CUNY Hunter College
1,769 reviews
  1. New York, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to CUNY Hunter College Home

Reviews

1,769 reviews
  • Excellent
    264
  • Very Good
    545
  • Average
    722
  • Poor
    135
  • Terrible
    103
You pay 3,390 a semester if you're a resident of New York, thats excluding if you apply to dorm or anything else. You meet nice people but for the most part no one communicates that much. I spent the first couple months of freshman year alone and waiting for someone to come up to me. This college is what you make of it, grow up, get a job and enjoy the city. You'll constantly see your life pass you if you don't take a chance every once and a while. Food is fine but its overpriced. Fair is Three dollars, and so is the pizza (excluding tax and toppings). Overall, its a good college, but don't expect to get off easy because its a CUNY, we do harder work than most privates.
  • Sophomore
  • 16 hours ago
It is really one of the best public colleges available, with some really great and motivational teachers, with really diverse spectrum of students and faculty. Especially if you get a chance to be part of the honors colleges, you have access to the best of the best in academics and opportunities with very little cost.
  • Senior
  • 1 day ago
I love Hunter and am so happy I decided to attend. I love how liberal the school is, and how social justice inclined it is.
What I do have a problem with, however, is the lack of clear help. I actually have no idea who to talk to about even getting an advisor because it wasn't made clear when I first started. There should be a point person students can go to for the basic questions like "where can I get an advisor?"
  • Sophomore
  • 4 days ago
There is a love/hate relationship with this school. Your academic experience all depends on the professors you get. There are some professors who teach well and inspire you. But there are also those where you might as well skip class and learn straight from the textbook. As for the campus, the skybridge and library are nice places, but besides that there is not really much of a campus, though this is partly due to it being a small school in the city. Basically the only thing keeping me are the good professors in the school, but for me that is enough.
  • Sophomore
  • 11 days ago
As a freshman in college, I was quite nervous going into a completely different school and beginning this next significant chapter in my life. I have just completely my first term here at CUNY Hunter College. Hunter's environment has made it extremely easier to adjust to the change from high school to college. It is located in a wonderful and very safe area of New York City with various places to eat and train stations extremely close by. Professors are extremely kind and take care in each and every one of their students. I especially love the fact that there are various different places such as the library, cafeteria, and skywalks in which students can sit down to rest and eat between classes and during gaps. There is still so much to explore here at Hunter, and I am looking forward to the following years to come.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
The education here is great. The teachers know what they are talking about, there are a lot of resources, and it is an affordable education! The school is located by Central Park East and the 6 train takes you directly to the school. Most students commute to school because living on the upper east side can be pricey, but you're in NYC so not living by school isn't a big deal.

The administration and registering for classes can be a nightmare. I have waited on 1-2 hour long lines at the office of admissions and financial aid several times - usually due to an error or oversight by the school. Registering for classes can also be a nightmare since only 1 person does class registration (if she does not like you or she is in a bad mood - good luck!).
  • Alum
  • 19 days ago
Hunter College professors are just as good as any NYC ivy league profs. The sciences departments are great. I enjoyed my studies there and it is the most affordable option next to a community college. I highly recommend Hunter.
  • Alum
  • 25 days ago
At hunter college the students are vast in numbers and that can sometimes take a toll on the professors. Especially professors in the science fields, they have over 100 students and therefor they cannot dedicate as much one on one with the students. In turn the professors have TA's and tutors who help-but sometimes thats just not enough. Hunter expects the students to take action and sometimes teach the work to themselves as a form of independence before entering the work place. I like hunter for the many resources available for students, however in any college there are always changes that can be made to enhance the college years.
  • Junior
  • 25 days ago
Hunter College is a great college with huge diversity which make it great.
The school is improving but sometimes it feels extremely over crowded.
  • Graduate Student
  • 1 month ago
I love the location and how big the college is. There are so many people you can meet! I love not seeing the same faces all the time. One thing I did not like is the priority registration. Everyone gets a different registration date and time and classes fill up fast. Honors, and sports go first. By the time you get your registration date you have the scraps of the classes and sometimes you can't take a bio lab with your biology class. It's sucks. Also advisors and staff aren't much help at all to you.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
So far my experience with the college is great. It is my first year, however. My only concern as of yet would be how often crowded it would get around the escalators (worse, when they don't work) and just slow lines at offices. The campus is also a bit gloomy, wish it could be remodeled somehow. However the atmosphere is very relaxed and the students there are very friendly.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Overall this school is a great one. It has a lot of resources and a lot of majors, but the school itself is a very competitive one. Hunter has many programs you can apply into, but since the school has thousands of kids, you will have a slim chance of getting in if you are not very smart. I still like the school very much because they give you options of many other majors if you do not get into the one you want. It just doesn't seem fair to not have enough spots in a program for everyone.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
Hunter is one of those colleges that you hate when going in, and you continue to hate it as time progresses. The academics are fine when you actually GET the classes you want/need. The overpopulation at Hunter makes it impossible for everyone to graduate on time. There is no Campus life; the school is just too small for anything to take place.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
CUNY Hunter is a great school. Like any college, there are going to be professors of varying capacities for teaching. One salient quality are the resources available to the student. Free writing workshops in preparation for different topics (Research theses, Application Essays, CVs, Resumés). Also a career development office which helps with obtaining internal/external internships and employment. Career development counseling etc. The Student Resource Center where one has access to computers with internet access and free printing. Concerning the student body it is clear the institution has a commitment to diversity having students of numerous ethnicities, creeds, sexual orientations. Also Club life is pretty active having over 500 clubs and sororities/fraternities. You'll be sure to find somewhere to fit in or a group where you can find others of common goals and ambitions.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
Overall Hunter is a great school for the money one pays. It has a lot of improvements, though what you put into it is what you get out.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Hunter college is a school that requires excellence from its students. Many professors that I have had so far, want the best that you could give them regarding participation and effort.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Hunter college is a very diverse school. You will find a variety of cultures in the staff and the student body.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Coming to a commuter school has its ups and downs. At hunter there are a lot of clubs and student activities available. However, it is tiresome to go to the clubs or student activities after a long day of classes. I for example would love to go to the movie nights and student parties that are hosted by the school, however these events are usually at 7 in the night. It would be easier to go if I dormed, but I live all the way in Brooklyn and to go and come back all the way to the city is tedious and not worth it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
The professors are truly passionate. Just so you know, there's a 2 yr language requirement (4 courses needed), you can only transfer High school language credits if you took the SAME language for 4 years straight. So for example, if you took 3 yrs in Chinese, it wont count!
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
Pretty sure most of the parties are off-campus.
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 89
Back to CUNY Hunter College Home