Colorado Mesa University
1,035 reviews
  1. Grand Junction, CO
  2. 4 Year
Back to Colorado Mesa University Home

Reviews

1,035 reviews
  • Excellent
    141
  • Very Good
    354
  • Average
    447
  • Poor
    62
  • Terrible
    31
My experience at Colorado Mesa University has been pretty great so far. The dorms are really nice and exceptionally clean. I couldn't ask for a better living space, although they are quite small. The professors I have had so far all have been extremely caring and nice. I haven't had a bad experience with one yet. Although this shouldn't be an issue, the professors actually teach and I've actually learned things at CMU. Also, if you like sports, CMU all around has great sports teams. The only downside to CMU is that it is what you would consider a "party school," which wouldn't be my first choice of activities to do in college but if that's what you like, then this is the school for you. Colorado Mesa University is located in a small town, but not too small. You still have everything you need. Overall, CMU has been a great experience.
  • Freshman
  • 12 days ago
Mesa is a pretty fun campus, there's usually some sort of event going on in the UC, and many people are walking around campus, setting up a game of some sort. It's the perfect mix of quiet and calm, but active and exciting! The class sizes are perfect and not too big.
  • Sophomore
  • 13 days ago
I received a full ride scholarship to CMU, so my return on investment was incredible... academics are above average as classes are very in depth and I feel cover the information necessary and there are good options for classes. Teachers are not as qualified as they should be and some are great in their field but should never have been hired to be a teacher :(. Campusfood is good and would be much much better if there were more healthy options or just more options in general but they are working on this. Campus housing is very nice and new renovations come often. The campus and surrounding area is beautiful!
  • Junior
  • 19 days ago
I've really enjoyed my past two years at CMU.while the surrounding town is a bit dull, I think being on campus is a lot fun due to the people and atmosphere.
  • Sophomore
  • 20 days ago
So far after my first semester, I have enjoyed being at Colorado Mesa University very much. I have met friends, enjoyed college life and managed academics my first semester better than I thought I would.
  • Freshman
  • 29 days ago
Colorado Mesa University is a mid-sized school that offers the community feeling of a smaller college alongside the athletic and academic opportunities provided by a larger school.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I liked the small class sizes. I was unfortunate to get a lot of brand new professors during my time there, in which I felt I didn't really receive the best information since these professors were still determining what was the best way to teach the classes. I had a few classes with other professors who have been at the University much longer and they were great! I have just had bad luck.
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
While going to Mesa University its great to go to such a diverse school. Everyone is very nice and everything is pretty close while you go to class. Overall it's great to be going to a college that has so much to offer.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
My experience at Colorado Mesa University has been fantastic. The Professors that I have had this semester are ones that are caring for the future of their students. These Professors make it a point to see their students excel. One thing that I would to see improvement on is the website that the University uses for classes (D2L). D2L has several flaws which can be very stressful at times. Overall, CMU is a wonderful environment.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
The school is very updated. Its a great school, but it's pretty cliche-y. I'm transferring schools when this fall semester is over. The professors are okay. They say class sizes are small but most of the classes I've had have been pretty large. On campus living is nice, but the community style bathrooms don't get cleaned very well. The food sucks too.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Colorado Mesa University is a really cool school! The campus is really nice and beautiful, and the buildings are very clean and easy to navigate. The teachers are all really great and do actually care about the student's success. I have been enjoying all of my classes and I know students of all backgrounds and ability will enjoy going here, there are lots of programs and support. I actually enjoy being on campus more than most places because it is such a nice environment and there is a lot more diversity. The dining hall has lots of vegan options, which I love!
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
I like the people on campus and the surrounding town. It's very beautiful and the student to professor ratio is awesome. There is so much to do and learn.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
I havent looked into it much. but I hear the career center is great
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I had many doubts coming to CMU but completely fell in love with the school during the first week. The professors are nothing like what teachers tell you about them. Courses are manageable and interesting. Theres a lot of help if you're stressing out about assignments or other things you just have to go seek them out yourself. Everyones very friendly and willing to stop and talk with you. Theres many clubs here and you can even start a club yourself. The campus is beautiful and well kept. Its a growing school and I'm happy with my choice at CMU.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
We have seminars about sexual assault at orientation and during stampede week. The student wellness center is a great place to find help for everything. The GJPD is always here and monitoring the campus. We also have a safewalk program that if you feel unsafe walking from a hall back to your dorm someone can escort you. MavRides is also great, if you're too drunk to drive back to campus they can take you back but the wait is usually long. Overall it's a pretty safe campus.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Most of the dorms are brand new and kept very clean. They are a lot more spacious than you would think, the closets are twice as big as I thought. Room change is also an easy process that you can chose your new roommate. Most RA's are super friendly and helpful. All the dorms comes with 24/7 computer labs and free laundry and study rooms. There is always someone at the front desk monitoring who comes in and out. And several RAs do take turns and monitor the floors. All the dorms are within 5 minutes of all the academic halls, UC, and maverick center. Overall great sense of community and really safe place to live.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
intramurals and club sports are great and are treated almost like varsity sports. many sports games have a lot of student involvement. the maverick center is great for student athletes and non-athletes, they provide many helpful sessions for nutrition and fitness. the outdoor program is amazing too. you can rent practically anything for free or a great price. the volleyball courts and ultimate frisbee around the dorms is great too when you wanna take a break from homework and do something active.
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
Everyone's super friendly and willing to talk to you. Teachers are great and the overall atmosphere is welcoming. Love It Here
  • College Freshman
  • 4 months ago
I absolutely love my school. Colorado Mesa University attracted me primarily because of the scholarships I recieved, however; that marked the beginning of a rich and exciting experience. The students at CMU are all extremely friendly. The first thing I noticed during my first year was how mutually polite everyone was towards each other (a true MAVily). Academics at CMU are also really good. They offer a variety of classes with small class sizes. I found this helps me focus and have an even better chance at succeeding in the classroom. My school is expanding greatly. There are so many opportunities for students, as well as a bright future ahead.
  • Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I have little to no experience yet. I don't think a degree from Mesa is a highly valued degree... and I know a lot of its graduates stay in Grand Junction and are now a part of the community.
  • College Junior
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 52
Back to Colorado Mesa University Home