Davidson County Community College
199 reviews
  1. Thomasville, NC
  2. 2 Year
Back to Davidson County Community College Home

Reviews

199 reviews
  • Excellent
    54
  • Very Good
    80
  • Average
    50
  • Poor
    9
  • Terrible
    6
the online courses were very helpful
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
don't get any help from them
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
amazing the school staff was so helpful
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
the professors are good they take a long time to get ahold of but once you got in contact with them they are helpful
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
the school should have been more clear about the fact they don't have dorms
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Taught things again if we did not get them the first time
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
Everyone is kind to one another
  • College Junior
  • 6 months ago
Bosch & Cat are awesome instructors as both know their stuff and are always willing to help.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
There are always other colleges on campus to talk to you about transferring and able to answer questions if you have them.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
I hate that I can't take a course to explore possiblities because they are not in my "program of choice" and you have to get permission from your advisor to take courses before you can register.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
I hated the online PED course because I am bad a memorizing things and that is all this class was was memorizing the textbook for proctored exams. The other online clases I had were AMAZING!!!
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
They have a class that will walk you through transfering when you are ready to do that.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
You can't take classes outside of your program just to see if you *might* be interested in something different than what you are doing That's the part that makes it bad. Otherwise, the teachers are great, asking for help is all you need to do if you have an issue. The free turtoring and open computer lab make it easy to get help you may need.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
If you need help, just ask. That's all you have to do; ask.
  • College Junior
  • 7 months ago
I went to this college straight out of high school. I had no idea what to do. My advisors helped me in finding what steps to take. My first year for general education courses, there were a lot of different class times and options. However, my next two years were predetermined so that internships could be incorporated.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
I haven't taken many online courses. I have taken hybrid courses at this college and one online course. The workload was not overbearing at all. Registration for these classses is as simple as any other class. Peer to peer interaction is limited to discussion boards, but this is not the instructors fault. Students have the abilit to contact one another to form study groups.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
My first year at this college I lived in the learning commons, utilizing every resource I could, be it a math or biology tutor, a writing coach, the library archives, computer systems, seminars, you name it. This college provides so many resources that I never would have imagined available at a community college. I have gone to career services countless times for advice, guidance, mock interviews, network opportunities or career building information sessions. If I need help, career services is there, they all know my face and name and are always pleasant, kind, and ready to help.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
I have already had 5 internships through this school which gives me the upper hand when applying for jobs. This program is well known throughout the country and recognized by countless zoo's that ultimately hired graduates straight out of this program. The ZAS Program has a very good reputation. In having internships during the program, students can find out what this job is really like, and can decide if they want to stick with it, some don't. These experiences have helped me receive job and internship position offers. The zoo world is a small world and these internships have helped me establish relationships with people that can help me in the long run.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
The quality of my courses are outstanding. By the time I graduate, I will have learned the general information for almost every species of animal. This gives me a very well rounded knowledge and competative edge for any future job interviews. My professors are considerate and empathetic. They will work with any student that needs extra help. Having a smaller class size really allows them to be one on one with each student. I can come to my teachers at an time for help in school or outside of school as well. Not all of my professors have the same style of teaching, but thats okay, not everyone has the same style of learning. This is a challenge for me, but I like to be challenged, and earn the grades that I want and have, by working hard for them.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
The Zoo and Aquarium Science Program is one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life. This is the hardest job i'll ever love. The workload is unbelievable and looking back, I don't know how i've done it, but I have, and I have done it well. I've never felt more accomplished in my life. I have always wanted to be a zookeeper, and I now have the knowledge and training to be one. There is a common misconception that all zookeepers do is cuddle and play with animals all day long. This, however, is not the case. This is a hard job, physically, mentally, and emotionally draining, but it is a job that you have to be extraordinarly passionate about. There is little money on this career path, but the exeriences themselves act as a bigger reward than money. I, myself, was under this delusion of what the job would be. In zookeeping, you clean, and you clean a lot. You also train animals, make their food and feed them, come up with new enrichment items to continuously stimulate their minds, and animals get sick, what then? I have had internships at multiple facilities working with a variety of animals, some of which include; tigers, bears, gorillas, baboons, prosimians, coatis, and so many more. Each internship throughout this program has taught me so many things. Not everything i've been taught has been the same. Different people have different ways of getting things done. this has only helped me become more well rounded in that aspect as well as flexible, which you should also be in this career.Even still, knowing how hard it is, I love every second of it and want to do it for the rest of my life. My college has made this possible by having this program at a more than affordable cost.
  • College Senior
  • 9 months ago
  • 1 of 10
Back to Davidson County Community College Home