CUNY Medgar Evers College
455 reviews
  1. Brooklyn, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to CUNY Medgar Evers College Home

Reviews

455 reviews
  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    177
  • Average
    180
  • Poor
    33
  • Terrible
    10
I really love how every building is close to each other. This helps out with getting to your destination quickly and keeps the schools intimate. I didn't like how most professors don't really care about the students and never stay after class to help or give extra credit, etc. I would like to see more involvement with clubs and events going on campus. This will keep the college environment live.
  • Niche User
  • 17 days ago
Overall my time at this college has been good maybe better than other because of the people I have gain to know and the activates that I participated in
  • Junior
  • 17 days ago
Medgar Evers College is really big on academics. They offer various courses and classes for different majors. The professors take great interest in the students and make sure that they understand what is being taught during the semester.
The library at the college is an all time favorite for many students because it holds many outlets; from the learning/writing center, group study and even individual study. The library has it all.
Overall, this is a good college.
  • Sophomore
  • 17 days ago
Excellent Public Administration program. The professors are all experienced professionals who have served in upper level management and administrative cabinet positions in government, therefore you learn from first hand experience. The professors want you to learn; they push you to learn; they bend and mold you sufficiently but never break you.
I recommend the Public Administration program highly!
  • Senior
  • 17 days ago
Medgar Evers College is a college that makes everyone feel welcome. The setting of the college is community base and everyone looks out for each other which includes the students and facility.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The experience of going to school here has had its ups and downs but in general I have felt that the faculty and staff do their best to help and accommodate students and their needs. The classes vary in quality, some are definitely less challenging than others.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
Medgar Evers College is a really great college. From my experience so far the professors teach us well and we get lots of opportunities to get our GPA high. Theres lots of different things offered at this school that can make us successful , like the career center, student life. E.T.C
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Medgar Evers college is all about black power and togetherness. The college is named after Medgar Wiley Evers, an African American civil rights leader; later assassinated in 1963. The college honors this great hero. Medgar Evers college offers a lot of programs to get people to establishing a great future for themselves.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Medgar Evers is a great school but the staff and the overall customer service is not very good. There needs to be more accountability for staff and professors to care about the students and the school's bottom line. The school also needs more degree programs and more classes for the evening and weekend students. We need more of these options so that more students will want to attend this school. This school has a lot of potential to be better in terms of the area, location, and the diversity of people that we serve. Medgar Evers College with some small improvements to faculty, staff, etc can be well received. We can be the best college in Brooklyn, if we apply a few tweaks here and there.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
As an English major, there truly isn't as varied a courseload as I hoped I would be able to take.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There is a career center at the school, however they do not advertise their presence very well so it is difficult at first to find them.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The online courses are a great attempt but they do not always work effectively. For example, if the professor does not know how to use this online format well, this can backfire on the students and make a less than exemplary class experience.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The classes have not been very flexible--there are often issues with the convenience of the way things are done.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There is not a lot of variety in terms of course offerings.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
There are a number of connections one can make from this school, but it is certainly not the best when it comes to job prospects.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The only problem I had with my classes was that we had to buy the books online. One of the books was $416 and that book was hard to find.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I wouldn't recommend taking online courses because it's more difficult. It's better to be in the classroom so you will get a better understanding.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The quality of the career center at my school is very helpful because they really help you find a job and when you have a interview and don't have an outfit they send you to a place to get an outfit and they pay for it.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
In the school there's a writing center where they help you with your writing. This i very good because a lot people including myself need help with writing.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
My school has a career room where they help you with your resume and there's another room where you can sign up for a scholarship.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 23
Back to CUNY Medgar Evers College Home