CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice
943 reviews
  1. New York, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice Home

Reviews

943 reviews
  • Excellent
    203
  • Very Good
    328
  • Average
    323
  • Poor
    48
  • Terrible
    41
Having attended John Jay for almost four years, one can say that the experience has been eye opening to say the least. In 2013, fresh out out of high school I had no idea what to expect on a city college campus. Every thing at the college seemed more refined, like there was more effort poured into giving attention to a quality learning experience while maintaining a calm atmosphere. Most professors at the college teach the material they know well and do not overwork students like in high school. The campus is very clean and staff help with almost all of the students needs. There is only one problem that I have with John Jay and that is the fact that the escalators are always breaking down and seem to take an eternity to fix. Some areas of the college doesn'teven have stairs so when the escalators are busted, the only other option is to take elevators that are filled to capacity with students all headed in the same direction, which tends to make students and professors late for class.
  • Junior
  • 12 hours ago
This is a great school. there is not only a lot of ways for students to get involved, but the classes and professors are great. Only dislike is the jay express services.
  • Graduate Student
  • 12 days ago
I like that there is always something going on around campus. There are always desks for different career opportunities. The school is really lively and I don't think theres a better school I could've chosen for my undergraduate degree. The professors are even better, I've learned a lot from them. It will be hard to say goodbye once its time for graduation!
  • Senior
  • 19 days ago
John Jay truly is a college that caters to the needs of hard working students. Flexible programs which offer courses to fit ones schedule. Professors who care and mentor you to further plans of graduate school or professional career in the field of criminal justice. This college has laid out the strongest foundation that I could have possible attained in order to build a professional future of success.
  • Senior
  • 19 days ago
John Jay has a campus full of interesting activities that are fun. There are tons of scholarships and their reputation stands out well to the media. All of the professors have hands on experience either through research or their profession off campus. Basically they can fill the majority of your needs as a student such as academic advice, peer mentoring, free yoga classes, brand new black box movie theater , community service opportunities , a food pantry, immigration services, apply for food stamps and free tax preparation, daily community hour in the lobby where they give free food on thursdays and services to the students. Not to mention the number of student clubs they have and weekly entertainment for the students. Graduate school has an immerse opportunity for research in the field and on campus.
  • Graduate Student
  • 21 days ago
Although I didn't get to get the full JJAY experience, for example sports and so forh, my 4 years at the school were great. I met wonderful people who I'm friends with till this day. The professors I had actually cared for you and your growth. They wanted to make sure you passed your classes and pushed yourself to do better. I graduated May 2014 and I plan to go back to JJAY for my masters. I would recommend JJAY anytime.
  • Alum
  • 21 days ago
I am having an overall good experience at John Jay. The athletics needs to improve and also the gym needs to be updated a bit.
  • Junior
  • 23 days ago
Your undergraduate experience at John Jay will depend on a few factors. One of them is whether you are a daytime or evening student. More services and support are available to daytimers, such as free talks and workshops on a wide array of academic, professional and personal topics. There aren't as many activities and opportunities available to evening students. Professors know their stuff, but not all are good teachers. I found the online classes poor; the professors don’t seem to know how to teach online or use multimedia. Tuition is extremely affordable, so I think you get your money's worth in terms of being able to say you have a degree. John Jay is EXTREMELY active when it comes to doing things in the community related to criminal justice. And the school is respected in that field. If you know you're on a criminal justice path and your schedule permits you to get involved in at least some of the day time activities, you might find the school rates at least a 4.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
John Jay has always been on my list. I wanted to go there to perceive my criminal justice degree since i started high school. I always had a passion for crime fighting, so once I got accepted I felt my dreams came true. The professors here are great, they are all encourages and want to see their students succeed. Some are tough on it but its college, so if you do what you are expected to do you will do just fine. The area is beautiful as well and the people are all so friendly, you can make great long term friends. There is nothing i would change about John Jay.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
The teachers are very into what we are doing , they put things in a way that allows me to understanding what we are learning. The campus is amazing , makes me feel very comfortable.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
I love the professors here because they really challenge you and make you think critically in their classrooms. They really have great programs here if you are interested in a career in the criminal justice field. The fact that I am a senior here is still surprise me because it feels like yesterday I was a freshman. I am really going to miss everyone who help me along the way. Overall, my experience at John Jay was good because you have professors that care about their students future.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
My first time in this college was great. Did enjoy my classes with professors who teach good. Many people in campus to help if needed. I like the fun the college brings with student who have clubs. Also I feel comfortable and safe when in school. Always feel like learning something new in school. Lastly great motivators who help you stay on top of your school work to become successful.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
The opportunities for internships and jobs after graduation are always available with great advisers to help along the way.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
John Jay college for criminal justice is an AWESOME school. There is really a lot of help you can get the staff is great.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
All of my professors are very helpful and always are interested in the class' opinions. They also work with us individually because the classes arent all huge lectures
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Bulliten boards are always full with job internships. Also we have internship fairs every now and then.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I feel very safe on campus because there are trained staff and police patroling campus
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The rooms given to the students arent worth the prices associated
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I love the diversity and the different types of people you meet. The diversity is usually beneficial to the college and students. The college benefits from different club ideas to different types of athletes. The students benefit from meeting different people than theyre used to seeing and expanding their social experience.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
They have the Math and Science resource center which is very popular to do your work at, computer labs, the writing resource center, and the library.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 48
Back to CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice Home