CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College
1,310 reviews
  1. New York, NY
  2. 2 Year
Back to CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College Home

Reviews

1,310 reviews
  • Excellent
    217
  • Very Good
    476
  • Average
    503
  • Poor
    76
  • Terrible
    38
The school is better than people think it is, all my prof have been great and the offices of every department are extremely helpful. The new Fiterman building is amazing and state of the art everything!
  • Freshman
  • 7 days ago
I just finished my first semester at Borough of Manhattan Community College and it was a better experience than I expected it to be. You definitely have to earn your grade, work hard, focus on school work but also make sure to stay active on campus because although many people go here it can be hard to make friends, so try joining a club or two. BMCC also tries to keep students involved around campus by having student events 2-3 times a week, and offer great opportunities for students to attend different events around the city that they might not know of. Many people say that it's not possible to graduate from here in two years, if you fall behind (in terms of credits) be willing to study abroad or take winter/summer classes to catch up! BMCC is truly what you make of it.
  • Freshman
  • 13 days ago
BMCC is a great school, there are many professors that care about their students. However, there are also some who do not show and or little interest to help their students achieve success. BMCC has many gems, but it's up to the student to find who they are.
  • Graduate Student
  • 22 days ago
At the beginning I felt lost, but when you mee the the right people depending on your academic interest you can do even better.
  • Graduate Student
  • 24 days ago
Cuny Borough of Manhattan community college is Beautiful. All the staff that work there that I came across are very helpful. I love attending there. :)
  • Senior
  • 24 days ago
Very diverse, student life services are horrible though. The professors are great! Utilize the resources such as tutors because those are also great. The student government on the other hand is not so great.
  • Alum
  • 24 days ago
Sometimes it can be great and other times, I question "Are these people working together?" because it's not very organized at times. (especially during advisement and registration) Take advantage of the programs offered here.
  • Junior
  • 24 days ago
It was okay I've had better ones, just need to work harder! Need better professors. Time management is very important when it comes to college.
  • Sophomore
  • 25 days ago
There are many bright professors here, a lot of potential around the school with their programs if you're willing to put the effort. What is a sad downside is most students don't care and act like it is still high school. These are the students that make the school look bad, I know it's a community college, but with the potential it has it can truly be a great school.
  • Alum
  • 25 days ago
I am going through all the big bureaucratic system which is harsh. I would like to see less bureaucratic barriers and more help from staff to go through those horrible procedures. I would recommend make less bureaucratic restrictions for students. In my opinion, so many bureaucratic procedures waist time of students, decreases productivity and efficiency of their activity.
Basically, I like the diversity of college.
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
My first semester at bmcc was not my best, I wasn't completely ready for the full college experience. I didn't know how I was supposed to pick my courses or I wasn't sure of what professors to choose. As the semesters went on my experience because much better, now being in my last semester I am happy that I chose Bmcc as my stepping stone. It has a great criminal justice program and the professors are amazing!! The advisor that I received had to be the best advisor I have ever had throughout my whole school experience!! I am happy with my experience at Bmcc and It prepared me for college and for moving on to completing my bachelors degree!
  • Senior
  • 1 month ago
Borough of Manhattan College is one of the best community college that I have ever been to. I love this college because it's really beautiful, safe, and interesting. I love to prefer BMCC to all the students. One of the best college to go to and open space for you to breath.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
Some of the professors really love their job at bmcc & try their absolute best to prepare you for a 4 year school.
  • Senior
  • 3 months ago
I like the simple website. It's easy to locate the things you're looking for. There are a lot of options for scholarships. Looking for something easy to do? They have it. They also have scholarships that are worth a lot for some more extra work, if you have the time to do it.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
The professors assume all students area right out of high school. If you are returning to college, you will be treated like a recent high school graduate until you have a one on one meeting with them. Since being able to meet with your professor is not always possible as a working adult, letting your professors know your situation may not happen.
  • Alum
  • 3 months ago
BMCC is a great school because they offer alot guidance and it's really affordable. If you ever have trouble with anything BMCC is there to help.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Never tried it but heard it was the best
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
My academic exprience at this school has been a roller coaster but my learning a lot.
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
Love this school and the people in it
  • College Senior
  • 4 months ago
It's great so far everywhere I go they always have programs for people that want to prusue jobs and for there careers they give people help for mostly everything.
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 66
Back to CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College Home