Cornell University
1,730 reviews
  1. Ithaca, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Cornell University Home

Reviews

1,730 reviews
  • Excellent
    325
  • Very Good
    639
  • Average
    582
  • Poor
    104
  • Terrible
    47
I absolutely loved Cornell's campus. The nature found all around campus is so beautiful, especially the waterfall. I got a very calm feeling while walking around Cornell and noticed a lot of diversity. The tour guides were very thorough and provided me with all the information I needed. However, I would have liked to view the dormitories on the tour. Overall, I had a wonderful experience at Cornell and will definitely apply there.
  • Niche User
  • 12 hours ago
Cornell's beautiful campus and great resources make Cornell one of the better ivies. In my opinion the air of pretension is much less compared to other ivy league schools. Though I only spent a Summer there for a Telluride program, I witnessed great programs and student activities. I'd definitely recommend others to visit the campus.
  • Niche User
  • 1 day ago
Professors are the leaders in their field, and almost never fail to inspire me almost every class. Classes and workload are insane and require a lot of work (if you are in one of the "good" colleges like College of Arts and Sciences and College of Engineering). Very little free time, but endless opportunities. If you are in one of the contract colleges, you will have all of the time in the world (AG. and Life Sciences, ILR, etc.) You still graduate with a Cornell Diploma, but acceptance rates are far higher than the private colleges. Those in the competitive colleges will most likely look down on you if you are in a contract college.
  • College Junior
  • 6 days ago
Administration genuinely cares for student's well being and offers plenty of resources for those in need of help.
  • College Junior
  • 6 days ago
West Campus is the best. No RA's that monitor your every move, food is ranked #3 in the nation, and the Gothics are just gorgeous.
  • College Junior
  • 6 days ago
No one really cares about Varsity sports...except for hockey! Games are well attended and loads of fun. Some of my best memories at Cornell are at Lynah rink.
  • College Junior
  • 6 days ago
I could not imagine being anywhere else. Endless opportunities, if you are willing to work for it...
  • College Junior
  • 6 days ago
Cornell is an excellent and incredibly scenic university, and I'm thrilled every day that I was given the opportunity to study here. I'm a student at the School of Hotel Administration, which was recently rated as the best hotel/hospitality management program in the world--if Hotel Administration is your passion, this is the place to come. The professors at Cornell are highly educated and at the top of their respective fields. This can be either a blessing or a curse. My freshman year, I had one professor who, despite having spent so much time in school and receiving an extraordinary amount of degrees and allocades, was seemingly unable to teach the subject to freshman with no prior knowledge. On the contrary, many professors who are at the top of their fields are fascinating. It is not uncommon for innovative (tech) companies to pitch their new projects to Cornellians, or for extremely high profile individuals to show up unanounced and lead lectures. I won't disclose any more here; my ratings and reviews relating to specific aspects of student life here at Cornell are better placed in their respective sections.
  • College Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
I am often out on campus very late at night, coming back from office hours or the library. I have very rarely felt unsafe and never, ever actually BEEN in an unsafe environment. The campus is well lit, especially major areas where people walk, and there are always people around at all hours. There are Blue Light phones that connect you to the police all over the place, you can see one from anywhere on campus. Every week, the police chief sends out an email to all the students with comments about things that are going on around the world, in Ithaca and on campus. Often these emails are funny and lighthearted, demonstrating the very personal relationship the CUPD has with students on campus.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Living on campus at Cornell is pretty typical for the first two years. After that, people tend to move off campus. The best places to live freshman year are the townhouses, Mews, and Court-Kay-Bauer. These buildings are all new, have air conditioning, great amenities like pool tables and foosball, and are pretty spacious. Next best would probably be Dickson, a very social dorm that has a lot of singles. Balch (the the all girls dorm), the high rises/Jameson, and the low rises are oaky. Other than Balch, there all pretty social and it's easy to meet new people. The perk of Balch is it's the closest to classes and Central campus. The worst option for freshman housing is Donlon. The rooms are small, it's always filthy and there's always people shouting all night.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Greek life consists of around 35 percent of the Cornell undergraduate population, but that number is skewed based on gender, since a larger percentage of girls join sororities than guys join fraternities. Greek life is a way of life for those who join and it becomes the majority of their social interaction. Many sororities have mixers 2 or 3 times a week, meaning the commitment is very demanding on top of classwork. The outsider perception of Greek life at Cornell is relatively negative. Cornell is an incredibly diverse school, with more than half the undergraduate population identifying as non-white. However, Cornell's Greek life system (particularly the fraternities and upper-tier sororities) is mostly made up of white students. There are individual exceptions to this, but as a whole inclusion is an issue that the mars the Greek system's image.
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Students at Cornell generally prioritize academics over athletics. Cornell is in the Ivy League, which means it can't give scholarships for athletic performance. For this reason, varsity athletes are first and foremost students. Most students do not regularly attend sporting events or even know when or where they are. The exception to this is Cornell Big Red Hockey. Students fill Lynah Rink every home game and enthusiastically cheer on their home team. Hockey games are full of traditions and rituals, such as throwing fish on the ice every time we play Harvard. It is highly encouraged that everyone attend at least one hockey game during their time at Cornell
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
My experience at Cornell had been a whirlwind of endless opportunities. It has absolutely had it's ups and downs, with times where the stress and fast pace of classes seems to be unbearable, but usually when that happens a break was right around the corner and there was time to catch up. All the students at this school, from the engineers to the Hotelies, are used to being the top of their class in high school. It takes some getting used to learn that not everyone can be the best at this university. That being said, Cornell can offer you the change to truly impact the world in whatever field you pursue. Your plant science degree with lead to cutting edge research, your business major with give you connections others need years to build and your engineering degree will give you your choice of career straight out of college. But that diploma does not come easy, you will have to work relentlessly for four years to earn it (five years if you're studying architecture!). Looking back to choosing this university my senior year of high school, I wouldn't change a thing. My experience has been far from perfect: I've experienced failure just like the rest of my peers. I'm not, however, the same person I was in high school and this is a good thing. Cornell has changed me for the better and I highly recommend you let it do the same to you!
  • College Junior
  • 2 months ago
Overall, I have enjoyed my experience here. I made a lot of friends, and the scenery is beautiful. However, the academics are very tough, and can often feel like a pressure cooker, especially during exams.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I think I will be able to secure a job after graduation.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I generally feel safe on campus, but there have been several sexual assault cases within the last year.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Balch Hall is one of the best housing options for girls. It is an all-girls dorm, and the social atmosphere is great. The community is really tight-knit, and there are many activities for residents to participate in every week. The Tatkon Center downstairs is definitely an added bonus, with a cafe to buy a quick bite to eat and some study spaces.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
There are a lot of Greek houses. A large number of people are involved in Greek life. There are a large variety of Greek organizations.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
The hockey team is supposedly very good. The football team rarely wins. There is a lot of school spirit all around.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I made a lot of friends. I was able to get help when I needed it; I had some very caring TAs. The scenery is beautiful, and there is a lot of nature to look at. The food was relatively good, and the ice cream was amazing. Expect to walk a lot. Some negatives include the high cost of attending, the lack of adequate housing beyond the first year, and the rural setting. Large lecture halls and the large class size may make some students feel insignificant.
  • College Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
  • 1 of 85
Back to Cornell University Home