Culinary Institute of America
754 reviews
  1. Hyde Park, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Culinary Institute of America Home

Reviews

754 reviews
  • Excellent
    224
  • Very Good
    302
  • Average
    194
  • Poor
    22
  • Terrible
    12
Choosing the CIA, was one of the toughest but also best chosen decision I´ve ever made. I enjoy living at the campus, many people who studied at the CIA used to tell me it was their favorite years of their life, I´m starting to believe it. The landscape is amazing and all my friends are super, we have similar interest and we all love doing lots of new things. The teachers are great, food is perfect and in few words. I love cooking, I love CIA.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The CIA is an amazing culinary school, the chefs who work there are very good and willing to help all students. When it comes to studies outside the culinary side the professors are very good, however sometimes they focus to much on culinary instead of general school knowledge.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
The staff and all the students are unified as a big student body. they encourage students to find staff to help with their overall college experience. The school is also very diverse.
  • Junior
  • 3 months ago
I loved this school! I had a blast and I just arrived at this school! This is an amazing school and the teachers at the best there is. We have the most Master Chefs teaching at this school. And the food is amazing, the smell just dances around your nose tempting you. I learned so much in the kitchen in just a short amount of time. I love it here and hope to have more fun in the kitchen and learning new techniques that can further my culinary experience!
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Keeps you busy, opens many great oppertunities
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
rescheduling classes causes your graduation date to change, missing three classes is a fail in the class. Not fair, needs to be changed
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I dont have much experience with this service, but i know that throughout my externship it was terrible. My career counselor was rude, and never actually helped me with what i needed. I had an awful experience and needed counseling on what to do, but she gave up on me and forced me to go through it on my own.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Chefs are amazing and knowledgeable, they love teaching and make classes exciting and fun. Professors in academic classes are not as great, many dont seem as though they carfe, and dont do enough to help their students understand the things they are learning.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I feel as though i am prepaired for any sort of work i want to go into. the extrnship was rough, and the restaurants dont treat you as though you have the experiance that you do, i think the externship should be changed so that each student should be working on an actual station, not just as prep cooks, because many have forgotten their training after externship. the job fairs are amazing and help a lot with looking for a job.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I have learned everything i need to know to work in any restaurant, high end or not.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Going through the associates degree program was stressful, over whelming and amazing. Chefs push you to your limits and then over them by 100 miles. If you arent sure about a life in the culinary field, dont waste your time applying. Teachers and chefs were so amazing. administration is aweful, they forgot about me my last six weeks, i didnt get my diploma on time, and they didnt even know i was graduating. Emails take about a month to be responded to, and voice mails are never responded to.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
From walking around campus to dorm life food, food and food education are everywhere. I would not trade this school for the world. At the Culinary Institute of America, the students are not just all studying our majors. The students are a diverse community of food enthesiasts and food professionals all living and moving forward towards one common goal. Before coming to this school I felt like something was missing, some part of me was missing and I had not discovered it yet. Going to the CIA was and still feels like coming home. The chefs although very rough are very helpful and want to see us succeed, the professors all wrote the books they teach us from, and the residence life staff plans food events and tasting for the students like 3 times a week for example on October 2nd, 2016 we are having a chili cook off for the entire student population to compete at, and for the public to try too!
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Management is probably the hardest but it can be a very fufulling for those who know that's what they want to do in life
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
It's very hard and you will have a lot of work ahead of you but the education is fantastic and very useful for your future career goals
  • College Freshman
  • 5 months ago
It's great because my experience was great but I would have liked to have had a better schedule that would allow me to work during the week. Transferring credits was easy.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I haven't had that much experience with post-grad services since I haven't graduated from my bachelor's degree.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Our chefs have so much experience and they genuinely want us to succeed and that makes class so much better because they are there to help guide you through this though and very hands on career. The quality of classes was great because we touched on every point of being a pastry chef and that was very important. For example we had a bread class, a chocolate class, a sugar confectionery class, amodern entremets class, and a classical cakes class. We also had some management classes and then some real experience by working in a student run cafe. Class sizes were small about 25 which was actually big for the small size of the bake shop.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I think student career prospects are great but we also have to do our own work and find a great place to work and advance in. The alumni network only really exists in the Hyde Park, NY campus and not that much in the San Antonio one. The quality of employers was good although I think some bakeries or other small cafes and businesses could be added to make it even better. We had career fairs at school so that was a good place to talk to employers.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
My first semester were the basics but they had to to with my career so instead of history we had gastronomy and learned about the history of food. After that it was all hands on classes were we were baking on a daily basis or making something. It's unique because you are working with equipment that you would out in the field so your experience is that much better. You also have the opportunity to externship between your first and second year where you get even more experience in the field.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
My overall experience was great it was a lot of hard work but it was well worth it in the end.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 38
Back to Culinary Institute of America Home