Florida State College at Jacksonville
1,848 reviews
  1. Jacksonville, FL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Florida State College at Jacksonville Home

Reviews

1,848 reviews
  • Excellent
    347
  • Very Good
    724
  • Average
    646
  • Poor
    80
  • Terrible
    51
As an adult student, I work full-time as well as take courses towards a degree at Florida State College at Jacksonville. I started attending FSCJ when it was a community college and earned an AA degree. Becoming a 4-year college, gave me an opportunity to complete a fuller college education locally. FSCJ is also aware about its adult students. The college and staff are the most conscious and flexible, yet professional and qualified. I love being able to take telecourses, or take courses online. Some classes allow students to meet with the professor one day or night a week and the rest online. The last best quality about FSCJ, is the cost and many options to finance courses and books. The cost for courses are competitive and reasonable, and we have the ability to purchase our textbooks from a variety of sources-along with the campus bookstore.
  • Senior
  • 1 day ago
Good for a community college. Ok for a state college. The experience varies for the technical certificates going from terrible to amazing. The school, experience, and professors all vary. Some campuses are better than others and some professors are of quality of a UF/FSU. Do your research on every professor and campus before making class choices. Your college experience could be lessened or damaged by one of the few bad apples among the professors. Overall, the college offers great opportunities for those who want to take advantage of them.
  • Sophomore
  • 10 days ago
What I love about FSCJ is that there are many things to do and a lot of groups to join in as extracurricular activities. People are never left out in this college and everyone is friendly. Another good things is that it's a tobacco free school, so no smoking on campus. Things I would like to see change is the student center to be open up until a little bit later, until like 7 pm
  • Freshman
  • 14 days ago
I enjoy all of my classes and the professors I have had. They truly care about my academic success. The staff at Florida State College at Jacksonville are all very welcoming as well. It has been great so far!
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
First I liked this college tuition fee wasn't that expensive like other university and this college has ROTC program that help us to be a military officer, also If I want to go other universities then I can transfer from this college.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
I love the professors and their communication with their students. The admissions is quite complicated but once you get through the loops classes are painless !
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The staff are very positive and bright at Downtown campus. The tutors are capable and more than willing to spend as much time with you as necessary if you don't understand a topic. The school itself is a safe space and have posters around the campus that solidifies it's zero-tolerance of bullying and harassment. Security is very re-assuring as well. There are a plethora of clubs and activities to do at the campus, and the students, from what I've experienced are friendly.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
I've met a few others who are pursuing the same major as I. My Logistics class at Robert E. Lee Highschool was informative, although the current classes that I'm taking are simply prerequisites, and as a result, they're not relevant to business and logistics.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
The classes that I take currently, ENC1101 and MAT1030 both have instructors that are competent and very friendly towards each of their students. Dr. Ertenberg and Dr. Byrd are both very kind people who thoroughly explain the material they're teaching and will not hesitate to help you should you need it.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Everything so far has been exactly as explain.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I've only taken one online course, it was okay, but I personally prefer on campus courses.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
They have a lot of amazing degree options unfortunately my degree is one of the ones that will require me to go to another school for my last credit.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Classes are small, lots of time for one on one with professors and all the professors that I have had are very willing to work with students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Really everything at FSCJ has been easier and better than expected.
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Everything for my program of study is pretty standard, I am however fortunate to have a science department that is exceptionally passionate about science!
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I would highly recommend FSCJ to anyone looking to further their education. Multiple campuses makes it easy to find a location near you, because it use to be a community college turned state college it offers a lot of amazing degrees at a fraction of the cost of other schools. I've been very blessed to have amazing professors both years I've been a student and I have taken classes at three of our six campuses!
  • College Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
There are several campuses in Jacksonville, which is nice! My professors are always good. Class sizes are always relatively small too.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
My experience has been pleasant overall. Financial Aid could use some work in helping students find scholarships and grants when they cannot afford school on their own.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The flexibility of my classes made things a lot easier for myself because my life is really busy with life and juggling things around for school. The school just made it easier for me to fit my education In because of its flexibility.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
My experience at school is great! The people are nice, the teachers are always willing to help and everything goes well when you're focused.
  • College Senior
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 93
Back to Florida State College at Jacksonville Home