College of William & Mary
1,350 reviews
  1. Williamsburg, VA
  2. 4 Year
Back to College of William & Mary Home

Reviews

1,350 reviews
  • Excellent
    210
  • Very Good
    462
  • Average
    563
  • Poor
    82
  • Terrible
    33
There is a saying at William and Mary, "Those who come here, belong here." Two and a half years later, I cannot imagine going anywhere else. While better food can be found at other universities, the same beauty, history, and prestige found at William and Mary is unmatched.
  • Junior
  • 3 days ago
Attending William and Mary was the perfect choice for me. The academics are amazing, and it was so cool to take classes in the oldest standing academic building in the country! The school offers intramural and club sports, Greek life, student entertainment and activities, language housing, and a lot more. The school has a rich history and is close by to Colonial Williamsburg. It is also close to Busch Gardens and plenty of local restaurants. Virginia Beach is only an hour away and the city of Richmond is only 45 minutes away. Going to W&M was the best choice I ever made!
  • Alum
  • 11 days ago
I didn't know much at W&M when I applied. I knew just as little when I was accepted and paid my deposit. Most everything I know about my school, I know because I experienced it first hand. We have amazing professors here and amazing classes. We are a liberal arts school, but no student is cornered into taking random, gen-ed classes. You have options in everything you do. There is so much opportunity here, in this sleepy little town. There are downsides of course: dorms kind of suck for freshmen, food gets worse throughout the year, Greek organizations can be suspect. Overall, though, I know that I would not be any happier anywhere else. I love it here.
  • Freshman
  • 16 days ago
The college of William and Mary is an extremely challenging college. Students are exposed to different fields of work which helps them to fully express and find their self. I always thought that i wanted to go to a big university, however, coming to the college of William and Mary dispelled that penchant. William and Mary is just the right size for me. I am able to build strong relationships with peers as well as meet new faces. I highly recommend the college of William and Mary.
  • Freshman
  • 18 days ago
William & Mary is a great place for driven, passionate, and caring people. As a community of scholars and friends, W&M is amazing, and I've loved getting to know many people. The campus is the perfect size--large enough that it doesn't feel too small and that there are always people to meet, but small enough that you'll accidentally run into your friends all the time. The professors are intelligent AND personal, and as far as I've seen, they really care about their students. If you enjoy learning, enjoy challenging yourself, and don't mind working hard, W&M could be a great fit for you.

The student body in general likes to complain about the food. In reality, it's not bad. If you want gourmet meals, though, you're not getting them here.

This is getting long, but--all that to say, it's a really great place, with really great people.
  • Freshman
  • 23 days ago
I love the school and the surrounding area, it's beautiful, not to mention the students are very friendly and welcoming. As for the academics, of course they're amazing as well for having such a broad availability of majors. You can study almost anything there and get a degree for it. I love that.
  • Niche User
  • 1 month ago
The campus of William and Mary is beautiful. Whether you're hanging out at the sunken gardens or taking a stroll around the trails by Lake Matoaka, you're in for a visual treat! You have access to historical sites such as Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown and Jamestown. Teachers work toward student success through challenging classes. The fitness facilities on campus are great and even include racquetball courts, a rock climbing facility, an indoor pool, saunas, and a massage room. The food isn't gourmet, but certainly adequate. There are plenty of organizations to get involved with on campus and the school puts on plenty of extra-curricular activities for students to enjoy. For those that have a car, it is also conveniently located right next to a theme park (Busch Gardens), central between Richmond and Virginia Beach, and about equidistant to Charlottesville and Washington D.C. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at William & Mary and would highly recommend it.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
This is probably the most beautiful college campus in all of America. W&M has incredible friendly students, staff, and professors. With that being said, nothing is easy at William & Mary. You will need to study for long hours for every single class - and this is coming from someone that never had to study in high school. The dorms are okay. This is the oldest college in America, so the dorms are quite old as well. Our athletics aren't much to cheer about, in fact, no one really goes to any of the games. There is a great amount of diversity here, which is something that W&M prides itself in. The campus is very safe. While there is a party scene, there are also other entertainment options for students who do not drink. The dining hall is good and there are other restaurants on campus as well. The college is in the middle of colonial Williamsburg, which provides lots to do and see around campus.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
Amazing school with a great atmosphere, and great academics. There is a party scene if you want it, and there is basically something for everyone here. Very diverse population, Williamsburg is an amazing place to be.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
To quote Ron Weasley "you're gonna suffer... but you're gonna be happy about it..." idk maybe I'm just not smart enough to be here but this school has been literally so tough class-wise but I love everything else about the school. Also the food is not that good at all.
  • Freshman
  • 2 months ago
The College of William & Mary is located in beautiful Williamsburg, VA. As the second oldest university in the U.S., the school and its surrounding localities are steeped in history. You will walk in the footsteps of former Presidents and dignitaries with a sense of pride. The quality of education and reputation are both superior. As a student, the faculty and course loads will push you to work very hard. However, the level of learning and sense of personal accomplishment when completing each requirement is unparalleled. It is not an easy experience, but very worthwhile and a highly recommended school for both undergraduate and graduate students.
  • Graduate Student
  • 3 months ago
William and Mary is vastly overrated. Many seem to fall victim to the charm of it being one of the oldest schools in the nation, and use it as an excuse to justify the poor quality of the food, dorms, and student life in general. The school is the most expensive public school in Virginia, yet despite being the most expensive it is not the best at anything. UVA has better academics, JMU has better food, CNU has better dorms, Tech has better athletics, and Radford has a better party scene.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
As a transfer sophomore year it was an easy transition. Great orientation and transfer services.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Feel very safe. Health services should offer more hours, especially weekends.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Upperclassmen housing better than first year housing. Some buildings do not have air conditioning.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
I'm not greek. Mostly positive aspect of campus life.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Not a major focus on campus.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Everyone very friendly, small campus feel.
  • College Sophomore
  • 4 months ago
Students are thoughtful, reasonable, and fun. There's an emphasis on depth and substance over superficial experience. Conversations are expected to be about more than who did what last weekend. Football players sing a Capella and prom queens volunteer and play ultimate Frisbee in the Sunken Gardens. Traditions are unparalleled, from walking through the Wren Building on the first day to ringing the bell on the last. The school doesn't make things easy. Whether it's finding a party or taking a class, it challenges one to proactively engage. Make friends, seek out professors, find or create your own party, group, team. Your Tribe will respond. If you want the typical social scene and easily defined life experience, W and M might not be for you. There's nothing typical about W and M. If you look at the world and want to improve it, you're home. Students looking for a country club--there's a great public school just up the road you may like more. The food could be better though.
  • Alum
  • 4 months ago
Few people do drugs on campus and most that do will not care whether or not you do drugs yourself.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 68
Back to College of William & Mary Home