Cottey College
159 reviews
  1. Nevada, MO
  2. 4 Year
Back to Cottey College Home

Reviews

159 reviews
  • Excellent
    22
  • Very Good
    78
  • Average
    49
  • Poor
    7
  • Terrible
    3
It's the worst school for colored people. I was treated different, and I was discriminated at all the time. If you are outgoing and like city life and not Caucasian DO NOT apply to this school
  • Alum
  • 3 months ago
They put a lot of emphasis on preparing students for their careers at Cottey. There are plenty of classes, lectures, and other activities aimed towards students looking for career advice.
  • College Junior
  • 8 months ago
All of the professors are determined that you should succeed in their classroom and the outside world. They are willing to make it work for you if are a good student.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
The alumni network is incredible, and so is the P.E.O. Sisterhood. Without them, Cottey would not be as special as it is. The support from these groups is beyond amazing; whenever they come to visit campus, they always let the students know that they are rooting for them.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
While many of the classes are small, there are few general classes, such as freshman writing courses that tend to have a little more than average. However, I have never had more than 18 people in class. The professors here are incredibly. As long as you are a dependable and responsible student, they are more than willing to work with you.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
I love, love, love Cottey College. The small class sizes are amazing because my professors know exactly who I am. I don't just exist as a name to them. Also, the suite living is great too. I've met so many amazing people that I wouldn't have gotten to meet if I had gone to a big university. It's also nice to have a home away from home. Everyone here is extremely nice and helpful, so it isn't hard to find someone to assist you if you really need it.
  • College Freshman
  • 9 months ago
i'm going through that right now. the whole affair has been a disaster and i spent all nights in agony
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
classes that are offered here are good, overall, but variety + quantity of classes is lacking, especially in the newer 4 year programs, like environmental studies, international relations, international business, etc.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
the peos who run the school/alumni are very willing to help, so theres a lot of networking opportunities through them, but not so much elsewhere. renee hampton is great but theres only so much you can do when the school's in the middle of nowhere/theres nothing going on
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
heavy workload all the time, sometimes it feels like you're banging your head against the wall. since there's nothing to do in good ol' nevada mo, teachers expect that you won't have anything to do but homework, which is unfortunate. many also have strict attendance policies and grading requirements. many people drop out as freshman b/c of the stress.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
it's a good school for getting a 2 yr degree/as a transfer school, but not for 4 years. there aren't many internships around because the school's in the middle of nowhere, but the curriculum is challenging and the teachers are sharp. limited resources makes things difficult however.
  • College Sophomore
  • 9 months ago
Alumna and PEO networks are both very helpful and widely accessible. Our career center often focuses on certain types of careers/jobs but there are always opportunities and there is always help for more specified careers/fields when one asks.
  • College Senior
  • 10 months ago
Although Cottey does not carry my degree, I am still able to get experience by working in their Career Closet, doing costuming for the dance company, and networking with other women in my field of study. Every girl can benefit from an education here!
  • College Senior
  • 10 months ago
Cottey College is an incredible institution that opens doors for young women everywhere. Cottey has inspired me to become a strong, independent woman who encourages other young women instead of tearing them down. I feel incredibly cared about and looked after here at Cottey.
  • College Senior
  • 10 months ago
As a freshman, the first semester was a learning experience and I had to get used to the new teaching style in college. However, the classes are interesting and I had no issues learning from the professors.
  • College Junior
  • Jan 8 2016
I love the atmosphere here at Cottey. Everyone is very friendly and the teachers are understanding and willing to help you if you need it. The food is great and the traditions are unique and fun. It's a great school! The only thing I dislike somewhat is that it's a smaller school in a smaller town, but I knew that when I chose to come here. The good far outweighs the bad in my opinion!
  • College Junior
  • Jan 8 2016
I take classes not actually needed for my degree but they are great for my bachelor's degree once I transfer. There is frustration because of the small class sizes they fill up quickly but it isn't too terrible. Transferring credits is really easy.
  • College Junior
  • Dec 29 2015
The career center helps you a lot. The alumnae network is probably the best in the US. The job prospects are outstanding.
  • College Junior
  • Dec 29 2015
Job/internship prospects are really good. Many employers hire Cottey students because they know that we have had a quality education. The alumnae network is amazing. They send all students care packages (depending on the state) and we have several events during the year that the alumnae are encouraged to come to as well as coming whenever they choose to. The recruiting isn't' the best but it is pretty good. The career center is great. They help you with every aspect of trying to get a job.
  • College Junior
  • Dec 29 2015
Not all of the professors are great, but that's what student reviews are for. The courses however, are great and you do learn quite a bit. There are classes offered in many subject areas, they're small, and mostly structured the same but they can be diverse.
  • College Junior
  • Dec 29 2015
  • 1 of 8
Back to Cottey College Home