Davis & Elkins College
254 reviews
  1. Elkins, WV
  2. 4 Year
Back to Davis & Elkins College Home

Reviews

254 reviews
  • Excellent
    31
  • Very Good
    95
  • Average
    102
  • Poor
    17
  • Terrible
    9
I'm glad I decided to go to out-of-state, the experience is one for the books; I've met friends I genuinely care very much for and others whom last names I don't recollect, if I even knew it at all.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
Alumni are very involved current activities and insist on meeting current students. Career center is helpful in ensuring a student gets work study, even if the field they chose was no longer available, and the rep assists with resume etiquette, off-campus housing, and scouting local jobs. All other facilities and offices are moderate; they assist in their fields and are faintly educated on that of another office's description.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
Security drives around regularly and secure social events, even call underage students out on underage drinking as well as acknowledge the legal-age students they're with for influencing and engaging in it with them. Some are friendly, others are just there because they're being paid.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
I have a single room, and my R.A. isn't a hoverer. Seldomly we'll have hall events and dorm events (or dorm vs dorm events). Everyone is well acquainted, the kitchen and rest rooms are cleaned daily, and housekeeping never sneers at laziness, should there be any. The guys are respectful and friendly. Everyone visits everyone's dorm--never know who'll you'll see and where in the building you'll see them. Very social atmosphere.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
Greek life isn't publicized nor sought after as much as one would think. In fact, there isn't a sorority on campus and the 2 frats are extremely low-key. They each host minor events, sparing, and they aren't as engaged in campus life as per usual.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
The equipment is fair; not entirely modern, nor outdated. The weight room is usually either overcrowded or virtually empty (there is only one), and there isn't a schedule for sports team so others are bombarded by their takeover. Events and within the cafeteria, students are usually segregated into their teams, then everyone else. Students sparing attend sporting events, especially if they're friends with someone on that team, and when a team is facing its biggest competition. Moreover, I've recently been given the responsibility of the president of the weight room, which we call the Fitness Center, and I'm looking to make significant changes (scheduling, equipment, cleaning materials, entertainment, etc.).
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
I am from a NYC, so I was fairly depressed when I settled into this tiny town (surprisingly, the area is referred to as a city!), especially since I've never been so far from home. It wasn't too long before I familiarized myself with the school and got acquainted with other students. The school isn't very diverse, although there are a great deal of international students. In all 3 years of my attending, thus far, I am the only NYer. Side note: you'll need a car to get away--Walmart is across a highway. Overall, once you get acquainted, it isn't so bad. NOTE: I am a vegetarian, and the cafeteria meals aren't diversed.
  • College Senior
  • 6 months ago
I chose this school because I wanted to be able to do all my classes online because of my work schedule. This program works the best for me.
  • College Junior
  • 9 months ago
I have never experienced the party scene at the school because I live off campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
Again, I have never experienced the party scene at the school because I do not live on campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
The professors here are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure you understand the content and have the best possible chance of making a good grade in their class.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
Davis and Elkins College is very diverse and students come from all over the world. Everyone seems to be very accepting of the different races and very welcoming to them.
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
I have never seen any drug use on campus and have never experienced any peer pressure
  • College Sophomore
  • 10 months ago
During my time at my college i have just got accepted into it and so far i have had a blast. I made a few visits up and everyone was so helpful and kind. They were ahead and on top of everything and i am so thankful for them helping out with this crazy and new experience.
  • College Student
  • 11 months ago
I have heard that the internships are great for the nursing program here. Usually, if you intern at a certain place they will probably offer you a job upon graduation.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
The nursing program here is wonderful. The pre-req courses are very manageable so you don't have to waste a lot of time before starting the actual nursing program.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
The security is great on campus. If you need anything at all, all you have to do is call them and they will be there within a few minutes to help you out!
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
I am not part of a sorority so I am not sure what the process if like.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
Since the college is not that large, the class sizes are fairly small. This allows for more one on one time with your professors and classmates. The professors like that they can help a student out and give them that extra attention they may need if they are struggling.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
There are a lot of students that attend Davis and Elkins College because of scholarships they received to play a sport here. The school spirit on campus and in the community is great. Mostly everyone wears college attire to support the teams.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
  • 1 of 13
Back to Davis & Elkins College Home