves around one of three things - each with their own pros/cons - on campus fraternity parties, off campus house parties, local clubs/bars. Fraternity parties (especially Pi Kappa Phi) are great when they are not on suspension. The houses are easy to walk to and the parties are huge, unfortunately the school (particularly security and the greek life coordinator) are overly strict with the fraternities and are quick to put them on social probation. Off campus house parties are typically put on by the different athletic teams, these parties are really fun, but very exclusive and if you choose to go you will likely have to run from the police at some point. The local clubs have events (typically hosted by Omega Psi Phi) most weekends, and these events draw a large percentage of the students, and can get very rowdy and crowded.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Professors are fantastic. I am a history/politics double major and I have yet to come across a poor professor in my discipline.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
There is a decent amount of racial diversity on campus, however, most of the non-white students are athletes. Most everybody is some form of Christian - the school is ELCA Lutheran and probably 15% of students are Lutheran, however, the majority of students come from a baptist background. If you asked the whole student population their political affiliation I wouldn't be surprised if a slight majority came from republican households, however, for the most part students are apathetic to politics (although there is a very strong College Republican chapter). I would say that the students are very accepting and welcoming of diversity.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
There are definitely alot of stoners, but their harmless and couldn't hurt a fly. Most people get drunk/go to parties or tailgates on the weekends. Other drugs are largely non-existant.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
LR has plenty of opportunities for jobs directly out of college. The career center helps to assist students (and alumni) with job searches and is very useful for identifying and getting in touch with future employers. One thing about LR that most students don't realize is how committed the alumni network is to the university, in particular when it comes to hiring.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The liberal arts approach to studying is refreshing and forces me to consider the different aspects of my discipline. The professors/faculty are fantastic and the class sizes are small. I would 110% recommend the LR model over any big-school's approach to learning.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I feel 100% safe and secure on campus. Apart from petty crimes of opportunity and the occasional streaker in Price Village, there is no crime at LR.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 18
Back to Lenoir-Rhyne University Home