George Washington University
1,829 reviews
  1. Washington, DC
  2. 4 Year
Back to George Washington University Home

Reviews

1,829 reviews
  • Excellent
    326
  • Very Good
    633
  • Average
    664
  • Poor
    131
  • Terrible
    75
Incredibly active and passionate student body. I thoroughly enjoy going to class as my peers are professors are all quite intelligent and engaging
  • Junior
  • 3 days ago
If you are studying political science or international affairs this is a very good school. If your are studying anything else this is a tier-two institution at best. This school is grossly overpriced and seems to nickel and dime students for everything. The return on investment is very low.
  • Freshman
  • 29 days ago
Great school for Political Science and History. The professors are very helpful. Classes are within walking distance. The food could be less expensive though.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
As a first year student at The George Washington's University Elliott School, I can say that in summary, GW is a good school, albeit not a great one. While there is notable faculty on staff, many of the lectures aren't engaging, and the level of challenge varies greatly from professor to professor. Additionally, considering the school's hefty tuition, I think that the student services should be better organized and more accommodating. For example, Health Services does not tell you if you are missing any forms, and many other departments have rude call services. The dorms are catastrophic, and there is no dining hall; there for food options are limited and expensive. While, I am happy here, I am not sure if I would make George Washington my first choice again.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
GW is an awesome school with tons of opportunities to take advantage. The administration and the professors really care and there are so many opportunities that you can take care of in terms of internships/research due to its location in the heart of DC. Theres always something to do here and the entire student body is driven and passionate about something.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
GW is a great place so far. I am in the International Affairs program in the Elliott school, and the location couldn't be more perfect. The campus food is okay. Instead of a cafeteria your dining dollars can be used at different restaurants on campus. This is fine but it can get a little expensive. With normal cafeterias you can usually get a lot of food since its buffet style. The area itself is extremely safe, even at night.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
as far as online schools go, its an actual real school, and has credit in the professional world
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
no housing for graduate students, so I have nothing to say on this
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
i have nothing to say, because im in the online program
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
im in the online program. but i assume its okay, as i get emails about sports games often
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
im in the online program, so can't give much info as to what the school feels like. just what the professors are like
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Courses are typically very hard, with a lot of average professors. Writing/Reading based college. Classes sizes vary a lot. Tons of offered courses
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Plenty of opportunities here, and you're given a lot of chances to show off what you got.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I run Track and Field here. D1 Athletic Facilities are great, regular gym not so much
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The services I have used so far are excellent - really great online job listings!
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Housing is in good shape and Greeks and non-Greeks get along well. The Greeks are an asset to the campus, but don't overshadow social life here.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The teachers and students at this school are smart, friendly, supportive, and great to work and study with to date. The coursework is challenging and the administration bends over backwards to be helpful - and to be sure you have the funds to attend. I love GWU!
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The courses in the program are thorough and heavy on studio time. I wish there was a business/entrepreneurialship option to be better prepared to succeed in this field.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
In my small class we had about as diverse a sampling of race ethnicity and political opinion as is possible!
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I am a unique student in that I both commute and attend remotely. The program directors have been exceptionally accommodating me in this way so that I can participate in the program.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 92
Back to George Washington University Home