Davis College - New York
58 reviews
  1. Johnson City, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Davis College - New York Home

Reviews

58 reviews
  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    21
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    3
  • Terrible
    6
Davis College is a God-Centered, academically challenging, community minded campus dedicated to helping their students succeed in life while pursuing God. Although the atmosphere of Davis is almost family-like, there are factors that are sub-par. Some of these being athletics, and food quality.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Their value of degree is very high. They want their students to be successful.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
I feel as if the courses will be satisfactory when I began
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
The campus feels and look very safe. Security is always on the look out.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Living on campus can be an very exciting experience.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Greek life is very interesting at this college and I like it
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
The athletics are great. Basketball is at the top of the list.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
The campus seemed very interesting when I visited .
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
For the most part I feel quite safe on campus. The campus is very small and in the daytime I feel absolutely safe. At night, as a female, I would not walk out alone. The campus security is a presence, and are visible, especially at night. They have exhibited competence in security situations. There is very minimal campus crime inasmuch as that I have heard of things being stolen in the boys dorm.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 3 2014
I love the feeling of family that is in the atmosphere at Davis. The students and the faculty are so welcoming and interested in you. They make sure you're doing okay and if something's not working, they try to help you or fix it. At Davis, their goal is to make sure you succeed, and they give many second chances without being too lenient. We've had a few fun events at Davis as well, including concerts by outside and local artists, a community Christmas party, and a creative arts night in which students demonstrated talents in music, drama, and writing. Sports events, especially basketball games, are well attended and have high energy. And there's almost always people just hanging around, doing homework, singing, or goofing off to have fun with.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 3 2014
The dorms are fairly small and usually house 1-2 people. One of the great things about Davis dorms for girls is that the dorms are located above most of the classrooms, so it's almost unnecessary to go outside when it's cold. Unless you have a class in a different building, but even then the farthest walk takes about 2 minutes. For boys, it takes about 2 minutes to get to the building with most of the classes. The dorms are kept clean and social atmosphere is great, with most people leaving their doors open for people just to walk in and hang out. Since it is a small school it's easy to get to know everyone.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 3 2014
It depends on the sport, but athletics at Davis can be pretty great. Basketball is definitely their best sport. Both teams, men's and women's, generally win, if not dominate. The fan support ranges from pretty great to super fantastic.
  • College Sophomore
  • Jan 3 2014
The campus at Davis is extremely conservative. No alcohol, smoking etc. No girls in guys dorms and vice versa. There are a lot of rules that are enforced to "protect" the student. A great school, but there needs to be a revision to some of the so called standards.
  • College Senior
  • Nov 19 2013
Since this is a small school there really is not a variety in different teachers. There is one professor for counseling, one for organizational leadership, and so forth. The registration process is easy enough and simple to complete. The curriculum is pretty straight forward too.
  • College Senior
  • Oct 19 2012
My major (organizational leadership) is an easy enough major to complete. The main issue is there is only one professor that teaches all the core requirements, which can get old over time.
  • College Senior
  • Oct 19 2012
The parking at Davis is decent there is a nice slection of different areas.
  • College Junior
  • Oct 31 2011
Helpful Professors – The proffessors are personal, and they truly do care about you as a student!
  • College Junior
  • Oct 31 2011
Transportaion Is Good – Public transportation is really good. There are alot of buses in the area. Also, the college takes people to Walmart on Saturday's.
  • College Junior
  • Oct 31 2011
Night Life – Being a Bible College the night life is not the greatest. Bars are a no go as they are frowned upon, because of drunkenness. Transportation is a little above average as the school will bus you to a couple places and there are also a multiple of students who are kind enough to take you places. Parties happen every once in awhile. Music, food, fun, that's about it unless some people go to the movies or the local pizza place and shoot pool. Underage nightlife isn't to bad there are volleyball nights that people go to as well as soccer.
  • College Senior
  • Oct 27 2011
Gym/Library/Campus Activities – The gym is awesome and open majority of the time. When the gym is closed it is simple to open, contact security and ask the coach to open it, you will be responsible at that time to clean what you have in there and put everything away. The library is awesome and so are the workers, they are friendly and always willing to help. There are a number of book to chose from and also vhs tapes of old school classic Disney cartoons :) Campus activities vary every year as we have different life reps. But I have been satisfied every year with the events.
  • College Senior
  • Oct 27 2011
  • 1 of 3
Back to Davis College - New York Home