Duquesne University
1,241 reviews
  1. Pittsburgh, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Duquesne University Home

Reviews

1,241 reviews
  • Excellent
    180
  • Very Good
    439
  • Average
    481
  • Poor
    86
  • Terrible
    55
Once again, it really depends on your major regarding the system of career programs. Connections and internship opportunities solely rely on the strength of the program, medical school perhaps being the strongest position.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The experience at Duquesne is a mixed bag. Ultimately it depends on your preferences, but for me, it was not the place to be. The social atmosphere is very cliquey, with preppy students gravitating towards each other. Even as a skeptic of the concept of a "college experience", dorming and attending clubs are almost necessary to have any degree of a social life. However, Duquesne does offer a great academic experience, depending on your major. If attending one of their more developed courses, such as biology or medical studies, you are guaranteed smaller, more intimate classed that are tailored to your needs. Otherwise, if you attend a burgeoning course, your mileage may vary from subpar to average, as was the case for me. The professors are generally very helpful, kind, and passionate, however it does not make up for a stale and underdeveloped program.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Never at all felt as if I were threatened. Though the school is located next to a relatively poor part of the city, it is enclosed in it's own campus with frequent security patrols. There have been incidents of sexual assault on campus, however they are not frequent.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Relatively subpar for the price you pay. Living quarters range from poor to average if you disregard pricing.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Somehow, Greek Life is not like the cliquey atmosphere everyone loves to rail on. Thoigh Greek Life remains relatively under the radar, their contributions to campus life and the community are relatively well received.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
There is some degree of school spirit for the sports, mainly soccer and basketball, but the teams are relatively subpar.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
As with any school, Duquesne University holds some degree of "cliqueiness". With the Duquesne brand of cliques, they manifest in the form of preppy students. Though mostly friendly and open-minded, social groups would rarely extend a hand in lasting friendships. The overall social atmosphere could be described as High School 2.0; better, but not too different from how social circles are in high school. As fat as professors go, I could not ask for better professors. Filled with talented alumni from all over the country, and sometimes even the world, the professors are passionate about their topics. Though, through my experience, some could elaborate themselves more clearly, but the passion in their teaching is nothing short of contagious. In regards to the campus, depending on your major, you may never even see the entirety of the relatively small school. Situated on the "bluffs" part of Pittsburgh, the urban location is convenient, yet it still manages to feel like a small, quiet University. Weather conditions are rather harsh here in the winter seasons, as it is located on a hill right next to a river, but it is bearable considering the size of the campus; though you may want to watch your step as the campus is fairly hilly as well. The dormitories at Duquesne range from subpar to average, without taking into consideration the price for said dormitories. The most basic dorms are approximately $11k a year, netting you a jail-like experience, with concrete walls, floors, and subpar heating and cooling elements. The bedspace is could be described as claustrophobic, and the living space is near abysmal. However, the more upscale living quarters are rather nice, they are rather expensive. Though Duquesne is not a bad school by any means, be sure you know what you want to do and do research on the curriculum. Many majors are mere fledglings. This was the case for me, as I did not necessarily receive the highest quality education here.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I thought I would love it because I loved the campus but most students were not sociable. I only knew a few people on my floor. Also no one cares about sports although we have a D1 football team. Also I didn't meet one person from Pennsylvania.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I've been told Duquesne is a great school over and over again by many people, I have grown to appreciate that u go here and I enjoy knowing that I for sure have a job when I graduate.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The professors are characters they are so funny and you can tell they enjoy their job, I really like having teacher who actually like to teach. I haven't had teachers like that in a while you can tell the difference.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I think it's okay so far as long as you don't travel alone at night/downtown.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
It's nice being able to live with other people, I can even tell you how fun it being at Duquesne for the summer. I meet so may new people and they were so nice. Honestly I can used to a little noise but being around people will always be fun.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I'm not sure about Greek life because I just arrived on campus but I never thought of joining.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I'm not sure about the athletics because I just started Duquesne but I have high hopes because I know we are D1 in a lot of our sports.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
So far I have started Duquesne University and love it, I can't even explain how much I enjoyed being there and meeting new people. It felt just like home but better. I was not lonely at all I saw people just like me who love to learn and have fun. The school is perfect for me and I can definitely see myself there for 4 years.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I really don't know much about the Greek life, as I am not involved in it but I have a lot of friends who love it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Duquesne is not a huge school for athletics and that's okay.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Duquesne is a great place for am education! I had an awesome first year there and am looking forward to going back in the fall.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I am not certain yet because I haven't looked much into it, but most of the people I know that graduated from this school have had great opportunities afterwards.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I think the class sizes are appropriate for my learning style, and I think the teachers do a good job getting to know the students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 63
Back to Duquesne University Home