CUNY College of Staten Island
881 reviews
  1. Staten Island, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to CUNY College of Staten Island Home

Reviews

881 reviews
  • Excellent
    97
  • Very Good
    298
  • Average
    372
  • Poor
    58
  • Terrible
    56
i liked college of staten islands campus. it is very big and well maintained. the advisers do a great job on helping the students to the next step and making things a lot easier for them. i would like them to add more classes and go into more dept with specific courses.
  • Freshman
  • 7 days ago
I love the campus. It's absolutely beautiful. I like the classes, but they didn't have the major I want to study: Music Therapy. It's a newer field, so not many colleges have it (only two in New York have this major). It would be nice to be able to go to a college that won't cost me $30,000 a year to study what I want
  • Freshman
  • 15 days ago
What I most liked about CSI were the great professors I had, particularly those in the history department. I'd like to see a more expanded library.
  • Graduate Student
  • 21 days ago
All of the students and faculty are very welcoming helpful. Search for teachers who will inspire their students to do their best and apply themselves to their full capacity. The campus is large and the food is a little on the pricey side. There's always campus events going on and it's easy to join clubs and make friends. There's never a boring time on campus.
  • Junior
  • 1 month ago
Located in the middle of Staten Island. It has a beautiful 208 acre campus. The school offers so many different majors. Depending on the program the professors are great. It as student housing.
  • Alum
  • 1 month ago
CUNY College of Staten Island is an optimistic school. The students are filled with lots of energy. The professors are wonderful. Usually parties take place on Thursday nights, but people throw their own events on the side. I love this school. Their dorms, especially Dolphin Cove are super clean and diversed. It's a fantastic environment.
  • Niche User
  • 2 months ago
I truly do enjoy the faculty of the school. Everyone in each of the offices that I have been to as well as most departments have been very nice and helpful. No matter the question or the concern they have someone who provides me with the necessary information. One thing that I'd like to see changed, although certainly not a big concern, is the time slots of certain higher level classes such as Microbiology and Anatomy two. As a student who also has a job I would like more choices in the classes to balance all of this.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I really enjoyed my time at CSI. I got to join a national honors society which helped me to branch out and network with others in my peer group. There are so many teams and clubs to chose from and you have the ability to create your own if none are to your liking. They genuinely embrace individuality on this campus. Some of the professors are real scholars and professionals in their departments. They make learning fun and not a complete drag. Overall good experience, and along the way I've made some lifelong friends.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
So far the experience has been fair, no very difficult assignments but you have to study of the exams and put effort into your homework assignment.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The teachers are very motivated and dedicated towards student success. The administration and Bursar do have some issues, especially when it comes to making schedules and enrolling you in the classes you need to graduate in time. However, the overall environment is very friendly and the campus is very spacious.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The more proactive you are the better your experience will be, if you put effort not connecting with professors and visit the career and scholarship center your future will be brighter. There aren't many opportunities to be recruited on campus or to gain access to the alumni network.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
although 2 out of the 4 semesters I've attended this school i wasn't able to take the classes i wanted because the course was full to capacity, despite that my experience has been great. early registration is the key to a successful year, there are more than enough seats in each lecture for everyone.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Public safety is accessible, i feel safe most of the time even when its extremely late because there are blue help-stations every few feet all over campus and public safety makes rounds 24/7.The campus community is relatively trustworthy and respectful. Dry campus does not allow drinking regardless of age and no one i know has been raped on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
On campus housing is one of the main reasons students choose CSI, the apartments are new and luxurious. The campus is very secure and well maintained.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Greek life in not endorsed by the cuny system and is therefore very unofficial and easy to get into, they don't do much to boost your college career or volunteer experience. They are great for gaining a larger social circle.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Campus intramural's puts effort into involving students in games, they give out free tickets to Mens &Womens basketball games that include free tee-shirts and snack vouchers. There are a lot of students that play on the volleyball and baseball teams here, I would say these are the two most popular sports at the college.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
CUNY CSI is okay, borderline great! However it used to be a commuter universityand is now transitioning and adapting to on campus student life. its still growing and developing..you get out of it what you put in
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I love CSI. It is such a nice environment. The teachers are all generally pretty good. So many of them are understanding if you have work or something going on that is important and need more on an assignment or to study for a test. A lot of people think that academically it is a weak school but it is not. We have a drama professor that also teaches at NYU... thats the same education as an NYU student but at a much cheaper price! That was just an example to prove a point. Either way I think the student makes the most of any experience.
  • Senior
  • 4 months ago
can always call security for transport if feel unsafe
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
it just feels like a standard process
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 45
Back to CUNY College of Staten Island Home