Cornell College
685 reviews
  1. Mount Vernon, IA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Cornell College Home

Reviews

685 reviews
  • Excellent
    67
  • Very Good
    233
  • Average
    282
  • Poor
    64
  • Terrible
    39
Cornell is a small family school. You get close with your peers and I just love how small the town and school is.
  • Freshman
  • 8 days ago
I love it! The small community and the willingness of the the faculty. I think ensuring a good campus climate and giving more financial aid can help.
  • Senior
  • 14 days ago
I love Cornell and wouldn't want to go anywhere else. This doesn't mean I'm blind to its major flaws, but the good outweighs the bad.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I don't know much about this since I haven't graduated yet but it seems like I'll get a job...?
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
the sexual assault policies need serious work. campus safety does not deal with things well and has been incredibly detrimental to many of my friends.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
It could be worse, it could be better. Air conditioning for upperclassmen would be nice.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
Greek life is very important and there is a noticeable divide between greeks and non-greeks. Because we aren't nationally affiliated, the groups feel very unique to Cornell.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
I don't do sports so I cannot comment on this much. I like the gym in the Commons. No one cares about the sports teams but the sports people and their gangs.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
The students and professors here truly make the entire experience. If I were reviewing based solely on the administration I would say not to go here, but because students run so many aspects of the school- it feels like home and as if there is a true sense of community throughout campus.
  • College Junior
  • 4 months ago
They have many different things going on at night but I'm usually asleep.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Their are lots of parties that go one, I don't think all of them have alcohol. I don't party, so I wouldn't have first hand experience with it.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
They have many different classes on all different subjects and with the one course at a time, it really enables students to dig down and really grasp what they're learning.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I come from an area in Michigan that fits the stereotypical upper-middle class of predominantly white outlook. Everybody here wears designer outfits and drives nice cars and quite frankly are pretentious snobs. As soon as I arrived at Cornell for my visit during my senior year of high school, I immediately knew that I didn't have to pretend to be that kind of person anymore. I could be exactly who I wanted to be and everyone has been fantastic for me so far. Not to mention the One Course At A Time is amazing. Admittedly, difficult to adjust to but once I got the hang of it I never want to switch back to a traditional schedule. Being an athlete out there as well provides an even better and more in-depth experience. I get to see and interact with some parts of the school that those who aren't athletes aren't able to. I can't wait to go back!
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
It all depends on your RA there's RAs that will literally hunt for someone to call th cops on saw it like 4 times over the dumbest things.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
All of them are fake. Literally they aren't nationally known due to people getting their feelings hurt over he idea of being excluded from a group even though that's basically what a fraternity/sorority entails so just dumb.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
It's getting there... A lot more money is FINALLY being invested into the major programs like football and a few others.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Everyone is usually really tollerant.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
If you wanted to drink and do drugs, you can find them.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
The employers often confuse us with the other more famous Cornell, which is both a bless and a curse.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Love the small class sizes and the professors are really attentive to students. Most of the classes I have taken are really interesting and engaging. In Bio classes we get to go on a lot of field trips.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 35
Back to Cornell College Home