Duke University
990 reviews
  1. Durham, NC
  2. 4 Year
Back to Duke University Home

Reviews

990 reviews
  • Excellent
    250
  • Very Good
    356
  • Average
    323
  • Poor
    40
  • Terrible
    21
Collaborative. The one word I was searching for to describe my next four years, and yet with countless college tours, there wasn’t one University I was satisfied with calling home. I decided then and there I wanted to become apart of the unique community. I was introduced to this University because I had attended the Summer College Program there. I went to classes and was able to learn from brilliant world leaders, one of whom is Professor Miller. I researched topics in the the Perkins Library; I read books in the Kilgo Quad, and when my time at the program was over. I always worried that once college arrived I would become stuck, at a dead of a path feeling trapped and not up to my full potential. I promised myself that no matter the circumstances I would climb the wall in the labyrinth if necessary. Though when I left the program it was then that I realized I wouldn’t have to climb any wall, because there was an entire path open to me.
  • Niche User
  • 7 days ago
Duke provides an overall great college experience. I think the highlights are the strong programs in a variety of fields, so if you're undecided this is a big bonus. As a premed student I found the close vicinity of the hospital to be a great asset as far as gaining clinical experience. There is something for everyone on campus, be it a student group, sport, activity, or academic endeavor. The downsides are obviously the price if you don't have aid, and the town is not very student-friendly, especially at night. Parking is a nightmare. School spirit is great - so much energy! Food has gotten an upgrade with recent renovations to West Union.
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
i have not personally visited duke university but i have heard from a lot of people that it is a really nice place and it it also a get place to go to work and or the people that work there have had a really good work experience and have loved it. A few people have also told me how good the academics are and how well all the professors are.
  • Niche User
  • 24 days ago
If there is one word to describe this school, it is energy. I'm not just talking about getting decked out in blue for basketball games, but I am referring to Duke's ability to galvanize a feeling, a position, and a perspective and generate an irresistible buzz on campus. Passion is an understatement -- people at Duke get involved and they show it. If you're looking for a school that makes such passion its leading characteristic, I would strongly encourage you to check out Duke.
  • Sophomore
  • 25 days ago
Duke has already helped me grow in so many ways. I have enjoyed all of my classes and they have each opened my eyes toward new topics in unexpected ways. There are so many amazing professors and the campus is truly beautiful. Sometimes things can get overwhelming or difficult and the atmosphere may not always be the most supportive, but if you seek it out actively, it is certainly there!
  • Sophomore
  • 28 days ago
The culture shock was real in all aspects of Duke culture including campus life and academics but there is no regret of my choice in universities. Duke has its own unique way of life that is unparalleled.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I always get emails and calls from duke and hoping to take a tour next summer .Duke was always my number one school for sports never missed a game but law enforcement and medical is where it's at and looking at the the review stood out the most plus it's what I want to major in so I have no problem going there #💙bluedevlis
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Duke was a fun experience but also very challenging. Everyone competes with each other to be better which will make you push yourself but also cause you to feel lost at times.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
Is a great school have a really great basketball program with coach K and they really care about a student education
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
Most students are hired for good jobs or accepted into grad school by graduation.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Great professors, fascinating courses. Sometimes very difficult for no obvious reason, students are very stressed always.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
A lot of security, but a couple people get robbed each year. Just like on most college campuses, there is a thriving sexual assault culture that many speak up about, but it is not enough. Many high profile assault cases, particularly those involving athletes. The school is being investigated by the federal government for their handling of sexual assault cases.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
A lot of dorms are far away from classes because of the different campuses, but generally they are nice and fairly spacious. Some used to not have air conditioning, but thats mostly been fixed.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Housing for greeks is sad. They live in on campus apartments. Greek people tend to view themselves as superior and it shows, despite the fact that everyone is a nerdy Duke student and wasn't super cool in high school. Non-greeks are hostile towards greeks generally, and greeks tend to be snobby and rude towards non-greeks (especially those in "top" tiers)
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Duke Basketball. Enough said. But there are also other great teams. Warning-the guys will use their status as athletes as an excuse to treat you poorly, but that's every school...
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
I've had great academic experiences, and gotten the chance for incredible opportunities. I've learned a lot about a myriad of fascinating and pertinent subjects. However, the student body doesn't seem to care about each other very much, and many people feel lonely. There is a huge emphasis placed on greek life and athletics that can be divisive.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
I don't live on campus so I really can't answer this question.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I love the school because everyone is so nice so far.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Everyone is obsessed with Duke basketball.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I haven't even started my accelerated bachelor's of science in nursing program yet, I will in a couple months, but I already feel like I have joined this Duke community. Especially in the medical majors, I feel like the professors are approachable, and genuinely care about your success. The only downside is it is very expensive.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 50
Back to Duke University Home