Earlham College
212 reviews
  1. Richmond, IN
  2. 4 Year
Back to Earlham College Home

Reviews

212 reviews
  • Excellent
    16
  • Very Good
    70
  • Average
    91
  • Poor
    21
  • Terrible
    14
I always feel safe on campus, often walking alone late at night without any worries. That being said, sexual assault has been an issue on campus (as on every campus). Administration response has been frustrating, but students have responded incredibly well. Earlham students believe and support survivors of sexual assault. This past semester, a student publicly called out an assaulter in order to draw attention to the issue. AASV (action against sexual violence) is an on-campus student organization that discusses and raises awareness surrounding the issue. Although administration needs to step up its game, the student community is really good about addressing the issue of sexual assault.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Professors are, for the most part, incredibly helpful, passionate, and knowledgeable. They go by their first names (because of the Quaker values of Earlham) which makes them more approachable in some ways. Courses in every area are challenging and engaging. A lot of the assigned readings are incredibly interesting, and on more than one occasion I've discussed them with friends (in a non-academic setting). Courses are also frequently interdisciplinary, drawing on and connecting several subjects. Classes are usually very small (10-20), with a few intro classes reaching 50-60 students.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Earlham has a very strong alumni network, with alums often connecting students to jobs or other opportunities (as well as sometimes attending Hash.)
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Dorm quality varies a lot. For freshman dorms, Barrett is usually considered better than Bundy. Bundy has a livelier atmosphere and slightly larger rooms, but Barrett is much cleaner and has AC (which is important for more than just August and May). There are also lots of spaces in the theme houses, which have the advantage of being closer to Dominos and Marsh, having more living space (which can also be used for parties), and living without RAs.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Sports teams are visible on campus but not particularly popular among non-athletes. Some games are attended but usually not considered any kind of social event.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Earlham attracts an incredibly diverse group of students and professors, and classes are challenging but manageable. We have tons of great traditions, like Beerster (beers are hidden all over campus around Easter time) and Whiskey Tue.
  • College Freshman
  • 7 months ago
Campus security is fairly accessible.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
I have had great professors and courses.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
I hope to have good career prospects as the school is known for its commitment to public and social service.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
We do not have Greek life at my school.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
I am marginally attentive to athletics at my school.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
It's still the only school that I would consider attending due to the small size, the academic standards, the course options, the student population, and the professor credentials.
  • College Freshman
  • 8 months ago
The wellness center in my school is very nice and well-designed for everyone to work out.

The baseball stadium is one of the nice facilities Earlham has.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
In terms of academics, Earlham is very rigorous and has a lot of inspirational professors who are willing to help. In terms of community, Earlham is very friendly and internationally diverse. In terms of financial assistance, Earlham tends to be very generous and supportive.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
Very spacious rooms, nice buildings, but no air conditioning, odd layouts, inconsistent room styles, and partially gender segregated
  • College Senior
  • 12 months ago
It's pretty good, better in some ways than other similar schools
  • College Senior
  • 12 months ago
decent for a small college but certainly could be better
  • College Senior
  • 12 months ago
Not great social activity, or community involved with campus life
  • College Junior
  • Nov 9 2015
I've become a person, and I love my education.
  • College Sophomore
  • Aug 9 2015
I like the campus and the town where it's located.
  • College Junior
  • June 27 2015
  • 1 of 11
Back to Earlham College Home