Colorado Mountain College
255 reviews
  1. Glenwood Springs, CO
  2. 4 Year
Back to Colorado Mountain College Home

Reviews

255 reviews
  • Excellent
    63
  • Very Good
    112
  • Average
    69
  • Poor
    9
  • Terrible
    2
The teachers are nice and help in answering as many questions as possible for a student to understand the subject. The front desk assistants are very helpful when it comes to campus questions.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
Colorado Mountain College is a great school filled with amazing experiences and opportunities. Small class sizes make learning easier with all the help. A beautiful scenery and kind people.
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
The photo program pretty much has your schedule set up for you. The labs were more flexible, in the afternoon you had two times to choose from. The other classes such as English, History, and Public Speaking were offered by a variety of teachers at a variety of times which made it work them into my schedule.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
The photography program is great at helping you find a job, and the Portfolio's and Isaacson School events are GREAT for networking. Teachers have also shown us how LinkedIn and Facebook can help you stay in touch with key people in the industry. Since I will be transferring for a different degree, I can't say much past that as I won't be taking advantage of this.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
For such a small school, a variety of classes are offered. They are about the same size as my high school classes ~20 students in each which is nice, especially in speech class when we had to talk in front of everyone. In the photo program, this small number and the fact that we have every class together has made us a very tight knit group, class is fun to go to. Outside of the photography program I have been really impressed with the English professors.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
There are always posters on campus about job/internships/career/services on campus, but I rarely take advantage of them. The office is always helpful when I go there with questions about campus, paperwork, ect.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
I am in the Photography Program. The teachers really know what they are doing and are passionate about what they teach. They have real world experiences and stories to share, and come back from breaks with more recent stories. They all have a good sense of humor too. The workload is nicely planned, every two weeks we usually get a new assignment per class, and because it's such a subjective major, they are flexible about working with you to coordinate shoots. The facilities are awesome and top notch. They are always letting us know about job and internship opportunities and remind us about the deadlines.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
I like CMC but I'm glad that it's a stepping stone and that I will be transferring in a semester. The teachers are great and care about their students. They have office hours and are available for extra help or questions which is nice. The location is beautiful, be ready to drive down the hill in the snow, I stayed on campus more in the winter. The dorms are nice although putting a kitchen in the J3 is an excellent idea, as well as doubling the amount of washers and dryers, they should get the kind that stack - there were never enough washers/dryers open, and most of the time at least one or two were broken. The cafeteria hours are really bad. The food is ok, but the hours for dinner were 4:30 - 6:15, which meant you ate really early and were hungry later. The take away boxes were a great idea though, thanks for that. The cafe was good for lunch but the hours again, were really short and closed on the weekends. You can tell it's a smaller school with less staff. Again, good stepping stone, but I'm looking forward to moving past it.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 7 months ago
Being with the undeclared students helps push you to have as much basic knowledge as possible so when you move on to a specific degree you'll be able to understand it just as well.
  • College Junior
  • 10 months ago
Its a very different environment from a university but that doesn't make it worse. If anything it makes it better! They care for students and their grades not just their paychecks. It's a great place to start off before moving on to a different school or to just stay and finish your degree for cheap.
  • College Junior
  • 10 months ago
Okay look, this school is great but only if you live off campus. The staff around the dorms is unfair and unreasonable. The dorm building does not have a stove/oven for students to cook with and have very strict policies against hot plates and cooking appliances. The RAs are not friendly, I went to Ferris State in Big Rapids, Michigan for my freshman year of college. There the RAs were 'in-your-face-nice' they knew everyone's name and would always ask about your day. However here at CMC the RAs try to get kids in trouble and kick people out. I have had more than enough friends kicked out of the dorms for first offense issues, the cops are always arresting kids for coming back from an off campus party drunk, and they have an arsenal of ridiculous rules. You are not allowed to have guitar amps so make sure you bring an acoustic. You can't have a sub or a speaker system of any kind. Again with the food thing, the Cafe kinda sucks and the hours are atrocious. The dinner is from 5-6:30 Monday - Thursday (which is ridiculous for a college campus, and only 5-6 Friday - Sunday. The coffee bar is okay but is closed on the weekends. The food quality is sub par and makes my bowels turn into a slip and slide... The school aspect of CMC is amazing but the dorms suck extremely bad, mostly due to the staff and lack of effort put in. The buildings just have a lull aspect to them. All the teachers I have had are amazing and know the material very well. Teachers save this school from a 1 star but I complain about how hungry I get every night at around 8-9pm because I haven't eaten and I can't get food until the next morning at 7... or 10 if its a weekend.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
Online courses from my school are great way to manage your time around school and work. It allows you to complete your and the teachers have close relationship with students as a regular face to face class. Students are able to see ones work and comment on it.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
Currently i do not have knowledge on post grad services at my school
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
Our school offers career fairs for students and for the community. They try to help students become successful. They offer internship to their particular career paths, so they get a feel of what they will expect from their career.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
The courses that i have been taking in CMC have been outstanding. Professors at this college are very helpful and understanding. When someone needs help to better themselves in class, to be a top student, they give up their own time to help us. They expect us to have the best grades we can possible get. And help us successful.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
My program helps us students to understand the real world in our career paths. I have learned real life problems during my math class.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
Colorado Mountain College is unique for the small environment that its located. Classes consist of 15 students and we are able to do one on one. I would consider going back to this college for its low costs and small classes.
  • College Freshman
  • 11 months ago
Advisors are very understanding and take your schedule into mind at all circumstances.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
I personally find it difficult if I am not Ingaged in a classroom with others but the quality of classes are still great.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
CMC really develops and sends great graduates into the world and give good understandings on where we can go from college.
  • College Sophomore
  • 12 months ago
  • 1 of 13
Back to Colorado Mountain College Home