Duquesne University
1,250 reviews
  1. Pittsburgh, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Duquesne University Home

Reviews

1,250 reviews
  • Excellent
    180
  • Very Good
    445
  • Average
    484
  • Poor
    86
  • Terrible
    55
In general, Duquesne University is a great college. Although it may be a rather pricey option for some, you certainly get your bang for the buck. Even though I write this review only being a first year student, I can tell you that my experience here has been amazing. The dining and housing services are great, there are tons of clubs for students to participate in, and the proximity to the rest of the city make this university an excellent choice.
  • Freshman
  • 6 days ago
It was ok, after my first year I decided to transfer due to how boring the campus was. The teachers were really nice and the classes weren't that bad. The people were just so different and weren't open to people who were different. Everyone was from Pennsylvania and already had people that they knew when I got there.
  • Sophomore
  • 18 days ago
I love being in the school of education and experiencing the classroom starting freshman year. The campus and surrounding area is fantastic. However, as a commuter, I often feel neglected and separated from the rest of the students.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
The campus is gorgeous and there are alway activities going on to keep the students active and interested.
  • College Freshman
  • 2 months ago
My school is a nice university, however, I think I might have chosen the wrong career path and it has definitely affected my time at the university. I do like pharmacy, but I think there is something else out there that would better fit my personality and desires. That being said, Duquesne University has been helpful with my decision to continue or switch majors.
  • College Junior
  • 3 months ago
Duquesne is just a 10 minute walk (over the bridge) away from the shady areas, however, the presence of campus police and walking in a group to places makes me feel better.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I love my roommate and I love my floor mates. We're all super close and have a lot of fun. My RA is super chill. And I personally love living in towers, particularly tower B. I have a great view, and dare I say- it looks prettier than assumption hall. Towers is a very social place to live since people of all grades live here. Just the elevator ride alone and get you some awesome acquaintances. Obviously this is my personal experience and everyone may not feel the same way, especially if you live in Ann's, which is very strict.

I think everyone can agree, however, that the bathrooms are cleaned daily and that any issue (broken AC/heat, etc) is taken seriously and attended to quickly.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The Greeks aren't hated, nor are they worshipped. You can still get into parties and have a great time without being a Greek, although they have a slight advantage. Oh, and obviously they do more than just party! Im considering rushing this spring, but I'm still not 100% sure.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Move in for freshman is earlier than most schools, but that's because they dedicate a whole week to orientation. Orientation is super fun and allows you to get comfortable with the school environment and the people. It will feel like home by the end of that week, and you'll feel at least a little ready for the first day of classes. I've been here for a week now, and I know already that i chose the right school! I chose this school for its reputation in nursing. In addition to its great reputation, the food is great(lots of options too), bathrooms are clean, showers/sinks arent crowded, people are generally approachable and pleasant(although i can sniff the fakeness of some from a mile away), and the campus/city is very attractive and admirable. My professors are also pretty nice and very qualified.
  • College Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Once again, it really depends on your major regarding the system of career programs. Connections and internship opportunities solely rely on the strength of the program, medical school perhaps being the strongest position.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The experience at Duquesne is a mixed bag. Ultimately it depends on your preferences, but for me, it was not the place to be. The social atmosphere is very cliquey, with preppy students gravitating towards each other. Even as a skeptic of the concept of a "college experience", dorming and attending clubs are almost necessary to have any degree of a social life.

However, Duquesne does offer a great academic experience, depending on your major. If attending one of their more developed courses, such as biology or medical studies, you are guaranteed smaller, more intimate classed that are tailored to your needs. Otherwise, if you attend a burgeoning course, your mileage may vary from subpar to average, as was the case for me. The professors are generally very helpful, kind, and passionate, however it does not make up for a stale and underdeveloped program.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Never at all felt as if I were threatened. Though the school is located next to a relatively poor part of the city, it is enclosed in it's own campus with frequent security patrols. There have been incidents of sexual assault on campus, however they are not frequent.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Relatively subpar for the price you pay. Living quarters range from poor to average if you disregard pricing.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Somehow, Greek Life is not like the cliquey atmosphere everyone loves to rail on. Thoigh Greek Life remains relatively under the radar, their contributions to campus life and the community are relatively well received.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
There is some degree of school spirit for the sports, mainly soccer and basketball, but the teams are relatively subpar.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
As with any school, Duquesne University holds some degree of "cliqueiness". With the Duquesne brand of cliques, they manifest in the form of preppy students. Though mostly friendly and open-minded, social groups would rarely extend a hand in lasting friendships. The overall social atmosphere could be described as High School 2.0; better, but not too different from how social circles are in high school.

As fat as professors go, I could not ask for better professors. Filled with talented alumni from all over the country, and sometimes even the world, the professors are passionate about their topics. Though, through my experience, some could elaborate themselves more clearly, but the passion in their teaching is nothing short of contagious.

In regards to the campus, depending on your major, you may never even see the entirety of the relatively small school. Situated on the "bluffs" part of Pittsburgh, the urban location is convenient, yet it still manages to feel like a small, quiet University. Weather conditions are rather harsh here in the winter seasons, as it is located on a hill right next to a river, but it is bearable considering the size of the campus; though you may want to watch your step as the campus is fairly hilly as well.

The dormitories at Duquesne range from subpar to average, without taking into consideration the price for said dormitories. The most basic dorms are approximately $11k a year, netting you a jail-like experience, with concrete walls, floors, and subpar heating and cooling elements. The bedspace is could be described as claustrophobic, and the living space is near abysmal. However, the more upscale living quarters are rather nice, they are rather expensive.

Though Duquesne is not a bad school by any means, be sure you know what you want to do and do research on the curriculum. Many majors are mere fledglings. This was the case for me, as I did not necessarily receive the highest quality education here.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I thought I would love it because I loved the campus but most students were not sociable. I only knew a few people on my floor. Also no one cares about sports although we have a D1 football team. Also I didn't meet one person from Pennsylvania.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I've been told Duquesne is a great school over and over again by many people, I have grown to appreciate that u go here and I enjoy knowing that I for sure have a job when I graduate.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The professors are characters they are so funny and you can tell they enjoy their job, I really like having teacher who actually like to teach. I haven't had teachers like that in a while you can tell the difference.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I think it's okay so far as long as you don't travel alone at night/downtown.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 63
Back to Duquesne University Home