Elgin Community College
510 reviews
  1. Elgin, IL
  2. 2 Year
Back to Elgin Community College Home

Reviews

510 reviews
  • Excellent
    77
  • Very Good
    217
  • Average
    187
  • Poor
    20
  • Terrible
    9
You can pick the schedule you want. I work and go to school so having the ability to do that is what I need.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
They will help you understand what you are expected to get out of the course but not much more than that.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
I haven't had much experience with them yet but so far they have helped every step of the way.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
The Professors are all for the most part friendly and actually do care that you succeed and will help when you ask.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
This school can prepare you very well to transfer to a 4-year university.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
The school only offers general engineering at the moment so it isn't too good for just my major.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
Solid school if you aren't sure what you want to do or want to test your major a bit.
  • College Junior
  • 20 days ago
Job prospects, like getting help from ecc on nailing a job right after finishing college is very helpful.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Awesome teachers and class sizes are small enough to get to know the professor and other students.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
I feel like the value of a degree from ECC is very much respected. Internships offered from ECC are very helpful and also very respected.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
I really wish it was more hands on.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
My financial aid got messed up. There is no way I can pay out of pocket over night.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The classes are very flexible. I am able to setup my schedule and the distance isn't very far either. I haven't had the opportunity to transfer any credits yet but I am planning on it next year.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The online courses or online math programs are the worst. You can have the correct answer but it will be off by a decimal and the program will mark it wrong. There is no way around it and I wish they would switch back to the traditional grading system where teachers are able to go over it instead of an online system. I wouldn't recommend taking any math online courses.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The encouragement of the counselors and the knowledgeable staff at the financial aid office was able to get me started. They're able to assist you with any question regarding loan setups, financial aid, housing, food, campus stay, college credit transfer, degree programs, job assistance, etc..
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Professors are very knowledgable and the classes are very interactive. Its highly recommended for you to be goal oriented and motivated to get anywhere in life. The only negative is the after school tutoring but the classes do offer enough information for you to research on your own.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
I have not had any experiences with their job/internship programs but I know they offer classes for it. I can however talk about the transfer program which I am currently enrolled in. It allows you to pick and choose specific credits that will apply to the designated university you will be attending. The counselors at ECC will guide you on the process on selecting your courses and the proper guidelines needed for specific transfer based on your graduation program.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
If you're a transfer student or someone that's fresh out of high school then I would totally recommend going to this school. Its not recommended for completing your education but more of a refresher on it. Apply yourself and get the college experience needed and once you've the recommended credits transfer over to a university.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
The teachers are helpful in-terms of providing their students with financial guidance and the tools needed to gain an edge in their education. The only problem is the availability of most professors and teachers outside of class schedule. I would definitely give this school a higher rating if the teachers were more involved in after class tutoring or more one on one orientated.
  • College Junior
  • 1 month ago
Close to home and affordable. Work load is manageable.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 26
Back to Elgin Community College Home