Chesapeake College
229 reviews
  1. Wye Mills, MD
  2. 2 Year
Back to Chesapeake College Home

Reviews

229 reviews
  • Excellent
    45
  • Very Good
    68
  • Average
    95
  • Poor
    16
  • Terrible
    5
After being out of school for 30 years, going back to college was scarey. My experience at Chesapeake College has been great. The professor's go out of their way to help you achieve your goals and succeed.
  • Junior
  • 18 days ago
Chesapeake College is a strange place. On one hand, they expect the best by only allowing a 93% to be considered an A for all pre-nursing science classes with two of those classes being taught by a MIT graduate. On the other hand, they have classes taught by teachers who may have not even received a college degree. With the right class schedule, the school is to par with universities, with the wrong, it is worse than high school. Most frustrating is the lack of scholarship or aide for those already with a degree, while students who are struggling maintain full-rides.
  • Sophomore
  • 28 days ago
Nice school with friendly staff. Staff shows intrest and students and do there best to help with you career path .
  • Freshman
  • 4 months ago
At the beginning of every semester a lady comes and speaks with us about how to transfer credits. They strongly encourage to speak with our advisers if planning to transfer.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I prefer to be in a classroom with a teacher. In my opinion it is easier to understand. I have done good with the online classes and they are very easy to understand but my learning comes better from face to face interaction.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I think there is a great variety of courses offered. This is a small community college and a small campus. My classroom sixes have been great because they are not filled with to many people. All the teachers have plenty of time to offer help in the classroom and a lot of classwork is done in small groups. Our teachers are very forward in explaining exactly what is expected from you for each assignment.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I have not had to use the campus resources so far. Every semester someone from the career center comes in and tells us about the services they offer. It sounds like a very good program.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I recently switched from the radiology program to the paralegal program. I love all the law classes and my professor is the best. She was highly recommended by one of my first professors in the beginning of my journey to college. The workload for law classes has been very easy so far. I think this may be because this field is more interesting to me. I have not had an internship yet but there is a site through the school that lists all jobs available and my professor helped my get my resume ready to apply.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
My whole college experience has been great. I was a little worried at first because I have not been in school for 17 years but everyone is very helpful. All of my teachers have been kind and helpful also.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
I felt that some of the classes I was required to take for my career choice could have been replaced by topics that better fit my career goal
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
Being a student who works a full-time job, online classes are very accommodating to my schedule. Even though the classes are online, the instructors are always available for questions and help.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
The majority of the professors offer extra help and extra credit opportunities in order to give the student the best chance possible for good grades.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
The guidance councilors at Chesapeake are very accommodating and always willing to sit down with you to help you achieve your goal
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
I feel that some of the required prerequisite classes don't apply to the career choice I have selected. I also feel that colleges need to more directly design programs based on the field/career choice.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
Most staff is thee to help you succeed. Out of all the prerequisite class instructors I had, there were only 2 that I would not recommend. The remainder of my instructors went more than out of their way with help and understanding. There is more than ample amounts of extra help in the Learning Center when needed.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
Help me in the real world
  • College Junior
  • 8 months ago
I enjoy it thus far.
  • College Junior
  • 8 months ago
I have had no problem managing my school and work schedules, and have been full time with both for most semesters. I was able to schedule all of my classes on the same two days of the week, aside from a couple of online courses, which helped with the cost to commute as well.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • Jan 3 2016
The school's system for online courses is amazing. Canvas is the main program that is used for submitting assignments, viewing grades, and communicating with professors and other students. It is easy to use, rarely has problems, and allows for notifications sent straight your phone or e-mail. There is even a great forum area that some professors use to encourage class discussions. Some professors that teach face-to-face classes do not know how to use this well though, which can cause some frustration.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • Jan 3 2016
I am not sure how well the career center, alumni network, and job prospects are, because I am transferring to another school, not looking for a career yet. They are amazing at helping in the transfer process however.
  • Recent Alumnus
  • Jan 3 2016
  • 1 of 12
Back to Chesapeake College Home