Charter Oak State College
56 reviews
  1. 4 Year (Online)
Back to Charter Oak State College Home

Reviews

56 reviews
  • Excellent
    23
  • Very Good
    18
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    1
  • Terrible
    3
Charter Oak is an online transfer college with a liberal acceptance policy for credits. Considered one of the "big three," a nickname for three online colleges which allow students to test out of many--nearly all-- courses using CLEP and other credit-by-examination, it's a perfect choice for the non-traditional student.
  • Freshman
  • 22 days ago
I registered and paid to attend this school. As soon as I started digging a little deeper, I found out a lot of things that didn't sit well with me, so I withdrew immediately from the school. One thing I didn't like is that this school touts that they are so affordable, in reality they charge a lot of fees. If you don't go to school for a semester, you get charged for the semester you didn't attend, on top of the current semester you do attend. When I paid to attend, they never sent me a college email, I had to write a person there and let them know I never got one. Even though the school has a lot of online programs, and I am sure they have a lot of out-of-state students, there seem to be more scholarships for in- state students than any for out-of-state students attending( I found a school that offers online student scholarships). The school sure was quick to offer me loans to help put me in debt though.
  • Niche User
  • 3 months ago
This school has been the perfect choice for me, someone who holds down 2 jobs and lives far from any 4 year college campus. They have allowed me to compile credits from other colleges, standard tests like the CLEP, portfolio experience, independent study, and online courses. They have been great about keeping contact with me and encouraging me to keep going. The advisors are always available and helpful, their response time is great. The faculty are very professional and knowledgeable. This school has been a great experience for me. I would definitely recommend them to someone who is in a similar situation as I am. They are also well-priced.
  • Senior
  • 4 months ago
It feels like a great and safe place to be at.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
The quality of the stuff in the Pasco campus is great. There are very helpful. they care about you they don't treat you like a number.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
Friendly stuff lots of information. By talking to them they made it very easy to find the information I need. Wither is on line or at school I have always had help with any question that I had. That what make it unique there is always someone available for me. If I could do it all over again I would choose this school again.
  • College Senior
  • 5 months ago
This college is more for the working professional more than anything else. In my program, all of my class mates were already employed. With that being said, I felt that the degree that I earned from COSC was incredibly beneficial and will help me throughout my career. I am very satisfied with my education at COSC.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
Charter Oak State College (COSC) was incredibly convenient for me. First, they took my 100+ transfer credits and tried to apply them as best as possible to meet the concentration that I chose. Second, any general education courses that I was missing, I knew that I could easily use American Council on Education (ACE) certified courses or exams to either learn the material, or prove that I already knew it. This second point is huge for me. A lot of institutions limit the amount of transfer credit, first of all, but they also do not take ACE credit very readily, as is my experience with the California State University System. The third reason I liked COSC, is because all of my instructors worked in the field that they taught, and on top of that, EVERY member of the COSC faculty that I talked to was incredibly professional, courteous, and willing to answer any questions. Last of all, throughout my Public Safety Administration studies, I learned incredibly valuable information that I can and have already applied to my job with great results - this education is applicable and effective. I highly recommend COSC to anyone looking to maximize what they already know, and who want a good education in their field(s) of study.
  • College Senior
  • 8 months ago
I am currently taking a cornerstone seminar online. I felt that the assignments and due date were not very clear. I am computer literate but not fantastic. I felt it should have been more understandable.
  • College Junior
  • 12 months ago
I am not to sure on Greek life
  • College Sophomore
  • Dec 29 2015
I am glad i chose to attend this school. It works out well for my work schedule and being involved in mybson's life
  • College Sophomore
  • Dec 29 2015
The athletic groups are great. Not much time for me to participate but is well rounded
  • College Sophomore
  • Dec 29 2015
So far so good. Need to register.
  • College Junior
  • Dec 14 2015
This is an online school
  • College Junior
  • Dec 14 2015
i like the fact that i can be anywhere and still enjoy and be in class
  • College Sophomore
  • Mar 17 2015
professors are very helpful and available.
  • College Sophomore
  • Mar 17 2015
counselor was very hands on
  • College Sophomore
  • Mar 17 2015
very helpful and return calls promptly
  • College Sophomore
  • Mar 17 2015
the staff was very helpful and walked me through the process.
  • College Sophomore
  • Mar 17 2015
The earlier you start the better, and the more chances you will have in being granted financial aid money.
  • College Junior
  • June 17 2014
  • 1 of 3
Back to Charter Oak State College Home