Colgate University
957 reviews
  1. Hamilton, NY
  2. 4 Year
Back to Colgate University Home

Reviews

957 reviews
  • Excellent
    165
  • Very Good
    355
  • Average
    322
  • Poor
    83
  • Terrible
    32
Colgate is the place for me! As a sciences major being able to study at Colgate enabled me to have a much greater breadth of learning, which has benefited tremendously both culturally and financially in my life.
  • Alum
  • 10 days ago
Academics are challenging but professors are very available. Diversity is still a challenge at Colgate, but there is a Cultural Center for socializing and activism. Very small town, very safe, but sometimes little much to do off campus, unless you have access to a vehicle. Syracuse is a 45 minute drive. Party scene is great if you know upper classmen, especially as a first year male. Campus is a short walk to town; well organized and one can walk 10 minutes to any part of campus. Food and housing are average but dining hall is open 24 hours; great for athletes and late night studying.
  • Freshman
  • 22 days ago
Best college ever! I love everything about Colgate from the small class sizes to the food to the atmosphere to the people. Although, Colgate isn't every well known it shouldn't be looked over! Courses are challenging but very rewarding.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
I am currently a first year here at Colgate and I can tell you that it is the best school that I could have possibly picked. I am extremely challenged in the classroom, averaging 6-7 hours in the library daily, but then at night I am able to be social which is so necessary in such an academic environment.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Colgate is even better than I had hoped it would be. Torchlight, DanceFest, and all sporting events like football, m/w ice hockey, soccer, basketball...what a great Colgate experience. The campus is exquisite.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • 6 months ago
I believe the college takes this issue seriously.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
It is a small campus with many housing choices.There are dorms , townhouses apartments and Greek life housing to chose from. Most students live on campus .
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
There is a balance of Greek life , athletics and academics
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
I am on the football team of a Division 1 AA program . Colgate has competative athletics in a close knit community. We have a great coaching staff and support academically .
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Colgate University is a small liberal arts undergraduate college. It has a beautiful campus in upper state New York with roiling hills views of mountains and beautiful and unique brick buildings . Colgate has great acedemics and athletics with a diverse students from all walks of life.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Insane. Wouldn't trade it for any other school's party life. Besides the exclusivity of fraternity parties, there seems to always be someone getting down and having fun. Whether its meeting new people, bonding with friends, or just making amazing memories Colgate's party scene is a lot and a lot of fun.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Honestly the choices, rigor, and professors all make the entire college worth staying in. With all of its flaws and issues, Colgate's academics are phenomenal.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Nothing needs to be said more than Colgate is one of the whitest, most unsafe place for poc out of most liberal arts colleges in America. Whiteness is present everywhere even in safe spaces and it honestly slowly wears you down and kills you.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Not as bad as most.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Honestly I love the professors and classes. Every single class I have taken I have loved and every single professor I have had, has been so incredibly different than what I was used to in high school. The courses are numerous and there are so many options in a prestigious liberal arts college like Colgate. I am blessed for the education I am receiving from this institution.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Career services will hound you and haunt you throughout your life at Colgate. Whether it is finding you opportunities or making sure your resume is flawless, career services is really looking out for its students and ensuring them that they find employment.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Rape is a real threat and especially at Colgate sexual assault is a clear and very present danger. Colgate has on average of 3% more sexual assault than the average college student. After our Campus Climate Survey which interviewed around 800 members of the student body( 75%ish being women) almost 13% of the responders listed some sort of sexual assault. This compared to the national average of 9%ish is very scary. There have been numerous movements and sitins in order to prompt the university into acting and changing the system, however, their voices have fallen upon deaf ears. Colgate will always experience abnormal amounts of sexual assault because of the Greek system and its many flaws.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
As a member of the Drake dorm this past freshman year, I was able to participate in the Ciccone Commons residential learning program. The Commons is a new school initiative in order to foster more of a community through sharing dorms with your classmates in your link group. The program had amazing benefits including renovated dorms, great CLs(RAs), and a multitude of small perks including coffee/hot chocolate on the first floor, fun activities, and free, catered, delicious food.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
I come from a relatively humble background compared to the hedge fund and trust fund babies that attend Colgate. Still with this caveat I am able to participate in Greek activities. As a rising Sophomore guy, I have lived through the worst of the social scene and remained relatively unscathed. If you put yourself out there and meet the dudes and girls in the Greek system you will at least be on their radar. One of the nice things about Colgate is that even with its limited houses, they're all pretty much on the same tier just different kinds of guys. Stereotypes in fraternities are extremely real and accurate. If you are disgusted with the Greek system or the heteronormative/homophobic/sexist/racist social structure then Colgate will be hard for you. Greek life is just so ingrained in Colgate culture, that it is hard to have one night where there is nothing going on whether it is just the guys inviting down freshmen to get to know them or a large party/darty on a random night of the week. It is hard to be outside of the social norm and get in with the fraternities. You must fit the preppy, laidback bro in order to be considered a real contender for most of the house at Colgate, however, there are a few "nice guy" fraternities currently. The entire system is so fluid and dynamic that things change very rapidly and houses are kicked off or go underground but you really have to experience it to understand.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
Great football team. Almost always the football team frat is throwing down and especailly for Freshman boys its nice to have as an outlet if you know some football players. Super chill guys. Besides football varsity sports teams stay pretty within themselves and rarely look for close friends outside their teams. We have great athletics which in turn creates stellar athletic facilities. Some varsity sports are even pretty easy to walk on to, but they require commitment. Club sports also reign pretty highly in the Colgate social scene. Lax, rugby, and ultimate frisbee are some of the most intense club teams on campus and in the Northeast. Lax and rugby also work really well as segues into the fraternity scene which is an added bonus to the relationships you forge on the teams.
  • College Sophomore
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 48
Back to Colgate University Home