Claflin University
1,034 reviews
  1. Orangeburg, SC
  2. 4 Year
Back to Claflin University Home

Reviews

1,034 reviews
  • Excellent
    135
  • Very Good
    284
  • Average
    452
  • Poor
    105
  • Terrible
    58
My experience at Claflin University has been wonderful. I never actually expected going to an HBCU. I felt as though there would not be as much diversity as I would like, Claflin is actually very diverse. This is the start of my second semester of my freshman year and I have learned so much attending Claflin. Their athletics department from what I have researched and seen are amazing at what they do. This is a religious school so there is not much partying but when their is an event here at Claflin, the students are all for it. I am enjoying my time at Claflin.
  • Freshman
  • 12 days ago
Overall, I've had a good experience here. The class sizes are small, it's easy to get to your classes/ other buildings and facilities, and the college has a very caring environment with people who actually look out for you. Some things I wish would change include: better WiFi, more school spirit, better dining options, more housing options, and leniency on some of the rules here (like assembly attendance).
  • Freshman
  • 13 days ago
I have come to the realization that Claflin is a school for a specific type of person. Specifically, someone who enjoys a small environment and everything that comes with that. During my experience at Claflin, I can say it has been hit and miss. I feel like everything can be so much better if they do more things to cater to students. The campus life is often times nonexistent because students feel as if their opinions do not. However, we are aware that Claflin'S tradition is "academics first", however, some students can only produce in an lively environment. Claflin does a great job of providing students with the tools they will need for their specific major. Unfortunately, the university fails in the department of outlets for students. If we had more to look forward to once we are done laboring in front of a screen for hours, everything would fall into place.
  • Sophomore
  • 17 days ago
I did not pick Claflin it picked me. When I first attended Clalfin as a freshman student, I already had plans on transferring to Winthrop in the spring. But honestly once I realized they really care about their students, being the professors and our President, in which whom I can talk to face to face at appropriate times. I fell in love. It's really a family there and you learn so much. I'm a Marketing Major, and at Claflin I'm not just recognized by an ID number.
  • Sophomore
  • 21 days ago
Claflin University is a place where visionaries connect. As I am matriculating through Claflin, I am learning about myself, others, handleing obstacles, and growing up. I would not trade this University for any other university. Although there are minor bumps in the road, all universities need improvement in some shape or form.
  • Sophomore
  • 1 month ago
i like how everyone is so nice and interact with one another. what i don't like is the so many crazy rules we have like we're little kids
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I like that I am around people that have the same culture as me. I also like the programs that they offer for my major. As far as the dorms and living, it is different and I do not really like it. Claflin is a good college and I would recommend people to enroll here. Claflin has taught me a lot of self-structure and they also taught me how to be all about my business. The professors works with us here and they are very nice. I love the different festivities Claflin has, such as panther fest.
  • Sophomore
  • 2 months ago
I love the diversity at this school. The University always put the need of their students first. They have great resources for the students to use if they need help with any class or subject. The on-campus security is always alert with anything that is going on within the campus.
  • Alum
  • 2 months ago
My experience here at claflin thus far as been truly amazing, the uiversity is met all of my assumptions of what I envisioned college life to be. Its faculty staff members are the best of all the HBCUs and the professors are fully equipt to ensure that their students get good grades.
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Everything about the university is great. The professors care about the students and do everything to make sure they learn and pass the class. Administration does a great job when helping students.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Claflin university is beautiful. I love going to this university it was the best decision I made. Being a college athlete it offers everything I need, exceeding all expectations I had about college. The professors are really great and genuine, I've gained so much knowledge my freshman year. I would recommend this university to everyone. The only thing I would want to see change with claflin is the importance of sports.
  • Sophomore
  • 3 months ago
Claflin seems like a wonderful school to attend. I love how it's an HBCU but there is other minorities. When I visited, everyone was friendly and seem to communicate well. I love a place where everyone can get along and work well together. Claflin is a beautiful black university where i feel like home. I do not think anything should change about Claflin campus life wise but I do not know academics wise.
  • Niche User
  • 4 months ago
There are few incidents to reference
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
For the area the housing is adequate
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Havent tried to be apart
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Not alot of sports option
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
I have had a wonderful experience.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Career development is the best on campus hands down. They will run you down with internship and making sure your resume is up to par. The alumni are very nice and helpful too. They make sure you know the ropes of the school which is a good thing .
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
The professor are nice and cool. My only difficult experience I had was probably with my chemistry teacher. The class was so hard and I barely understand what she was saying. I had a tutor and I even ask for her help and she still failed me. The class size was pretty sure everybody knew everybody name which was a good thing
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
Public safety is pretty big on our campus. They walk around all night watching the campus. They even ask if we need a ride to go to the cafe or even the gym. I feel safe and secure at my school. Safety services are great they ask for you ID now at the gate.
  • College Sophomore
  • 5 months ago
  • 1 of 52
Back to Claflin University Home