CUNY Baruch College
1,033 reviews
  1. New York, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to CUNY Baruch College Home

Reviews

1,033 reviews
  • Excellent
    164
  • Very Good
    396
  • Average
    346
  • Poor
    75
  • Terrible
    52
We come from all different sorts of places, I think Baruch prides themselves with being diverse. The teachers care about the students and everyone is so willing to help each other out, it's only been my first year here and the adjustment wasn't hard for me. Keep on top of deadlines and the school year passes by in a breeze.
  • Freshman
  • 2 days ago
Baruch College is an overall great college. It is a pretty large college in terms of number of undergraduate students. There is a wide range of clubs to join. I've never had any issues with any professor, and pretty much all of them have time outside of their class if you need help. It is located in NYC, so there are tons of things to do around campus. Tuition is a great plus.
  • Sophomore
  • 8 days ago
Great college for bussiness oriented careers. Various bussiness clubs. Various professors and classes. I would love to see the college offer korean courses as i would like to minor in that subject. The one thing to consider when choosing this college is the importance of networking.
  • Sophomore
  • 22 days ago
Baruch is one of the best CUNY schools. There are a lot of problems due to lack of funding, but that is to be expected with a CUNY school. Student life tries to give the students a lot of opportunities to have fun and make friends.
  • Junior
  • 22 days ago
Baruch College offers students who wish to pursue a profession in business, accounting, finance, and computer information systems.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The school offer many opportunities for its students. Attending Baruch you'll have a drive to be successful with all that is to offer. The con about the school is just the administration; they are never open to helping students. But overall it's a good school.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
How baruch sets up classes for all freshman allowed me to connect with others. Everyone is friendly and loves making connections.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Baruch College is great, but it is definitely a really small school, which is not bad because everyone are able to interact.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
Baruch is a school where a lot of friendships are made. In class if anyone seems awfully quiet that person is tried to be brought into the group and conversation. It is truly a community. Walking in there is much diversity. Going up the first steps you will 9 times out of 10 meet a person that is promoting a club or study and encouraging you to try it. Lunch time is the best time to get lost because you will be surely found by someone who could turn out to be your very best friend for the next four years to last a lifetime. Just picture walking into a jungle where there are the beautiful bright colored birds with soft feathers, monkeys swinging on the trees, bright flowers and grass you want to grasp, sweet silence by the river and noise as the tigers chase one another, it is a sight of wonder and amusement you won't want to miss. It is an inspiring place where love and passion floats in the air, a place you dream of but do not believe exists, that is what Baruch is.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Baruch College is a great choice if you're interested in business and want to go to an affordable in-state city college. It definitely is the greatest when it comes to campus activities for a CUNY. It's incredibly involved and always lively. It makes going to a commuter school worth it.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
First I would like to say that I am generally a very optimistic individual, so honestly could not speak too poorly about Baruch College. There are positives and negatives to every situation though, and this much be acknowledged. The negatives at Baruch are clear. A quick negatives list: student life is poor--not many people desire to get involved. THERE IS NO MEAL PLAN. You will have to work on budgeting your money. Distance from school if you live in the dorms (again, not terrible though). Academics are difficult, but this can be seen as good or bad. Positives: The dorms are really great, the majority of my friends live here. Definitely a very good set up for Manhattan. Baruch College is a fantastic option for those who desire a business degree. I have met very outstanding, personable professors, although some are clearly better than others. I have made life long friends and have made unbelievable memories. I liked Baruch, but I do plan on transferring for personal reasons.
  • Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Very crowded. Dorms are very expensive. Classes are hard. Not much help for international students. However, very diverse.
  • Junior
  • 4 months ago
It's alright here. It could be worse. A handful of professors are real gems; others are just there to adhere to the rules and get their paycheck. God help you if you have to file any sort of documents, because bureaucracy will stop you at every opportunity. The student body tends to be very career-oriented, which is far better than apathetic. I've basically learned to grin and bear it.
  • Senior
  • 4 months ago
I've never seen a problem with health or crimes at college. There's a lot of people who drink and do drugs however.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I don't know much about campus housing; I dorm at home.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I generally don't care for greek life, but there are many business oriented groups.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I don't really have much to say about the athletics since I'm not really athletic myself.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The experience at college isn't so bad as a incoming freshman, but I feel like it's kinda hard to transition from high school to college work. The textbook work is very boring and monotonous. The staff and teachers are generally very friendly however, and the people seem like a delight.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
You cannot go to this school without first being vaccinated for certain diseases and submitting the proof of immunity to the school so that is very huge. The restrooms use motion detectors for their toilets, sinks, soap dispensers, and hand dryers but you still have to open the doors by hand. However, they are currently upgrading all of their equipment so maybe the doors will be replaced as well. There are a lot of campus security guards inside all of the campus buildings as well outside along with NYPD foot patrol that regularly walk between the 23rd and 25th street campus buildings. Whenever there is a security concern for the city (like rowdy protests or the recent bomb attempts) then a lot more armored guards are visible all around campus. You cannot get inside any of the school buildings without a school ID card and all of these access points have several guards closely watching them. I've been at this school for 3 semesters now and haven't seen or heard about any attempted rapes, sexual assaults, or fights of any kind around campus so this is a pretty safe school. I can leave my phone and other personal items at my desk in the library or computer lab for hours and not worry about someone taking it (aside from one of the staff that will move it to the lost and found if they pass by several times and notice the item(s) still there at the end of their shift). These spots also have multiple security cameras so if someone does steal your stuff then it is very easy track down who took it since their camera resolution is HD from what I've seen.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Career prospects are extremely high if you are a business student here. Hundreds of employers actively recruit students for jobs and internships on campus every year including big names like Citibank, JP Morgan, Bank of America, Bloomberg, IBM, Con Edison, S&P Global, Victoria 's Secret, etc. The alumni is very connected and a lot of the professors themselves are still full-time employees at various firms while teaching as a side job and are more than happy to give firsthand advice about their workplace, connect you with people inside that may be able to help you get in, and offer you opportunities if you've been a good student. The school also offers an internship program that does it's best to connect you with opportunities specific to your interests as well as international opportunities if you want to study abroad. Overall, it's very hard not to get a single job/internship offer here unless you simply don't apply to anything or your grades are extremely bad.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
  • 1 of 52
Back to CUNY Baruch College Home