Columbia College Chicago
2,386 reviews
  1. Chicago, IL
  2. 4 Year
Back to Columbia College Chicago Home

Reviews

2,386 reviews
  • Excellent
    510
  • Very Good
    803
  • Average
    770
  • Poor
    167
  • Terrible
    136
This school is really what you make of it. You have access to any resource you could possibly want, not to mention the opportunity to connect and network with your peers and your instructors who know people in every field. If you want to learn and you want to get something for your money, you certainly can do that at Columbia. The price you pay for the education you will get is so worth the money.
  • Sophomore
  • 20 hours ago
When I was 15, I stumbled upon a recommended college called Columbia. They were an arts focused school, which automatically got me hooked. Since arriving to Columbia, I have never felt more at home. The teachers and atmosphere are both welcoming. I felt like the students actually cared about why they were there.
  • Freshman
  • 2 days ago
If you don't really know what you want to do, don't go here. But if you are truly passionate about your art this is an incredible school, with supportive professors, dedicated students, and an unbelievably cool campus. There are so many places and resources at columbia that will inspire you to create. My only complaint would be the tuition, but honestly what university doesn't have that problem?
  • Freshman
  • 11 days ago
I love this school so much! The people, the location, the classes and the dorms. It's really great. It's not your typical college and that's what I love about it, I feel like I'm in the real world. Your classes are small so you're able to have meaningful discussions with your classmates and all my professors have been really good. If the arts is something you want to go for, check this school out. Yes its expensive but honestly what college isn't these days. You're getting what you pay for and you're in the heart of Chicago as your playground. Work hard and apply for scholarships if your serious about this school and I'm sure you'll be able to figure it out. It's truly amazing!
  • Freshman
  • 12 days ago
What I like the most about Columbia College Chicago is the amount of possibilities it offers. There are many different majors to choose from which makes for a wide variety of academics. You are able to collaborate with students from all types of majors and it's a wonderful thing to be able to work together with peers.

The school is right in the midst of the city of Chicago, which is unlike any campus I've ever seen. I think many people get used to the idea of continuing their education at a traditional campus, but being in the city while attending school has helped me grow so much as not only a student, but a person overall. I've learned how to travel through the city and have learned crucial communicate skills by being around a huge, diverse group of people daily. These are skill you can only learn by being in the mix of city itself and I would have never experienced those skills if I wasn't attending Columbia.
  • Freshman
  • 12 days ago
There are some amazing teachers but also a lot of terrible teachers. This school is extremely overpriced, offers an very limited amount of scholarships to help students, terrible financial aid, and courses tend to be too easy. Budget cuts has really hurt this school.
  • Senior
  • 12 days ago
I attended the campus tour in August of 2016 along with my mom and other family members. It was everything I could image and more. Chicago in it self was amazing from the people to the all of the sites to see. Since I attend an Arts high school. It was perfect for me. It seemed as if I was still at my high school but on a bigger level. Everything is in the heart of Chicago. Everything you need is right around you. The tour guide was very helpful and informative. The apartment's where the best. It felt like I was already there. My mom told me. This is so you and that she would be happy if I went. I will be going for vocal music and the music department is amazing. The class rooms are small which is great. I will always remember the tour guide. He was great and explain things to us really well. I knew this was where my heart was and I'm so glad I had the chance to go.
  • Niche User
  • 13 days ago
Columbia College Chicago teache student about how creative they can be and helps us express our artistic values towards anything and anyone. My experience made me be open and value my talent for drawing more.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
I am an older undergraduate student. I have a career and seeking to reinvent my career and to do that I need to return to school. The school and the program I am seeking to complete is at Columbia College. I am seeking to be an ASL interpreter. My initial college experience some 30 years ago was at Columbia College. Columbia College is worth the do over.
  • Freshman
  • 20 days ago
So far so good. I am a first semester freshman going to second semester. But what I like about columbia college chicago is that professors always respond back with an answer if you have a dought about something.
  • Freshman
  • 21 days ago
This semester was the hardest for me. My classes were all challenging and full of time consuming assignments but the professors helped me get through each and every class successfully. Although I aimed for straight A's, I finished strong with four A's and one B. Columbia and it's staff have not disappointed me since I transfers from community college Fall 2015.
  • Senior
  • 24 days ago
Columbia is a school that embodies the phrase "you get what you give." The resources to succeed are there, but you have to want to find them. It's not for everyone, and if you have doubts, it's probably not for you. This is okay. If it is for you, then it will be great. It's weird that way.
  • Senior
  • 24 days ago
I am in the film program and it's super great just very limiting. You can only use certain equipment in specific classes. Also Tuition keeps rising. But I do feel like I am learning a of hands on skills and am academically and creatively challenged every day.
  • Junior
  • 24 days ago
My first semester experience at Columbia was thrilling. This school allows me to have a stronger connection with my field of study and develop relations with my peers. Because my field of study requires students to have a solid background in science and math, my classes do tend to be more challenging than others, but also very informative.
Although it is a small issue and can be easily fixed by the school, the housing does have some errors. Some students tend to host late night parties during the weekdays and invite their friends who don't even attend the school. This is an issue because this tends to cause a distraction for my roommates and I. In fact, this even breaks the schools visitor policy.
Overall, Columbia allows me to express myself the best way possible. I feel a connection when walking into my classes and learning something new and useful. The diversity of this school also helps forge great relationships with other students and work in unity.
  • Freshman
  • 29 days ago
Columbia College Chicago is a scam. The teachers are not qualified for teaching and only have experience in their field, not in a classroom. Teachers will often cancel class or not be prepared for class, and this is because they put their "real" jobs before their teaching jobs. The dorms/housing are average, but they do not make fire safety a big priority, and put faulty appliances in students' rooms. Also, the Residence Life staff and Student Health Services staff are very unhelpful and can even be rude. I had roommate troubles, and was told by my RA's supervisor that I just have to get over it instead of searching for a solution. The one cafeteria on campus serves terrible food, and is overpriced for what you get. I decided to leave Columbia because I don't feel valued as a student, the classes are a joke, and I even feel unsafe in my own room. Don't waste your money here, this school is a joke.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Columbia is the absolute best! Once I heard about Columbia, it was the only school I wanted to go to when I was in high school, and the only school I applied for. Since I've been here, I've loved everything about it. The students, the teachers, the technology, the support. All around Columbia is a great school and I would recommend it to anyone.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
I love how intimate classes are. I have not been enrolled in a class in my 3 and a half years that had more than 30 students. I really enjoyed having teachers that work(ed) in the field they were teaching. This made it so much more immersive since our teachers gave us first hand knowledge and advice. With that, I've also met so many amazing people my time at Columbia. I have a great diverse group of talented friends who are supportive of everyone's art. If I would have went to a different school, a state school, I wouldn't have gotten to where I am today, I wouldn't know the people I know and I wouldn't have a handle on my industry like I do. I truly believe that Columbia prepares students for the "real world", even though we don't live in the "real world", we create the real world.
The thing I would like to see changed is communication and dependability on the administrations part.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
I chose to transfer to Columbia after attending a campus tour last year. As an artistic and independent person, this college really spoke to me. I loved the idea of artistic freedom and the many chances to attend in school activities and showcases to show your talents. Also I love the urban campus. Located directly in the downtown of Chicago, you can spend your break differently every day. After having spent almost two semesters here I still love it. I love the hands on learning and the Columbia Vibe around campus. It is great to be surrounded by so many creative people. Of course, it is not perfect either though. I would not recommend going here for a degree in science or maths, as the focus and therefore the quality definitely lies in the performing arts. The offer for science LAS courses however is great, so that every body can find something that sounds interesting to them. Even if science has always been the least favorite subject in high school.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I enjoy how the classroom is the community and we get out into the world and start on our career while in college.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
My experience with Niche has been good. The setup of finding good scholarships is really good. One thing to change is nothing.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
  • 1 of 120
Back to Columbia College Chicago Home