Chestnut Hill College
355 reviews
  1. Philadelphia, PA
  2. 4 Year
Back to Chestnut Hill College Home

Reviews

355 reviews
  • Excellent
    55
  • Very Good
    121
  • Average
    135
  • Poor
    23
  • Terrible
    21
Chestnut Hill College is a small faith based college. My first impression was the staff are so friendly and I love the beautiful campus. The small classes makes the learning experience intimate between the students and the professors. Which to me  makes it easier for students to be more active the their learning experience.
  • Freshman
  • 21 days ago
Chestnut Hill College makes you feel as if you are home. Compared to other colleges, you are not just a number. The professors want to see their students succeed despite only having them for a semester. They also will help you in your career path by taking your resume and giving it to their colleagues. The campus is beautiful, but it is small compared to other colleges. Even though it is a small college the college community comes together and gives it a huge heart. However, the food could be better. They do give you a variety of choices, but the quality could be improved. The dorm buildings could also be improved. The cable in the dorm building has been out for months and the RAs could do a better job.
  • Freshman
  • 1 month ago
The professors and advisors take the time to get to know the students and what their needs are. A very caring and compassionate group can be found here.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
Overall Chestnut hill is an excellent school. The teachers are knowledgeable and friendly. They really work hard to give you the education you deserve. The campus is safe and the environment is clean. It really is a great place
  • Junior
  • 2 months ago
I like the class size and the teachers are very helpful. I enjoy being a student at chestnut hill they are very supportive of retuning students such as my self. I was out paying out of pocket my classes I taken previously and they stayed in contact with me the whole time. Unfortunately they could not provide me with finances to help with the cost of school , but if they could I'm sure they would.
  • Senior
  • 2 months ago
Chestnut Hill College is nothing like the colleges you hear about or see on television. The campus life is extremely limited. There are no parties on campus, well maybe once in a blue, and there is nothing around to really do. The school is located near two malls, but besides that there is nothing for you to really do. Only juniors and seniors are allowed to have cars on campus, unless permission is granted. Therefore if you want to have fun you have to go outside of the campus and spend money on Public Transportation, Uber or Lyft rides. The food has it's days, some days it seems appealing, others not. However, despite all the negatives the staff is amazing!
  • Freshman
  • 3 months ago
Racial the school is not at all diverse. As for religion, it is a very tolerant school of other religions. I am an agnostic and often hangout in campus ministry in St. Joseph Hall. Politically, the school is very liberal which can make people who are conservative uncomfortable. (I'm conservative). Since it is a election year, there has been a lot of political talk, which makes me uncomfortable. I just learned to keep my mouth shut, and ignore it or leave when it comes up, but I also just don't like talking politics outside of my family, since I have a lot of firm beliefs about it.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
The courses are very fun. There are some professors that are very popular on campus including Dr. Patrick McCauley and Dr. Karen Wendling. I have throughly enjoyed most of my classes. I decided not to take one of the courses I signed up for and switched it because one of my friends was treated unfairly by the teacher because of her disability and I did not want that to happen to me. Aside from that most professors are very fair. Some can be very irritating, but overall they just want you to succeed. They are very accommodating to your needs. The courses are really fun too. The class sizes are small. The biggest I had was 15 students.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Some of my friends who have graduated haven't gotten a job yet, but there is a lot of opportunity to find work. Career development will often host seminars on how to improve your resume to career fairs.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
I basically always feel safe on campus. After being bullied by another student, I brought it to the attention of the administration and I still feel safe. Security is always on the lookout for trouble.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
I absolutely love CHC. I am currently a sophomore who is majoring in psychology and minoring in human services and sociology. I was a commuter for the first year, but am contemplating moving on campus. I am in the interdisciplinary honors program. Most of the teachers are great, but there are some that are a pain in the butt. The psychology major is a really popular one at this school so it is by far the best program offered at the school. All the people at CHC are generally very friendly. If you have a problem, administration is always there to help. The only problem with the school is the racial diversity, but as for other diversity it is great. CHC is a very caring and warm place. I often hangout in campus ministry, even though I am an agnostic. As for being a commuter, it can feel like you are on the outside looking in, if you don't actively attempt to be involved. The best way to be involved is through the clubs. I am in the harry potter alliance and it is so fun and generally entertaining. Anyway CHC is a great school, and I would not choose another school if I wanted to.
  • College Sophomore
  • 6 months ago
Professors are good, curriculum varies, registration was very easy.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Have not noticed anyone who was not accepted
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Have not had any experience with drugs on campus
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
I am unaware of sexual assaults on campus.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
I was able to get a single room freshman year.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Not involved in Greek life.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
I am not involved with athletes, however they seem great.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
A small school in amazing location. Close to city and suburbs. Able to walk to all locations.
  • College Freshman
  • 6 months ago
Not really sure yet I'm only in my second year.
  • College Student
  • 7 months ago
  • 1 of 18
Back to Chestnut Hill College Home